CeX Reviews

1.94 Rating 504 Reviews
22 %
of reviewers recommend CeX
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 81%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 65%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how CeX made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Brought a iPhone SE within a week the screen developed a fault and then went off completely. Took back into store and said about it asked for instore voucher so I could get a replacement and they came back saying I have damaged the scree it’s not covered on the 24 month warranty as it’s classed as accidental damage.. so wasted £360 and a useless phone and CEX staff it’s my fault and should be more careful. CEX warranty is a complete joke and staff are rude.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Please do not buy from cex. I went to get a Xbox one controller to find out it's cheaper to buy them brand new. When to return the item to be told i camt have my no at back only in store credit. RIP OFF
Helpful Report
Posted 6 days ago
Cex pay next to nothing for games etc, sold a few to them then had 2 returned to me with no explanation, no email, nothing. Our exchange came to £2.83 instead of the £6.86. Avoid and sell privately....
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Avoid avoid avoid. I bought a game off their Tallaght shop (dublin ireland). The game just wasnt the right edition iwas looking for. Only figured when i got home. Went back to the shop a day later bt would nt give me a refund coz theysaid therewasbt anythi g wrong with game even after i explai ed it wasnt what i was looking for. They gave me an in store voucher i stead bt that meant i cant use that money to buy game in another shop. My money is nw locked in their shop so nw i have no choice but come back to cex. Any other shop would have given a refund to card used when making the purchase. I do nt recommend buying from Cex.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Do not buy from cex..pay a few pound more for new X box controller under warranty...4 times same fault..they refused to repair again..even though previous repairs free of charge..incompetent engineers..cheap parts badly fitted
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Absolute clowns tried offer me £15 for a WORKING PS4 console - because the serial number off the CONTROLLER had peeled off... I laughed and walked out the shop. Plus no matter what price offered they will deduct 5 pounds for no reason whatsoever. I WILL NEVER USE CEX AGAIN.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Sold a lancehead quarts mouse today for £10 it is worth alot more than that id say atleast £70 I also had a keyboard with me a v2 chromatic Black widow quarts offered 60 for all I said absolutely not
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Not sure about all the bad reviews on here, never had any issues with my local store and any issues i've run into online (had a couple, been sent the wrong google nest/home model, dirty items) have been quickly dealt with. I suggest contacting CEX through facebook messenger, usually get a reply the same day. Been refunded for items in full quickly and easy when faults have arose, sold to cex in store too and had no issues again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Frankly I am fed-up with getting damaged DVD's from CEX. Angry with myself just bought another box set, needless to say it's badly damaged. Clearly there quality control is simply just poor. As for their customer service I concur with other reviewers the best adjective is: terrible. That said I notice they monitor sites like this to leave a: just contact us; let us help: really! I am attempting to cancel a DVD box set I ordered, once done will be terminating my account. Amazon is where I will buy from. So angry with myself for buying from them again. Buy DVD/DVD box set; settle down to watch. The the endless frustration of a damaged DVD. Well this was the last time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Ordered a laptop from them 20th July 2021. Item was never delivered. I was refused a refund and made to wait until 3rd August as they could not be bothered to chase the order with Royal Mail. It is now 3rd August, still no laptop, no update, no response to email and no refund. This company is genuinely not worth dealing with. Customer service is very very poor. There are other sites selling similar products that I will be going to now. Update 4th August 2021. After contact from CeX this morning (after this review, no surpise!) they still clearly have not looked into the countless emails I have sent over the last two weeks. Still no meaningful response, no refund and no accountability for their error as they are trying to blame Royal Mail who they subcontract out to so ultimately the responsibility lies with CeX.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I purchased a limited collectors edition box set on Blu-ray which was in a steelbook “breaking bad” what they send me was the regular edition. The limited edition they charged me £22 for, they sent me the £15 regular edition and rather than refund me the difference they insisted I travel an hour away to the post office to return it which would cost me more in travel costs than it’s worth. They don’t care how they treat customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Avoid, avoid, avoid. Customer service is simply pathetic in this place. I bought ps4 not long time ago and I asked person who sold me it (Killian) 3 TIMES!!!! is the 24 warranty cover everything including controller. He said yes 3 times. I came back to cex tallagh in Thursday in my only day off to get it fixed with no charging issue and girl told me that my pad is covered only 6 months as policy change during lockdown!!!! I ask for a manager and he said the same looking straight into my eyes!!!! When I went online for complain they told me that the pad IS covered by 2 years and I need to come back with a pad. Told them that I'm not going there as it's a waste of time and I dont drive so I was informed to send someone else or go to different cex in Ireland!!! Becaaue of your fault I need to involve 3rd people into this or go to city centre!!!! Its a joke!!!! Its already week that my issue is not sorted and I'm week without a pad. Lady in customer service keep telling me that I have to go to bring the old pad as otherwise i dont get new one. Really??? Pad cost you about 30 euro and your sales person lie to me about it. They offer me 10 euro to cover my time waste..... 10 euro... that's what a customer is worth for them. I just ask to ship new pad to my home as I already spend nearly 2 hours walking to them and they lie to me by telling shorter period of warranty even talking with manager. Be aware of this company as everything what they are telling could be a lie and small things like pad replacement it's a nightmare for them. I had to contact my solicitor as I can not leave it like that right now.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Rip off merchants. Took my iPhone 11 in to attempt to sell in Worcester . In good condition they looked it over and said it’s a C Grade!! Offered me £110. I told them to shove it. When I took it into apple they said it’s a B grade . They gave me £400 for it towards a new phone. I’ll never sell here again or buy anything CEX membership has now been thrown a way in the trash just like your stores . Sell your items privately don’t use CEX their robbing you of your money
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Terrible customer service resulted in my account being banned which I'm glad for do cex treat all their customers like #@£!.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
BEWARE IF BUYING A LAPTOP!! Q: When is a laptop sealed battery not a sealed battery? A: When you try to get it repaired under the CeX warranty. Had laptop for 8 months, hardly used yet battery is completely dead. Checked CeX warranty and despite it clearly stating it covers sealed batteries, the staff in Edinburgh's Rose Street branch say differently because it can be unclipped and is therefore a consumable! Absolute disgrace, bunch of con artists, well done on losing any future custom from us The warranty isn't worth the paper it's printed on AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I ordered an Ipad from here. Cex has sent me a completely different Ipad that is not part of the company. When I went the the Cex store for a refund they said I received the wrong Ipad and didn't help me at all to get a refund despite Cex sending me the wrong one, the staff are horrible. None of the staff helped me with anything even though they made this mistake. Never had such a bad experience before. Will never buy from here again, terrible staff. Store manager is horrible as well and didn't try to help me at all. I contacted customer service but they kept saying that they didn't send me the wrong Ipad despite me having proof that I received a different Ipad from the one I ordered. I do not recommend anyone to buy from here, they are a scam.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Fobbed off with excuses, refused to replace a faulty battery on my daughters mobile phone under the 24 month warranty, and at the Uxbridge branch lost the sim card to the phone and humiliated my wife and daughter in front of other customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I bought a smart watch to cex and I newore it once they checked it over and said it was a grade a when I went to collect my cash they tried to say that it was scratched but when they checked it there was no scratches on it I felt like I was being coned. and the member of staff had a bad attitude I was very disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
took my nikon camera for valuation.it was about 15 years old bought from argos.to my disgust it flagged up as stolen, i even still have the reciept and original nikon box..never going there again , it doesnt make any sense that shop.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Tracking number CH006536494IE Webuy order. Posted a previous order 2 weeks ago, paid for postage myself and received no problem. Posted this order 470497 on the 06/06/21 using their label and its stuck in a loop going back and fort form D12 to D11 and back D12 all week. An post informed me that Cex are sending it back to their po box, explains why it's constantly in a loop. After the ten days are up order will be cancelled. Someone at Cex in Dublin 11 wants a playstation 4 console with all accessories including 5 games for free. Be aware of the free postage label!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
CeX is rated 1.94 based on 504 reviews