CeX Reviews

2.10 Rating 351 Reviews
26 %
of reviewers recommend CeX
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 81%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 65%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how CeX made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
CeX 5 star review on 20th July 2020
Piotr T.
More Photos & Videos
CeX 1 star review on 21st May 2020
Leo Abi
More Photos & Videos
CeX 1 star review on 15th May 2020
Anonymous
More Photos & Videos
CeX 1 star review on 9th December 2019
mark j e
More Photos & Videos
CeX 1 star review on 8th December 2019
Ghaffar Esmailzadeh
More Photos & Videos
CeX 1 star review on 18th November 2019
CALLUM
More Photos & Videos
CeX 1 star review on 18th November 2019
CALLUM
More Photos & Videos
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The Cox I always go to is amazing everything I bought is working
Posted 1 day ago
I took a Nintendo Wii to cex wythenshawe to sell told me to come back in 30 mins they changed the Wii for a tatty scratched one so that I would not get the £28 and only gave me £23 very bad people I will not use cex again iv been going for years but never again. I should of called the police.
Posted 3 days ago
I took my sons ps4 and xbox 360 both working perfectly but they won't buy as they said was faulty as the cables moved if you don't want to buy just say so don't make up excuses to get out of buying
Posted 3 days ago
Purchased a brand new 2DS XL, turns up and it is clearly second hand with included breadcrumbs! Awaiting an answer and refund. A very sad 5 year old now. Avoid.
Posted 1 week ago
Appalling!!
Bought online what was described as a grade B Xperia XA2 Ultra Dual sim. It arrived with numerous scratches, dirty, not reset & with 2 sim cards still in it..... And guess what, moments after turning it on I started receiving text messages for the previous owner.
Customer support very poor, at one point they began to accuse me of lying about the sim cards... A bit odd being as I sent them pictures within a couple of minutes of opening it.
Took about 4 weeks to finally get a refund even though the phone was returned immediately. Got the impression that the person in customer service who was emailing me had absolutely no interest whatsoever. An appalling experience & will not be using CEX again.
Posted 1 week ago
I purchased a PS4 console for my son.
Despite apparent checks on their products very disappointingly the console only worked for two months.
You are taking a gamble buying from this service.
Posted 1 week ago
Clean and tidy shop
Staff kind and very helpful
Wide range of games, game consoles, mobile phones, tablets and more electronic gadgets
All items in good working condition and warranted
Good shop location and access
Purchased game console 2 years ago and many games- never let me down.
Definitely recommend
Posted 2 weeks ago
Idiots cancelled order after 5 days, which said was in stock when ordered.
Was for a birthday present which now leaves no time find replacement.
Thanks for nothing you complete time wasters.
Just go buy from well known brand new electrical store instead which delivers next day at least you know it will be delivered.
Posted 2 weeks ago
cex are ripping people off left right and centre they charge brand new or greater prices on products that are second hand 2 year guarentee means nothing and prices ive been quoted for stuff ive taken into sell is bad i sold same things at a better price privately will never use this company again
Posted 3 weeks ago
One order cancelled after 4 days, other order cancelled after 3 days. You know how CeX works? After item purchased online, they waiting another 3,4,5 days to see if the same item would be sold in store. If sold in store, they'll cancel online order. If not sold in store in 3,4,5 days, they'll dispatch the item to the ydiot bought it online. In that case this is not a serious company. Think that someone bought an item from you, after that your customer can lose auction or other similar items from other platforms, then, surprise : your order from CeX has been cancelled after 3,4,5 days. If sold in store, take it down from website. If sold online, don't continue to display the item in store for another few days. Again, this is not serious company. Last order number cancelled 8220117
Posted 3 weeks ago
Posted this on CEX site to inform future customer of potential 2 Year guarantee failures. I expect it will be moderated off their reviews site.

Just hope you never need to use the 2 year guarantee. My daughter bought one because I was under the impression that the company would honour the said guarantee but I was wrong. After about a year the computer failed to boot. I took it to our local store where they said they would check it over. A few days later I had a phone call telling me that the computer had liquid damage and a cracked battery fixing that the store manager said was not present at the time of sale because he checked the initial buy in inspection report. Unfortunately this information is not available to customers in the form of photographic evidence, I suspect that the shop who bought it in just did a tick box job and wiped the computer over and no such checks were ever carried out. I was fuming as I was unable to prove that any of what I was told was accurate and correct, all I can say is that I am aware that Macs have liquid indicators on the logic board and they can slowly change colour with mild humidity over a long period of time. I took the computer to an independent mac repair specialist and on opening it they found NO sign of liquid damage, and the plastic clip fracture which was securing the battery I was told was a common issue with the heat which is generated in this component and not someone poking about.
The repairer tried changing some of the chips on the board but this still failed to resolve the issue. We settled for a replacement logic board at the cost of £180. The computer is now fine.
I was going to take the company through the small claims court but I was sick to the back teeth with their sharp unverifiable get out of warranty claims practice and didn't want to push up my blood pressure dealing with them.
Looking back I should have insisted that the computer be opened up in front of me and show me where this damage was and along with the so called buy in inspection report but these checks are done in the shops own time while you are out of the way.
The Mac engineer that fixed it for me told me that he had tried to sell a laptop to CEX that he had stripped and cleaned and checked that it was all OK. When he went back to check for their buying offer price they told him that a USB port was physically damaged and that the computer was not worth much. He knew that the computer was in perfect condition when he gave it to them but couldn't prove it. Why would you expect to need to have photographic evidence. I'll leave to conclusions up to you but I know who I believe.
I hope you Macbook has a long and happy life but be VERY VERY AWARE if you have a problem with it and expect some sort of warranty redress.
Have a look at the comments on the Internet about this company, you will find many people experiencing the same sort of sharp practice as I received.
I for one will NEVER NEVER NEVER have anything to do with this company again

On posting this reply I tried to use the nickname Mr Unhappy but the system said it was already used .... what can I say!!!
Posted 4 weeks ago
I bought a smartwatch. It was second hand and I was assured it was a good price and that I would pay much more for a new one.
I was lied to. In fact they had charged the same price as a brand new watch!
To add to my distress, the watch was faulty and still had someone else's data. I have made 2 return visits to the store to be told I had to wait until they had " tested" the watch. I am still waiting for the refund I am entitled to.
Dont fall for CEX's lies about pre owned goods at fair prices!
Posted 1 month ago
So I’m currently experiencing an extremely frustrating issue with CEX.

I sold them an Xbox one with 12 or so games, reaching a price of almost £200.

I waited nearly 3 weeks for a reply from them, only to be told that they need personal information from me (E.G. my phone password, my PC login info, my network password, etc.)

I sent them a email to ask why they need all of this personal info as I factory reset my xbox, and I’ve heard nothing back since. I know there’s less staff working due to COVID, but this is ridiculous

I needed this money two weeks ago, but thanks for messing me around CEX, I’ll be sure to take my business elsewhere next time. Selling and Buying.
Posted 1 month ago
They don't even deserve half a star. I Went down to buy Doctor Sleep 2 disc bluray + UHD for £25 which contains an extended directors cut on the second disc so asked to look at the discs and it was the normal edition with 1 disc and 1 UHD. They had this in HMV new for £14.99 and also at zavvi. They blamed it on the seller and said thats how they got it but the tray was only for the 2 disc so it was obvious they was just trying to sell it off as the rare limited version. It still remains listed on the site as well so they are still trying to sell it. Ive also had problems in the past with photo copied covers and missing booklets which was printed on the cover that it contained. I always double make sure of everything if I ever buy from them but really they are to be avoided.
Posted 1 month ago
Got a phone of these theifs said I got 1 year warranty no you don't my phone broken after a bout 2 months went after ock down or we can't do nothing it got a crack on screen lairs ya don t get no warranty what so ever why don't you put a sign there to tell people this now I'll report you to trading standards
Posted 1 month ago
CeX don't even deserve 1 star. I took an iPhone back the same day I purchased it with the receipt and they would not exchange it or refund me. It was locked to an iCloud account and unusable and they just said we checked it so no. It's obvious they did not check it before they sold it and I'm out of pocket. They are not a ligit company, more like a criminal outfit.
Posted 1 month ago
Ripping customers off with cash sale prices, buy a DVD from you 3.00, sell for 10.00, buy a DVD from you for 0.01 (yes really), sell for 2.50.. I understand they have operating costs and profit, but never used to be this bad, in the past they would buy a DVD at 4.00 and sell for 6.00 for example. Be wary and check the sale price, often they are the same or more than a new one!. Ripping customers off both ends.. Just saw they buy an iphone for 117 and sell for 235.00. Come on. Taking the pxxx or what?
Posted 1 month ago
I sent a mobile phone which was in pristine condition and perfect working order but they claimed it had a cracked case and classified it as "non-working". The value was thus reduced from £15 to 1p. It was sent well-packed so unless it suffered very rough treatment and had arrived in damaged packaging which would have been claimable against Royal Mail I do not understand their response. Beware!
Posted 1 month ago
would not recommend buying from here , my item came completely broken and they did not offer a replacement even tho it had a guarantee . over all bad experience. do not buy from here
Posted 1 month ago
They no longer seem to be checking whether items are in good condition or even work properly when buying things from people.
We've purchased two very expensive Xbox One controllers and they've both been faulty/damaged/missing original pieces.
Customer services have no connection to the people sending things out.
If you can inspect the item in store then that might work, but ordering online from them is a raffle.
Posted 1 month ago
CeX is rated 2.10 based on 351 reviews