The AA Reviews

3.44 Rating 1,350 Reviews
61 %
of reviewers recommend The AA
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.77 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Read The AA Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 085 2721

Email:

customer.services@theaa.com

Write Your review

Tell us how The AA made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
You'll are thieves and con artists. I paid a motor warranty policy for years but when I had an issue on my car and I claimed yourll used every excuse to not pay. Pathetic
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
My son had a flat tyre this afternoon he was 30 miles away from home Kerr & Smith turned up with a low loader and said he can't repair a puncture at the road side even although we live in a cul-de-sac, He wanted to take the car back to their garage but it doesn't open till Wednesday four days later, I would have thought this would have been quite a simple task for the AA but seemingly not, whats the point of being a member with a service like that, I think Kerr & Smith of Ayr are on a cash builder from the AA. The guy took photographs then left, what a waste of money.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Complete joke avoid they have damaged my car and now refuse to come out and look at it told me to pay for my own recovery to get it to a garage. I will be taking them to court
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
After breaking down on Friday 17th September 2021 about 4pm Eastbound on the M4 we were taken to the nearest services. Due to the distance we where to home - 94 miles- we were told it would be via a relay of different recovery vehicles. However, after waiting at our second service station for over three hours we were told that we could not be picked up that evening but they would book us into the on-site travel lodge overnight, all expenses paid, and pick us up the following morning. Only problem was there was no booking for that night, I couldn’t get through to the AA to advise them even after holding on the phone for 45 minutes and as it was by then 1.45am in the morning we had no choice but to sleep overnight in our car. We are both 65 with health issues. Strange though how I managed to get through straight away on the Saturday morning! After explaining our situation I was offered a letter of apology and £50 compensation. The letter of apology never did arrive. They never acknowledged the severity of our situation and the grave danger they put us in. We finally arrived home some 21 hours after initially logging our breakdown! Despite numerous emails asking for an explanation regarding why we were left in a vulnerable situation overnight and why I was unable to get through to them that same evening to advise them of our situation they never gave a satisfactory answer and the case was closed by them after customer service offered a further £75 and said they would not enter into any further correspondence on the matter. Disgraceful customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Broke down at 5.30pm . Was told would be an hour . Then I was told 2 hour when they didn't turn up as they didn't realise it was a van of my size even though they had all the details. Then 2 hour later was told another hour and then was told another hour as an emergency job had come in. Ended up been 11.30pm at night. Couldn't get the vehicle recovered to the garage I had arranged as it was too late and paid the garage owner to wait til 9pm for me . Had to have the van recovered to my home address as he was no longer there at the garage . When I needed the vehicle recovering from my house to the garage the AA had the cheek to say there would be an initial charge. Dont use this company they are a joke. The third party recovery companies say they are by far the worse one out there .
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I'm am emailing you following up on my recent events using your brake down service. I broke down this morning delivering presents to family in Warrington. My alternator packed in. Me being a fully qualified mechanic sourced a alternator very local and was replacing but on removal found the alternator to be wrong and the seller was unavailable to exchange. When patrol arrived straight away quite rudly said you have made a problem and it's your own fault and we won't recover What's is the difference from the alternator being on or off the car still wouldn't of been repaired by the technician on arrival as he him self would have to remove and reapir/Replace I was stuck in Warrington with 2 children and my partner at 0 degree I am disgusted by this and would like a refund in full of any payments I have paid to the aa and cancel my poincy immediately I am going to share my story with social media and local radio papers to make other honest people aware that the aa is not the 4th emergency service as there happy to leave you stranded When I rang back up and the assistant who was very polite said this needs to be dealt with by complaints so I asked to be put through who did ohhhh complaints was shut I'm sure he must of known. My brake down was at 11oclock I have just arrived home 3 buses and 1 train ride later. Thank you very much for all the help One very upset angry ex customer Jack
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Do not use this company! We rang the AA at 17 40 after breaking down on the M25. We were told there were long delays, but our call was a priority and help would be with us by 19 00. After phoning back at 19 15, we were told that the assisting vehicle was in traffic and they would be with us in half an hour. Again that was a lie. We phoned back again to express our concerns as by this time, my 5 year old daughter was crying and cold so we had no choice but to get back in our car. This phone call led to more confusion, as by 22 49, we still had no recovery or support vehicle to help us out. The AA have failed us drastically to the point where iam now happy to leave the AA and have already forwarded numerous complaints about how this issue was handled. Very very poor customer service and communication within this company who pride themselves as one of the best, what an absolute lie, these guys should be ashamed and embarrassed how they have handled this case! 5 hours sitting on the hard shoulder of the M25 is how a so called good company leaves there customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Have cancelled with immediate effect after they left my daughter alone in the dark for hours, when I had offered to find her and stay with her. They insisted the recovery was in its way when it wasn’t. The automated system takes precious time to navigate and you cannot get through to a human being which is frightening when you are in trouble and vulnerable. I received an aggressive response to my complaint informing me that the AA are very busy at the moment. That is not your customer’s problem, it is your problem AA, and if you can’t afford adequate staffing, don’t take on large amounts of customers for the revenue and then happily leave them stranded when it really matters.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
If you have a flat and no spare, they will sent a contractor to pick you up and tow you to a garage, problem is AA have no garage partners, so the contractors arrange to tow you to a garage they are partnered with, and that garage will rip you off as you have little to no recourse. The towing contractor told me he was doing me a favour towing me to a tyre place in Leeds as it was 12 miles away and my policy only allowed for 10 mile radius tow to a safe place, however we passed several tyre places on the way, I'de just spend about an hour in the cold on the side of the motorway so I didn't bring it up, but after the tyre place tried to rip me off 150 for an off brand tyre, it wasn't hard to put the pieces together. Moral is have a spare tyre lol, and don't use the AA
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Car breaks down and we out over an hours work into finding an nearby garage that can take the car and actually fix any potential issues. This garage is 5mins away from where car is broken down. AA man turns up He asks for the address phone number of our regular garage. On being given this he insists on going there. Despite the preference for the 5 min away one. He constantly talks on and on. He doesn't listen. It is ALWAYS better to go to your regular mechanic is his impervious attitude. On trying to phone our regular mechanic we get no answer despite repeated attempts. The phone runs out of energy and the AA man is asked to call. He decided to go anyway. On phoning our mechanic as soon as possible we discover the AA man had arrived and left our car DESPITE the objections of the mechanic that he cannot fix it until much after Jan 6th. He is going on holiday for over a month. Again the AA man does not seem inclined to listen! Note having moved house just prior to covid our regular mechanic isn't feasible in an emergency. At approx 3-4 hours away by very indirect and 4 separate pieces of public transport. But at least if our mechanic was able to fix it I wouldn't be on here. AA are taking zero responsibility and wanting to charge us a fortune to have it retrieved somewhere convenient to us.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Accident Assist is a con to get you to pay out money for recovery. Tried to charge me £750 for recovery after an accident. I managed to get hold of my insurance company (Tesco), who stated this cost would not be met as it was extortionate. I cancelled Accident Assist and it took a few days to get my payment back to my account. I submitted a complaint and the response is that the letter that was emailed to me gave a link to terms and conditions about Accident Assist. Very handy to send an email when I'm still at the side of the road after my car was damaged and not driveable. DO NOT USE Accident Assist.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Disappointed you can't get a written quote to me in under 28 days there ends our 5yr relationship
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
ad a flat tyre at late last night and Had a flat tyre at late last night and, for first time in years, I called AA. After trying, we accepted the tyre was too badly damaged to repair. AA man arrived and agreed but said he had no “driver hours” to tow us home. So we waited 3 hours (took 5 hours in total to get home). In the end, we had to abandon the car and they sent us a taxi to collect us. However, my real issue is the dire customer service. The rudest woman I have ever spoken to who, instead of apologising for the service, became defensive and ranted about other people being her priority (I get that but this was going on for hours in the dark and we were exhausted). When I told her that good practice is to just apologise and empathise (I have paid £25 per month for this service for years). She took offence at me telling her this and threatened to put the phone down on me and leave us until 9am??? She made it sound as if she was putting the phone down and stopping a taxi being sent to punish me for saying this to her. I was just making a point and at no stage was I angry or aggressive with her! She was on a total nasty power trip threatening us. I only wanted her to recognise how stressful it was sitting in the cold and dark for 3+ hours. Shocking shocking service, I wish I had taken her name but too tired by that stage. Be warned, AA are clearly overrated and struggling to function. I shall be on the phone to my bank ASAP to complain and cancel the account with this AA policy provided. NEVER AGAIN AA. Train your staff in customer care.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I would like to thank you and your agent Richard for your efficiency and manner. your speedy replies and his arrival were much appreciated. His friendly demeanour and skill made a worrying time easier, and his cool professionalism in getting to the bottom of a problem which seemed unsolvable made the whole bearable.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Home insurance There has been a water leak in my elderly mothers kitchen that has caused quite a lot of damage to her property,The AA have said they would not be able to put the problem right as it seemed the leak had been there for a while .The plumber we used gave her a report saying the damage caused was due to the leak .The AA have refused to support the claim .I don’t think it’s fair that big organisations are able to con the elderly
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Well after 20 years am done with this scum company,broke down 120 miles away from home on my motorbike,rag them and they told me im not covered as my motorbike was on sorn informed them it was going to be after the was ended but was still taxed,basically told we dont care and if you want transported home they wanted 300 quid,asked would i get money back when i prove i was insured and got the you will have to contact customer services,id say
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I would rate them zero if possible, awful service. My son skid on Ice and had light cosmetic damage, although his engine light came on, we decided to tow it ourselves to the local dealer how found we couldn't because we'd been given the incorrect towing eye so couldn't tow the car, called the AA, after waiting 20 mins for them to answer and then asked loads of irrelevant questions by a rude advisor, we were then advised 29 mins in that we would be charged over £300 plus £2 per mile. Avoid these robbing gits.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible behaviour from the Aa not letting you aware of all your benefits you have and when the tow truck arrived the man was smoking in his truck. I had to sit on the back of the recovery truck all the way home in my car is this even legal
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Never phone the AA/ take on their accident assist if you are in a no fault accident. ALWAYS go straight to your insurance company. I was in a no fault accident and was sold their accident assist policy on the phone after I called them to recover my vehicle. I was recovered quickly and given a hire car the same day. I waited a week for someone to come and look at my car and then 3 weeks after that for the verdict that my car was a total loss claim. My total loss claim was then handed to the third party insurance to claim the money back for the damage. Each step of this process required me to phone the AA helpline and find out the delays. I was told the money would be paid within the next week and I had to hand back the hire car within 7 days of them receiving the money. At this point - I sought to buy a new car so that I wasn't left without a car after I had to return my hire car so that I could get to work. Once I had purchased my new car, I phoned AA to say that I no longer needed my hire car as I had brought a new one borrowing money from my parents. 5 weeks later and I have still not received the money from the AA so I gave them a ring. According to another employee I spoke to, I had invalidated the agreement by giving back the hire car before the payment was received and now my claim can no longer be chased by them and I have to go back through my insurance company - rearranging for my written off car to be released to them and then having the damaged reassessed. I am absolutely furious!! Not only do you have to wait around an hour to get to speak to someone, the people on the end of the line do not know what they are giving advice about and are misleading/misinforming their customers. They have admitted I was incorrectly informed but are not willing to take responsibility and ensure that the payment is sent across to me so I can return the money I borrowed to buy my new car. I cannot believe that I pay for accident cover through you and I will not be recommending you to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
After having my car window smashed and steering wheel stolen i had no help during the first 24hrs to get my car to my chosen garage to make sure it was secure. After having to arrange the transport of the car myself the car has now been sitting at the garage for 2 weeks with absolutely no contact from the AA in regards to giving the go ahead to start the repair. I feel i have paid for a fully comp insurance service and received no help with any stage of the process. I am having to do all the chasing myself to get the AA to provide the service i have paid for. When asking to speak to a manager or anyone that can help i am constantly told no one is available and i will get a call back, a call that never comes. After chasing everyday now finding out they thought the car was in a different garage (one of their chosen garages) I am now out of pocket either out of pure incompetence or the AA simply do not care. As of now still waiting on a simple repair to take place, the garage also waiting ready with the parts needed for 2 weeks now. It is true what they say, you do not know how good your insurance company are until you actually need to claim. In this case I've never had a worse service provided.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The AA is rated 3.44 based on 1,350 reviews