CeX Reviews

1.99 Rating 453 Reviews
23 %
of reviewers recommend CeX
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 81%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 65%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how CeX made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My partner purchased a phone for me on 23rd of December, paid £650. Took it back today as it’s the wrong network and not open. Unable to exchange the phone for the same model or anything close to the same value. Was offered £420 trade price for it on a gift card for this store. Ridiculous company policy in place. We had the receipts and guarantee. Only reason we waited was as it has been over Christmas and new year. After explaining the situation they said it was nothing they could do. So In the matter of barely a week we lost over £200. I would never use this company again, would also advise everyone to stay clear. They’re policy is a disgrace.
Posted 1 year ago
One order cancelled after 4 days, other order cancelled after 3 days. You know how CeX works? After item purchased online, they waiting another 3,4,5 days to see if the same item would be sold in store. If sold in store, they'll cancel online order. If not sold in store in 3,4,5 days, they'll dispatch the item to the ydiot bought it online. In that case this is not a serious company. Think that someone bought an item from you, after that your customer can lose auction or other similar items from other platforms, then, surprise : your order from CeX has been cancelled after 3,4,5 days. If sold in store, take it down from website. If sold online, don't continue to display the item in store for another few days. Again, this is not serious company. Last order number cancelled 8220117
Posted 7 months ago
Posted this on CEX site to inform future customer of potential 2 Year guarantee failures. I expect it will be moderated off their reviews site.

Just hope you never need to use the 2 year guarantee. My daughter bought one because I was under the impression that the company would honour the said guarantee but I was wrong. After about a year the computer failed to boot. I took it to our local store where they said they would check it over. A few days later I had a phone call telling me that the computer had liquid damage and a cracked battery fixing that the store manager said was not present at the time of sale because he checked the initial buy in inspection report. Unfortunately this information is not available to customers in the form of photographic evidence, I suspect that the shop who bought it in just did a tick box job and wiped the computer over and no such checks were ever carried out. I was fuming as I was unable to prove that any of what I was told was accurate and correct, all I can say is that I am aware that Macs have liquid indicators on the logic board and they can slowly change colour with mild humidity over a long period of time. I took the computer to an independent mac repair specialist and on opening it they found NO sign of liquid damage, and the plastic clip fracture which was securing the battery I was told was a common issue with the heat which is generated in this component and not someone poking about.
The repairer tried changing some of the chips on the board but this still failed to resolve the issue. We settled for a replacement logic board at the cost of £180. The computer is now fine.
I was going to take the company through the small claims court but I was sick to the back teeth with their sharp unverifiable get out of warranty claims practice and didn't want to push up my blood pressure dealing with them.
Looking back I should have insisted that the computer be opened up in front of me and show me where this damage was and along with the so called buy in inspection report but these checks are done in the shops own time while you are out of the way.
The Mac engineer that fixed it for me told me that he had tried to sell a laptop to CEX that he had stripped and cleaned and checked that it was all OK. When he went back to check for their buying offer price they told him that a USB port was physically damaged and that the computer was not worth much. He knew that the computer was in perfect condition when he gave it to them but couldn't prove it. Why would you expect to need to have photographic evidence. I'll leave to conclusions up to you but I know who I believe.
I hope you Macbook has a long and happy life but be VERY VERY AWARE if you have a problem with it and expect some sort of warranty redress.
Have a look at the comments on the Internet about this company, you will find many people experiencing the same sort of sharp practice as I received.
I for one will NEVER NEVER NEVER have anything to do with this company again

On posting this reply I tried to use the nickname Mr Unhappy but the system said it was already used .... what can I say!!!
Posted 7 months ago
CeX don't even deserve 1 star. I took an iPhone back the same day I purchased it with the receipt and they would not exchange it or refund me. It was locked to an iCloud account and unusable and they just said we checked it so no. It's obvious they did not check it before they sold it and I'm out of pocket. They are not a ligit company, more like a criminal outfit.
Posted 8 months ago
Ripping customers off with cash sale prices, buy a DVD from you 3.00, sell for 10.00, buy a DVD from you for 0.01 (yes really), sell for 2.50.. I understand they have operating costs and profit, but never used to be this bad, in the past they would buy a DVD at 4.00 and sell for 6.00 for example. Be wary and check the sale price, often they are the same or more than a new one!. Ripping customers off both ends.. Just saw they buy an iphone for 117 and sell for 235.00. Come on. Taking the pxxx or what?
Posted 8 months ago
I sent a mobile phone which was in pristine condition and perfect working order but they claimed it had a cracked case and classified it as "non-working". The value was thus reduced from £15 to 1p. It was sent well-packed so unless it suffered very rough treatment and had arrived in damaged packaging which would have been claimable against Royal Mail I do not understand their response. Beware!
Posted 8 months ago
Buyer beware!!!!!!!!Worst retail experience my wife and I have ever experienced. I bought a second hand I phone 7 from from the Dunfermline store around 6 months ago. It was rated by them as a B grade product due to the scratches on the screen and to the back of the phone which I was happy with as It would be in a case and have a screen protector so they wouldn’t be visible. After some time the screen began to show fault, flickering at the bottom intermittently. I thought this wasn’t a problem as I had a years warranty??????!!!!!!! Nope!!!! I took the phone back to the store in the Kingsgate shopping centre where the staff were so absolutely useless and completely unhelpful. The manager was off that day so I was asked to contact him the next day. After speaking with him he told my wife and I that they couldn’t do anything because there is a crack on the screen. They insisted that I had damaged the phone in some way and this issue was due to a crack on the screen that I had caused. This is not correct. That’s exactly how I brought it from you! Does this meen you shouldn’t have sold it in the first place? Absolutely mental. I am in discussions with the financial ombudsmen currently. You will here from me very soon!
Posted 1 year ago
Need to get website sorted out as it says stuff in stock at stores but when u travel to them it’s not there, was explained to me by member of staff in 3rd shop I had been to that if it don’t say buy now then it’s not available so why show stock in store if you can’t get it????
Posted 1 year ago
took a broken xbox back after 6 month. wouldnt honor the warranty refused to even look at it. managed to sort it myself once i got it home. anyone in a similiar sitution sould file a small money claim online/small court claim easy to do and only cost £20. you can even sue for the money to get it repaired elsewhere
Posted 1 year ago
Bought a iPhone 6 months ago, it started to not work so returned just on the 6 months to the day! They confirmed faulty, gave me another phone last week, had phone 1 day and noticed not holding charge, was away at the till today, returned, but told my phone had been water damaged ! This phone has not been near any water steam or anything, it must have been damaged when given to me last week! Although they say they have replaced the battery today! I am disgusted and wish I got a refund for my previous phone now, as I now have no warranty on my phone!
Disgusting service, my 85 year old mother whose phone it is being accused of damaging it! Just a joke!
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered Apple Watch Series 3 with Cellular online.

Item received Apple Watch Series 3 without Cellular. No way of contact Cex by phone and no replies to emails and I live no where near a store.

Shocking service. I certainly would not recommend them unless you want to buy an item and get something different delivered and have no way of returning.
Posted 1 year ago
My son paid £130 for a mobile from the Salisbury CEX branch 27/06/19, within 6weeks it was obvious that the phone going very wrong; on returning it to the Salisbury CEX my son and I were informed that we would have to accept a CEX credit note, as cash repayment is not possible, I refused the credit note and reiterated that I wanted the money, "well! That's not going to happen; you can keep the phone if you like" the 'person' who claimed I was in 'HIS' shop, kept telling me to leave, that I was barred, that I would behave and speak as he dictated; Do NOT buy from these disreputable scoundrels, thieves and liars, liars and thieves
Posted 1 year ago
Ordered 11 dvd's for online delivery.....£20 postage!! No discount for multiple purchases and they are sending them out in dribs and drabs. Absolute rip off. Am done with CeX.
Posted 1 month ago
CEX joining the low life scalpers on Ebay and ruining a lot of kids Xmas this year. I normally take my kid once a month a spend hundreds on games, they have lost me as a customer after this PS5 extortion.
Posted 2 months ago
Cex staff are extremely rude and need to go on courses for customer service , oh and the staff need to get some deodorant ,shop always stinks of body odour.
Posted 5 months ago
Sold a faulty product and blamed for the damage.

On September 1st I purchased a huawei p20 from the Norwich store. It hadn't been set up for long before I noticed battery issues, sound issues, and soon after that I was in a phone call (struggling to hear so I looked at the bottom of the phone) and noticed a red water indicator meaning the phone was sold with water damage. The phone had been in my pocket since getting this. I was planning on 48hr returning this for a better phone anyway as this store had a poor selection and my local store had agreed to allow me to order a different phone online before refunding the huawei so I wouldn't be without a phone.

Now I've worked for this company for 5 years total and I have experienced firsthand
1) staff making honest mistakes, which does happen.
2) staff ticking boxes on receipts they couldn't fully test (not enough signal to make a call, water indicator not visible, etc)
3) staff members blaming customers for damaging their phones knowing full well these mistakes did sometimes occur

Yet CeX are denying the possibility that a staff member made a mistake in this instance and essentially, I am being blamed. Funnily enough the pocket on my trackies is dry. I have seen a shocking amount of first hand accounts of others being sold faulty products and being blamed for it, as cex have a little tick box saying a product was tested completely and customers have no protection as they do not have evidence.

Thanks to cex I am now stuck with a broken phone and I have to return the phone ordered from cex online even though its over double the value of this one and also the one I've wanted for a really long time. I now cannot afford it again and after spending thousands over the years here I have now lost every bit of trust I had in this company. They reel you in with 2 years warranty but play customers like this. Will not ever be shopping here again, I have more trust in Facebook marketplace sellers.
Posted 5 months ago
I took a Nintendo Wii to cex wythenshawe to sell told me to come back in 30 mins they changed the Wii for a tatty scratched one so that I would not get the £28 and only gave me £23 very bad people I will not use cex again iv been going for years but never again. I should of called the police.
Posted 6 months ago
Appalling!!
Bought online what was described as a grade B Xperia XA2 Ultra Dual sim. It arrived with numerous scratches, dirty, not reset & with 2 sim cards still in it..... And guess what, moments after turning it on I started receiving text messages for the previous owner.
Customer support very poor, at one point they began to accuse me of lying about the sim cards... A bit odd being as I sent them pictures within a couple of minutes of opening it.
Took about 4 weeks to finally get a refund even though the phone was returned immediately. Got the impression that the person in customer service who was emailing me had absolutely no interest whatsoever. An appalling experience & will not be using CEX again.
Posted 7 months ago
I bought a smartwatch. It was second hand and I was assured it was a good price and that I would pay much more for a new one.
I was lied to. In fact they had charged the same price as a brand new watch!
To add to my distress, the watch was faulty and still had someone else's data. I have made 2 return visits to the store to be told I had to wait until they had " tested" the watch. I am still waiting for the refund I am entitled to.
Dont fall for CEX's lies about pre owned goods at fair prices!
Posted 7 months ago
They don't even deserve half a star. I Went down to buy Doctor Sleep 2 disc bluray + UHD for £25 which contains an extended directors cut on the second disc so asked to look at the discs and it was the normal edition with 1 disc and 1 UHD. They had this in HMV new for £14.99 and also at zavvi. They blamed it on the seller and said thats how they got it but the tray was only for the 2 disc so it was obvious they was just trying to sell it off as the rare limited version. It still remains listed on the site as well so they are still trying to sell it. Ive also had problems in the past with photo copied covers and missing booklets which was printed on the cover that it contained. I always double make sure of everything if I ever buy from them but really they are to be avoided.
Posted 8 months ago
CeX is rated 1.99 based on 453 reviews