CeX Reviews

1.8 Rating 639 Reviews
19 %
of reviewers recommend CeX
1.8
Based on 639 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 65%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 61%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.5 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how CeX made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
CeX 1 star review on 8th January 2024
Paul
CeX 1 star review on 11th August 2023
Perry
CeX 1 star review on 11th August 2023
Perry
CeX 1 star review on 8th June 2022
BL
CeX 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Natalie Davis
CeX 1 star review on 31st July 2021
John Kimble
CeX 1 star review on 31st July 2021
John Kimble
15
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I spent £68 on 2 games and 2 controllers and none of them work!!! Don't you check the products before you sell them on for profit?!??
Helpful Report
Posted 15 hours ago
Got sold a mobile phone that I bought as needed a mobile to ring out with and it's not working great so will return it back really disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Love this company, since there changed the website it's a bit of a mess. Noticed they've slightly changed back to the old format but still impossible to use the 'sell to CEX' part, as the site don't recognise what your typing in even when you put the exact title of the item - very time consuming when trying to work out the value of the items you wish to trade for either cash or a voucher.. Still best place out there for tech nerds like me... Lol
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Absolute rip off give nothing for items and sell at virtually full price
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Simple, convenient website to exchange electronics for cash, or vouchers to buy in store. Excellent method of recycling electronics as well. Staff are efficient making the process enjoyable.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Sadly sent the 1.0 disc instead of the 3.0 disc in a starter pack bundle with figures, playbase etc.. and wont send the correct one (worth about £2) even though selling it online still. Hoping the customer service will do better than just 'follow this link' to send it back.... I wouldn't mind if getting to the nearest shop didn't involve driving and parking fees, and returning it online didn't involve me needing to source new packaging and faff around with returns (original packaging sustained damage being sent to me) Such a shame as I'd placed 3 separate orders in a short space of time, and when asking for a simple fix to a problem, I'm greeted with a lazy solution on their part.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Everything bad about this company. The product I ordered came back as a different colour than I ordered. And afterwards I found out that their customers service team are a bunch of jokers seating thousands miles away somewhere in India who don't have any clue what they are talking about. You will be better off talking to chatbots than those idiots. And if shamble is not enough of an harassment, their refund may take you back 14 days which is unacceptable in modern times.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have ordered a laptop on the 6th of November and never received it!! So I have contacted the customer service to ask what was happening and they told me that the laptop was actually delivered on the 7th. I was explaining to them that I actually I had never received it and as proof of delivery they sent me a picture of the delivery with a flat that could be any flat in my building plus a signature and a name that was not mine!! Just to clarify I live alone so it will be impossible to give it to someone else in my flat! I have told them all of that and they started an investigation with Royal Mail. After more than two months and sooo many emails they came back to me saying that the claim was rejected and that the item waa delivered to the right address. Therefore, there was nothing that they could have done. In other words they told me that I still had to pay over £1500 gor something that I did not receive. They never sent me the details of the investigation or a proof with my actual signature. Thus, I have been forced to report it to the police. It's pointless to say that I will never order anything from them ever again and I hope that this review will help other people. I will take them to court until I'll get my money back!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Still waiting for a refund! In November I ordered an I watch for an Xmas gift online, it was delivered by royal mail who left package on my doorstep even though it was supposed to be signed for and got taken before I got home. CEX refused to refund me until they investigated thier claim with royal mail, it's now January and still nothing from them.... I couldn't afford to buy another one so had to buy a cheaper Xmas present, feel very let down by CEX who despite repeated requests refused to help in anyway whatsoever. I checked their terms and conditions which stated if the item does not arrive they will issue a refund straight away, but they then said as it's a high value item that doesn't apply. Very bad customer service. I won't use again ever
CeX 1 star review on 8th January 2024
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolute farce from start to finish 16.12.23 to 05.01.24. Item was ordered by a patients family as a hard saved for Xmas present. CEX claim to have sent the item the day after it was ordered but transpires they did not as they did not purchase the postage until two days later. Claimed the item was sent, it was not as Royal Mail never received it and Cex could not provide the receipt to show Royal Mail HAD picked it up. Refused to do anything until 31.12.23 and even then hospital staff had to do all the chasing as their customer service department did nothing... right up until today, 3 weeks later, and now they are doing a refund which may not be received for another 5 working days. Appalling service all round.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Placed order online on 17th, despatched on 18th. Promised to be delivered before Christmas,still not delivered on 30th. Don't think it will arrive before new year. Update: Raised a ticket and emailed CS. Response below: Thank you for your patience. I've got this checked with the central team and they have raised an investigation with the courier service. We will have to wait for the outcome which can take a minimum of up to 30-40 days. Once the investigation has been completed we will advise you further. ​ I appreciate your co-operation and patience in the interim. -------------------------- I am not going to see my device In 2024.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Over the years, I have sold seven mobile phones to CEX, and on only one occasion did I get the asking price. Each time, the phones sent were in perfect working order, yet every time CEX found something wrong, and I got a penny !! Will not be using them again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Absolutely disgusting don't go here!! Avoid avoid!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I ordered an item on 19th October 2023. The item never arrived. I was told that they needed to investigate with Royal mail. I have had no response and they still have my money. Its an absolute disgrace. Avoid this company at all costs because if something goes wrong there is no accountability on their part. This is their issue to sort not mine, yet I am here £180 down and still no refund sight.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Rubbish I've had blu-ray DVD's bought in store and online and have been given the wrong one and many a time I've seen item in stock in such and such store when you get there and to be told we dont have it in stock it's no good to me I've travelled 8 miles to for this any that's the bad side worse is now they got this new stupid app
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Not allowed to test or view proudect till you buy it
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi I look forward to receiving my full refund. I want to feedback to you regarding this matter. Although the case has been financially resolved. I feel it important to express my disappointment in how this has been handled from your end. As you are now aware the handset was a faulty handset. Cex failed to identify this issue and I had to take it upon myself to prove this to you. You had my handset for 5 months and had only sent it to motorola 3 weeks ago to be assessed. You then didn't share the vital photographs that showed the fault developing. The handset was only sent after I started legal action as you incorrectly assumed the device had been damaged.I think an apology and recognition or your poor handling is something that I shouldn't have to ask for. For a company to offer a two year warranty and treat a customer with such a poor attitude is appalling. I will make sure that I share my experience with as many people as I can reach via social media and word of mouth. I have two teenagers at school, they will also be sure to share my experience with their friends. Please try and improve how you handle future complaints
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I had gone to the Cork CeX store to buy a Sony MX1000 wireless headphones that cost me a ripoff price of 230.00 euro, so a worn down set with slightly shoddy sound quality and extremely worn out ear padding when I could've gotten a brand new pair for retail price. So the prices in the CeX store are way higher than they should be. This is not this company's greatest problem. My greatest problem is the fact that my headphones failed within, let's see, less than the first ten minutes of actual use when I was watching videos on YouTube with them, then it produced strange screechy, beeping, and other noises, whilst almost destroying the sound output that should've come from the actual videos. Heading back to the store I presented my problem and made sure to get my full refund. I asked them to test it and they told me that "no problems showed up." So I tested it myself by listening to a video in four/five minutes and the problem had arisen again, I was able to demonstrate that the headphones had failed, soon to get my refund at least. The fact a problem emerged with the headphones this quickly demonstrates no one had actually tested them properly the first time before they decided to sell it. The fact that I had trouble getting the headphones tested properly because the problem was so easy to catch onto tells me that the testing procedures being used are laughably loose and ineffective. When I got these headphones I would've expected that at the bare minimum at least they would've been tested thoroughly enough to find any problems before being sold, and the price then being somewhat reflective of the actual quality of what you are getting. Problems like this aren't anything new I am stating either, but it does seem like the company model is most of the time, selling you crappy old junk no one wants at highly ripoff prices. Perhaps hoping that their customers won't care too much or their self-purported recycling ethos will give customers reason enough to want to shop there. If the company cannot test headphones with any degree of competence then I truly shudder for the state of testing for any other product on the store. You simply can't trust anything you buy on CeX so shop their at your own risk. I at the very least, got everything sorted out and a refund. The staff were very friendly and polite whilst I was dealing with them, though I still have my suspicions as to whether or not there was any competence shown with the testing of my headphones. I believe if they were tested properly they should never have passed testing in the first place.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I was quoted £234 online for my iphone 13 mini 128GB which was absolutely immaculate and grade A, when I went to the store I was quoted £181 because of 2 very small scratches on the rear side of the phone. The issue was that I could not even see these 2 scratches and when I asked for a different person to look at the phone he could not see them. I went to a direct competitor who paid me £250 and said it was a grade A++ because it was so good, total rip off.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Ordered online a grade 'B' Z Fold 4 from CEX, expecting a handset that had some small signs of use, plus ordering online you are buying 'sight unseen' of course. To my utter surprise I get what I can only describe as a brand new handset, still has the protective plastic on its edges, absolutely unmarked - not even a fingerprint on it. All I can say is Thank You CEX, you have excelled yourselves, and made one customer very happy.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
CeX is rated 1.8 based on 639 reviews