Open Studio Reviews

4.75 Rating 943 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Open Studio
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
2 - 3 Hours
Read Open Studio Reviews

About Open Studio:

Open Studio - Jazz Lesson from Jazz Legends
Be a better jazz player, guaranteed.

Open Studio provides jazz education from today's leaders in jazz in an easy to use and interactive viewing environment.

Visit Website

Phone:

+1 314-329-7201

Email:

support@openstudionetwork.com

Location:

3547 Olive St.

Write Your review

Tell us how Open Studio made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Open Studio 5 star review on 1st May 2020
Joe
Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2020
Jax
Open Studio 5 star review on 24th March 2020
Dennis Gullotti
Open Studio 5 star review on 13th December 2019
Dan Davey
Open Studio 5 star review on 17th September 2019
Yasue
Open Studio 5 star review on 29th August 2019
Effie
Open Studio 5 star review on 21st August 2019
John Krantz
25
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Awesome course site for professionals and beginners! More power to you guys!
Posted 16 hours ago
Very pleased with the online lessons. The format is easy to navigate and the material is presented in a clear, concise way. Thanks!
Posted 3 days ago
Needs better interface
Posted 3 days ago
HI Jóhannes,
We would love to hear your feedback on improvements we can make to the interface. Please let us know at support@openstudionetwork.com.

Thanks,
Dan Martin
Co-Founder, Open Studio
Posted 1 day ago
As an intermediate student of Jazz, Open Studio allowed me to focus on exactly what I needed to practice in order to improve.
Posted 1 week ago
Fantastic, really helpful.
Posted 1 week ago
Being a classically trained pianist, I have been trying to learn jazz piano on my own without much success. I tried various blogs, youtube channels and books, but it always felt like piece meal without a cohesive plan. The courses from Open Studio courses really fit my needs with sequential well-planned lessons and guided practices. The instructors are phenomenal musicians and they make it fun.
Posted 1 week ago
This isn’t an exhaustive review because i’ve only recently started a couple of courses. But I love the relaxed & easy to follow conversational style of the videos (even while discussing quite theoretical subject matter). Enjoy the knowledgeable presenters. The support & community aspect is impressive too. The commitment to music as an art form, to teaching, & to the community of musicians is palpable. Keep up the good work!
Posted 1 week ago
I love the way Peter Martin approaches his lessons. (As well as everyone else.) I’ve always lacked confidence with solo piano, even though I have performed solo piano throughout my musical career. But thanks to Peter, Adam, and Geoffrey - I’ve become confident in knowing what to work on, and how to continually develop my sound - especially when you have a family, work, and this global pandemic!
Thanks so much Open Studio!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Generally speaking, i'm happy. The content is quite good, the explanations are good for the most part. I will say that I'm not too thrilled with all the altered chords in the arrangements, I really think they are dissonant, except as passing tones, and they are often used as a prime sustaining chord. I change them to 6 or M7 or 6-9. Also, whereas Adam is a good tutor, I would like little more about why a chord fits where he has it. He kinda glosses it over a bit.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Open studio has been my entire friends and family, my educational nourishment and my entertainment during this Pandemic!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Love the teaching styles of Adam and Pete. Did have some functionality problems on the 7 day trial (keyboard and living note) which makes me hesitate on taking out a subscription
Posted 2 weeks ago
Professor Hand was extremely helpful and I am looking forward to working with her again next week!
Posted 2 weeks ago
Es ist so gut von den besten Musikern zu lernen!! Danke
Posted 3 weeks ago
I Recently purchased "elements of solo piano " w/Geoff Keezer the discount was great.
for me though, this package was not a good fit. Keezer is a fantastic play-no doubt about that, but I expected that he might go into a more spelled out break down of what he was doing in the transcription-didn't happen. Adam's vids were very good in content but a lot of it was stuff I've already done. Very excellent for beginners. To be honest, if I had reviewed all the content ahead of time, I wouldn't have purchased the course.
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hi Paul,

Sorry this course wasn't a great fit for you. We are happy to exchange it of give you a refund. Just shoot us an email at support@openstudionetwork.com

Best,
Dan
co-founder, Open Studio
Posted 3 weeks ago
This relates rather particularly to BEBOP ENCLOSURES as a basis for a jazz language: I began to watch some youtube vids once I became aware of bebop enclosures, which happened after striving to play upright bass on and off for years, and then discovering ukulele bass, with a very short scale and rubber strings which sounds so much better than harsh electric bass, and discovering Todd Johnson's Bass Module method. Anyway, as a jazz lover and self-taught music teacher on several instruments (I also had theory lessons and know lotsa "facts" cold, but my hearing is still in need of refinement), I had NEVER understood leading tones or "chromaticism" via other "jazz methods". For 35+ yrs I have struggled to play jazz, and tho I transcribed many solos and bought 400+ books and many CD's, and though I could see notes around chord notes in transcribed solos, I NEVER understood (I hate to say) the "simplicity" of the idea, which is to target important notes in the harmony, via enclosures, and hence make one's solos sound legit. I was amazed, in younger years, looking thru the Omnibook, how Bird could play notes near the important notes of chords, and sound great. But how to do that, I had no clue! I was a victim, sadly, of poor education. (But at least I kept struggling.) There is NO mention of bebop enclosures in a certain free jazz handbook. None in the version I received in early 2020, and none in the many I received in years before. But that cat sells some of the BEST spiritual books which have changed my life, without which I would be VERY lost. All in all, the spiritual path is most important, but I sure wish I coulda made better music along the path of my life. But, I am STARTING NOW to get a grasp, so hey, next lifetime I hope to be able to play "the moment". A song title comes to mind..."I can dream, can't I?" (Look, if A.M. and P.M. would prefer that I edit this, I shall, and you all can delete this part, but my STRUGGLE WAS REAL, AND I HAVE BEEN THAT ODDBALL JAZZLOVER ALL OF MY ADULT LIFE.)
Posted 4 weeks ago
It’s the best instruction I have ever encountered. I’ve learned a great deal that really effectively change the way how I cultivate and approach improvisation in general. I live in Thailand and am Thai so I have got some problem attending events because of the difference of the time zone.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Haven't been able to do much with the course, not because of it's presentation, but because my upright bass had to go to the doctor's and get its neck fixed. So I am empty handed for 10 days....
Posted 1 month ago
C’est génial, il faut être patient, et je sens que je progresse, même si il me faudrait des journées de 48h00 pour espérer avoir le temps de travailler plus de choses différentes. Je suis sûr que vous apprécierez ce petit message en français dans le texte. Merci encore et félicitations à tous pour votre sympathie et votre pédagogie.
Matthieu
Posted 1 month ago
Love what Open Studio offers & so grateful for the wide variety of courses and great musical content!
Posted 1 month ago
Block Chords Made Easy is a very comprehensible approach in studying this technique. Adam Manners is a very talented musician and teacher.
Posted 1 month ago
Open Studio is rated 4.75 based on 943 reviews