CeX Reviews

1.8 Rating 638 Reviews
19 %
of reviewers recommend CeX
1.8
Based on 638 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 64%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 61%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.5 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how CeX made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
CeX 1 star review on 8th January 2024
Paul
CeX 1 star review on 11th August 2023
Perry
CeX 1 star review on 11th August 2023
Perry
CeX 1 star review on 8th June 2022
BL
CeX 1 star review on 5th April 2022
Natalie Davis
CeX 1 star review on 31st July 2021
John Kimble
CeX 1 star review on 31st July 2021
John Kimble
15
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My partner purchased a phone for me on 23rd of December, paid £650. Took it back today as it’s the wrong network and not open. Unable to exchange the phone for the same model or anything close to the same value. Was offered £420 trade price for it on a gift card for this store. Ridiculous company policy in place. We had the receipts and guarantee. Only reason we waited was as it has been over Christmas and new year. After explaining the situation they said it was nothing they could do. So In the matter of barely a week we lost over £200. I would never use this company again, would also advise everyone to stay clear. They’re policy is a disgrace.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I have ordered a laptop on the 6th of November and never received it!! So I have contacted the customer service to ask what was happening and they told me that the laptop was actually delivered on the 7th. I was explaining to them that I actually I had never received it and as proof of delivery they sent me a picture of the delivery with a flat that could be any flat in my building plus a signature and a name that was not mine!! Just to clarify I live alone so it will be impossible to give it to someone else in my flat! I have told them all of that and they started an investigation with Royal Mail. After more than two months and sooo many emails they came back to me saying that the claim was rejected and that the item waa delivered to the right address. Therefore, there was nothing that they could have done. In other words they told me that I still had to pay over £1500 gor something that I did not receive. They never sent me the details of the investigation or a proof with my actual signature. Thus, I have been forced to report it to the police. It's pointless to say that I will never order anything from them ever again and I hope that this review will help other people. I will take them to court until I'll get my money back!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My son (age 11) bought some air pods with Christmas money in a store met me 10 minutes later, I told him to take them back as he was too young, the store refused to refund as he needed ID. So I went back in and was told I could have a credit note, I had an argument with the manager as it had only been 15 minutes they hadn’t been out of the box, he went on about how he was working on commission and didn’t have to give me a refund as it’s binding. So you can sell to someone underage but you can’t refund. After a heated debate I finally got a refund and will never set foot in Cex ever again.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
YOUR A DISGRACE YOU TREAT PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES POORLY YOUR BEHAVIOR IS DISGUSTING YOU SHOULD BE INSPECTED AND CLISED DOWN AND IT IS DISCRIMINATION TO US . SO I AM A VOICE FOR PEOPLE WHO HAVE SPECIAL NEEDS WHO CANT SPEAK UP FOR THEM SELFES YOU CALL YOUR SELF A MANGER I DONT THINK SO ID BE A BETTER MANEGER TJAN YOU!!! ILL SEE YOU IN JAIL
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Don’t buy from them… I bought a galaxy fold 3 A grade for £1,400 within 2days of me buying it I lost signal no calls no emails nothing absolutely dead. I took it back to cex where they done there tests I went back 1hr later and was told the phone is fine and it’s my sim card so I went to O2 and got the sim card changed but still didn’t work. So when I done some research on the phone provider I found out the phone was reported missing or stolen so they blocked the phone When I took it back to cex with proof that the phone had been reported missing or stolen hence why I lost all signal they didnt care and told me nothing they can do ..the staff started to laugh when I said they had to sort this out asap they tried to take the phone back without refunding me (trying to cover there track’s) Well guess what the ombudsman are now involved and so is action fraud too I will get my money back
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Rip off merchants. Took my iPhone 11 in to attempt to sell in Worcester . In good condition they looked it over and said it’s a C Grade!! Offered me £110. I told them to shove it. When I took it into apple they said it’s a B grade . They gave me £400 for it towards a new phone. I’ll never sell here again or buy anything CEX membership has now been thrown a way in the trash just like your stores . Sell your items privately don’t use CEX their robbing you of your money
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
One order cancelled after 4 days, other order cancelled after 3 days. You know how CeX works? After item purchased online, they waiting another 3,4,5 days to see if the same item would be sold in store. If sold in store, they'll cancel online order. If not sold in store in 3,4,5 days, they'll dispatch the item to the ydiot bought it online. In that case this is not a serious company. Think that someone bought an item from you, after that your customer can lose auction or other similar items from other platforms, then, surprise : your order from CeX has been cancelled after 3,4,5 days. If sold in store, take it down from website. If sold online, don't continue to display the item in store for another few days. Again, this is not serious company. Last order number cancelled 8220117
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Posted this on CEX site to inform future customer of potential 2 Year guarantee failures. I expect it will be moderated off their reviews site. Just hope you never need to use the 2 year guarantee. My daughter bought one because I was under the impression that the company would honour the said guarantee but I was wrong. After about a year the computer failed to boot. I took it to our local store where they said they would check it over. A few days later I had a phone call telling me that the computer had liquid damage and a cracked battery fixing that the store manager said was not present at the time of sale because he checked the initial buy in inspection report. Unfortunately this information is not available to customers in the form of photographic evidence, I suspect that the shop who bought it in just did a tick box job and wiped the computer over and no such checks were ever carried out. I was fuming as I was unable to prove that any of what I was told was accurate and correct, all I can say is that I am aware that Macs have liquid indicators on the logic board and they can slowly change colour with mild humidity over a long period of time. I took the computer to an independent mac repair specialist and on opening it they found NO sign of liquid damage, and the plastic clip fracture which was securing the battery I was told was a common issue with the heat which is generated in this component and not someone poking about. The repairer tried changing some of the chips on the board but this still failed to resolve the issue. We settled for a replacement logic board at the cost of £180. The computer is now fine. I was going to take the company through the small claims court but I was sick to the back teeth with their sharp unverifiable get out of warranty claims practice and didn't want to push up my blood pressure dealing with them. Looking back I should have insisted that the computer be opened up in front of me and show me where this damage was and along with the so called buy in inspection report but these checks are done in the shops own time while you are out of the way. The Mac engineer that fixed it for me told me that he had tried to sell a laptop to CEX that he had stripped and cleaned and checked that it was all OK. When he went back to check for their buying offer price they told him that a USB port was physically damaged and that the computer was not worth much. He knew that the computer was in perfect condition when he gave it to them but couldn't prove it. Why would you expect to need to have photographic evidence. I'll leave to conclusions up to you but I know who I believe. I hope you Macbook has a long and happy life but be VERY VERY AWARE if you have a problem with it and expect some sort of warranty redress. Have a look at the comments on the Internet about this company, you will find many people experiencing the same sort of sharp practice as I received. I for one will NEVER NEVER NEVER have anything to do with this company again On posting this reply I tried to use the nickname Mr Unhappy but the system said it was already used .... what can I say!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
CeX don't even deserve 1 star. I took an iPhone back the same day I purchased it with the receipt and they would not exchange it or refund me. It was locked to an iCloud account and unusable and they just said we checked it so no. It's obvious they did not check it before they sold it and I'm out of pocket. They are not a ligit company, more like a criminal outfit.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Ripping customers off with cash sale prices, buy a DVD from you 3.00, sell for 10.00, buy a DVD from you for 0.01 (yes really), sell for 2.50.. I understand they have operating costs and profit, but never used to be this bad, in the past they would buy a DVD at 4.00 and sell for 6.00 for example. Be wary and check the sale price, often they are the same or more than a new one!. Ripping customers off both ends.. Just saw they buy an iphone for 117 and sell for 235.00. Come on. Taking the pxxx or what?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I sent a mobile phone which was in pristine condition and perfect working order but they claimed it had a cracked case and classified it as "non-working". The value was thus reduced from £15 to 1p. It was sent well-packed so unless it suffered very rough treatment and had arrived in damaged packaging which would have been claimable against Royal Mail I do not understand their response. Beware!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Buyer beware!!!!!!!!Worst retail experience my wife and I have ever experienced. I bought a second hand I phone 7 from from the Dunfermline store around 6 months ago. It was rated by them as a B grade product due to the scratches on the screen and to the back of the phone which I was happy with as It would be in a case and have a screen protector so they wouldn’t be visible. After some time the screen began to show fault, flickering at the bottom intermittently. I thought this wasn’t a problem as I had a years warranty??????!!!!!!! Nope!!!! I took the phone back to the store in the Kingsgate shopping centre where the staff were so absolutely useless and completely unhelpful. The manager was off that day so I was asked to contact him the next day. After speaking with him he told my wife and I that they couldn’t do anything because there is a crack on the screen. They insisted that I had damaged the phone in some way and this issue was due to a crack on the screen that I had caused. This is not correct. That’s exactly how I brought it from you! Does this meen you shouldn’t have sold it in the first place? Absolutely mental. I am in discussions with the financial ombudsmen currently. You will here from me very soon!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Need to get website sorted out as it says stuff in stock at stores but when u travel to them it’s not there, was explained to me by member of staff in 3rd shop I had been to that if it don’t say buy now then it’s not available so why show stock in store if you can’t get it????
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
took a broken xbox back after 6 month. wouldnt honor the warranty refused to even look at it. managed to sort it myself once i got it home. anyone in a similiar sitution sould file a small money claim online/small court claim easy to do and only cost £20. you can even sue for the money to get it repaired elsewhere
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Bought a iPhone 6 months ago, it started to not work so returned just on the 6 months to the day! They confirmed faulty, gave me another phone last week, had phone 1 day and noticed not holding charge, was away at the till today, returned, but told my phone had been water damaged ! This phone has not been near any water steam or anything, it must have been damaged when given to me last week! Although they say they have replaced the battery today! I am disgusted and wish I got a refund for my previous phone now, as I now have no warranty on my phone! Disgusting service, my 85 year old mother whose phone it is being accused of damaging it! Just a joke!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Ordered Apple Watch Series 3 with Cellular online. Item received Apple Watch Series 3 without Cellular. No way of contact Cex by phone and no replies to emails and I live no where near a store. Shocking service. I certainly would not recommend them unless you want to buy an item and get something different delivered and have no way of returning.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
My son paid £130 for a mobile from the Salisbury CEX branch 27/06/19, within 6weeks it was obvious that the phone going very wrong; on returning it to the Salisbury CEX my son and I were informed that we would have to accept a CEX credit note, as cash repayment is not possible, I refused the credit note and reiterated that I wanted the money, "well! That's not going to happen; you can keep the phone if you like" the 'person' who claimed I was in 'HIS' shop, kept telling me to leave, that I was barred, that I would behave and speak as he dictated; Do NOT buy from these disreputable scoundrels, thieves and liars, liars and thieves
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Absolute farce from start to finish 16.12.23 to 05.01.24. Item was ordered by a patients family as a hard saved for Xmas present. CEX claim to have sent the item the day after it was ordered but transpires they did not as they did not purchase the postage until two days later. Claimed the item was sent, it was not as Royal Mail never received it and Cex could not provide the receipt to show Royal Mail HAD picked it up. Refused to do anything until 31.12.23 and even then hospital staff had to do all the chasing as their customer service department did nothing... right up until today, 3 weeks later, and now they are doing a refund which may not be received for another 5 working days. Appalling service all round.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely disgusting don't go here!! Avoid avoid!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I ordered an item on 19th October 2023. The item never arrived. I was told that they needed to investigate with Royal mail. I have had no response and they still have my money. Its an absolute disgrace. Avoid this company at all costs because if something goes wrong there is no accountability on their part. This is their issue to sort not mine, yet I am here £180 down and still no refund sight.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
CeX is rated 1.8 based on 638 reviews