Howdens Reviews

1.9 Rating 142 Reviews
20 %
of reviewers recommend Howdens
1.9
Based on 142 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email

Write Your review

Tell us how Howdens made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2022
Phoenixbuild
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2022
Phoenixbuild
Howdens  1 star review on 14th February 2022
Phoenixbuild
Howdens  1 star review on 22nd February 2021
Anonymous
Howdens  1 star review on 22nd February 2021
Anonymous
Howdens  1 star review on 22nd February 2021
Anonymous
Howdens  1 star review on 22nd February 2021
Anonymous
2
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Trade accounts. We have used Howdens for many Years, In the middle of a world wide pandemic were the world is trying to work together Howden send us a County Court claim for a small amount of money rather than just picking up the phone. Payed the balance owed when they opened local branches but yet they then ring up to ask for court fees that they decided to take me. Simple phone call and all this could been avoided. Well done Howdens ANOTHER customer lost!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I am a carpenter of 35years. I have been dealing with howdens for years..never been great .recently your staff are rude and unprofessional. Stockport and Ashton. Got a parking ticket at Stockport because landlord introduced it. Nobody informed me to type in my vehicle reg. Ashton. Hannah needs to grow up and be professional. After all I am a customer bringing in trade. They are clueless and I think howdens will go bust shortly. Lol.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Not even worth 2 stars
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I do not recommend opening a trade account with Howdens. Howdens failed to deliver the correct specification as ordered. They did eventually replace the certain items required but I had to pay my builder extra time to fit as a result. However they still chased me for payment and immediately threatened me with a County Court Claim without understanding my explanation that they had failed to send the correct products as ordered which had huge repercussions. As COVID-19 happened Howdens remained obstinate and inconsiderate and still insisted I pay in full threatening a county court judgement against me/my company. I have now paid in full, but it has wiped all my available business funds. I have now requested for my trade account to be closed and do not wish to work with them again and will NOT recommend Howdens further more to my customers.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We have used Howdens for 10 Year, In the middle of a world wide pandemic were the world is trying to work together Howden send us a County Court claim for a small amount of money rather than just picking up the phone, they didn't even bother sending a letter or e-mail. We did get a text on Monday and the claim arrived on Thursday with £185.00 worth of charges!! Complete lack of business understanding just happy there is more choice of suppliers now. Well done Howdens ANOTHER customer lost!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I disputed an invoice then without further correspondence issued a court claim then only days over and before I had even had a chance to respond they sent an aggressive male to one of the directors houses in the midst of the coronavirus outbreak with a pregnant woman and small woman inside. The worst company we have ever dealt with!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Mick from the Eastleigh branch designed our perfect kitchen and within our budget. He was friendly and helpful, knew what we needed and designed a kitchen that fits our family and lifestyle. We're really pleased with the layout, quality and design of our kitchen. We also love the flooring and internal doors Howdens also supplied. Very happy with the service we received and the final results.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Don’t use howdens misleading sales & terrible customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Spent £10000 on kitchen was informed that 22mm straight edge worktop would be ok. Lasted 2 months before laminate started to raise. This work top not fit for purpose. Have been given money back for work tops but no compensation for new work top to be fitted including gas hob and also tiling. Please don’t buy straight edge work tops no matter what sales man says.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Poor quality. pull it larder packed up after 18 months tried to claim under warranty but was told moving parts were only covered for 12 months not good when you pay 13k for a kitchen.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Poor quality laminate flooring.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Unfortunately I ended up with a bad builder to fit my kitchen. So I took the builder to court. Howdens done my builder a statement. They didnt know the full situation, although I had warned them I was having problems but they still done him a statement. They should've stayed out of it. Despite this I won in court and got my money back. They back the builder as the account is with the builder.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
My Howdens oven stopped working after four years. A new element was needed. I phoned to arrange for an engineer to call and replace it. An appointment was made for the following Thursday and I was told to phone on the day for my allocated two hour slot, this I did. He didn’t arrive that day and I was not notified that he would not be coming. No reason or apology was given. Another appointment was made for the next day: same arrangement, phone for two hour slot. This time it was between 12 and 2. Didn’t arrive! I phoned at 3 o’clock to be told he had been delayed but would be with my by five. At four I got a call from Howdens to say that the part for my oven had only just arrived at the depot. I have no idea how the engineer was going to fix my oven without the part!!! Another appointment arrange for the following Tuesday between 8 and twelve. He turned up at 12:30. We made no mention of the precious missed appointments. However, he was the most unpleasant, belligerent, miserable repairman I have ever had the misfortune to meet. He spoke only when asked a direct question and then only in monosyllables - little more than a grunt to be honest. Clearly he hates his job and the people he has to deal with. This company is very user friendly when you are ordering your new kitchen, but I hope you never have to experience their after sales service which has to be the worst ever. NO STARS.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi I brought a kitchen from Howdens in Grangetown Sunderland. Michael Simpson came out to measure and design our kitchen. Michael was great in dealing with everything we needed to suit us and give guidance within our price range, his friendly yet professional manner was tremendous from beginning to end even when incurring couple of minor detailed faults his brilliance in providing excellent customer service and aftercare to customers was second to none he is a valuable asset to the company well done Michael and Howdens for a job well done! Very happy customer Mr&Mrs Oliver
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
awful experience. Items missing or the wrong sizes. Howdens not bothered that we had to pay the fitter more due to their mistakes. Would not recommend to anyone
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Dreadful service. Good quality, but many items missing or the wrong sizes. Our fitter had to go to Howdens 3 times, so we had to pay him more to cover his time. Management not interested in our extra costs. Would not recommend to anyone.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
My 87 yr old mother purchased her kitchen this summer & was recommended their own brand cooker hob. She wasn't given any product information & was surprised when she contacted them to explain she was unable to use 4 rings on full power together, that this was normal, due to the limitations of the product. Feeling disappointed that this hadn't been explained to her before her purchase, felt she had no alternative but to put up with it. However this hob has now proved to be faulty. At times she is totally unable to use it because it won't come on. It has been tested by an independent electrician who couldn't get it to work either. She contacted Howdens and their response was we'll get someone out but not sure when it will be. Days later when their electrician was available it was working again. She has done this on several occasions but they say they need to get their own electrician to see the hob not working and they are never available when she phones. It is difficult, when something stops working intermittently to get someone from Howdens there immediately to confirm this problem, so how is she supposed to get it resolved. She has spoken to the shop in Uttoxeter on numerous occasions to ask for a replacement or a refund. They have refused, even after the electrician contacted them to say it wasn't working properly. She is extremely stressed and upset that at times she is unable to cook her dinner. She spent a lot of money at Howdens when she purchased her new kitchen but is very disappointed with the way she is now being treated.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
could not believe what my fitter was asked when your depot sent the design. was put to him .how much do you want me to add so you can make some extra money on the job .you may now guess i would not buy a kitchen from howdens
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Howdens are really bad. The offered me a free kitchen estimate. The quote was excessive. They didn't help me to sort out any of the problems with the kitchen myself. They sold me several items which I didn't need. They are constantly harassing me with text messages, brochures, emails and letters. I've told them to stop because I've had enough. They're terrible. Their kitchens are really bad and their service is really bad as well. I wouldn't recommend Howdens or their kitchens. They are 'trade only' which is jargon for the everyday consumer.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Really poor design and poor measurements. Not all the kitchen arrived and we have been told to drill our own holes in doors etc. When this kitchen is £14k you shouldn’t have to cut and drill holes... absolute joke. Would never buy again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Howdens is rated 1.92 based on 142 reviews