Open Studio Reviews

4.75 Rating 979 Reviews
95 %
of reviewers recommend Open Studio
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
On-time Delivery
99%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Live Chat, Email, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
2 - 3 Hours
Read Open Studio Reviews

About Open Studio:

Open Studio - Jazz Lesson from Jazz Legends
Be a better jazz player, guaranteed.

Open Studio provides jazz education from today's leaders in jazz in an easy to use and interactive viewing environment.

Visit Website

Phone:

+1 314-329-7201

Email:

support@openstudionetwork.com

Location:

3547 Olive St.

Write Your review

Tell us how Open Studio made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Open Studio 5 star review on 29th October 2020
Erik
Open Studio 5 star review on 1st May 2020
Joe
Open Studio 5 star review on 14th April 2020
Jax
Open Studio 5 star review on 24th March 2020
Dennis Gullotti
Open Studio 5 star review on 13th December 2019
Dan Davey
Open Studio 5 star review on 17th September 2019
Yasue
Open Studio 5 star review on 29th August 2019
Effie
26
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I think that there is too much material and not a real way to practice. I know the Jazz theory but I don know how to develop the language creating fluid and fast Jazz lines, various kind of complex chords and how to harmonize or reharm a melody. Finally my level is stopped to the intermediate, I don’t see improvement. Antonio.
Posted 1 month ago
Hi there Antonio.
Sorry you feel your progress has halted. Have you tried the Daily Guided Practice Sessions led by Adam Maness that are included in your Piano Access Pass?

Best,
Dan
Posted 1 month ago
I was very satisfied by your youtube videos, so I decided to purchase your online courses. But I found that online courses are insufficient than youtube videos. It was a bit dissapointing.
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Yechan,
Sorry you were disappointed. We are happy to swap out your course for another that may be a better fit, or refund your purchase if you like. Just shoot us an email at support@openstudionetwork.com
Posted 2 months ago
I selected Open Chords...and I am an intermediate player but I did expect the guy to physically apply the chord stylings to a song not just sit in front of piano and play a few out.... many people are visual learners as well.
Won’t be using it....sorry
PD
Posted 4 months ago
Hi Paul -

Sorry you were unhappy with your course purchase. I've just sent you an email from our support@openstudionetwork.com with some possible solutions.

Best,
Dan
co-founder, Open Studio
Posted 3 months ago
I would expect more harmonic lesson on this videos ..
Posted 6 months ago
The classes are over-priced and not very in-depth. $77 to watch Adam Maness illustrate the Philipps Exercises? Or to learn the A position and B position left hand voicings? It’s excessive.
Posted 6 months ago
The descriptions and notebook are wanting. The course is called beginning jazz piano but the presenter expects students to start a medium to fast tempos. The looping effect is nice but there needs to be a slow down effect as well. Also, fingerings are not clearly delineated in the shell chapter.

I feel as if I have wasted my money!
Posted 7 months ago
Hey Steve,
Sorry if this course wasn't a good fit for you. I'm adding the precursor course Jazz Piano Jump-Start to your dashboard that may be a better fit. Also, just so you know you can adjust the speed using the Living Notation player, using the speed controls on the left side of the play bar.
Send us an email at support@openstudionetwork.com if you need any other assistance.
Posted 7 months ago
The course is too general. Can’t understand the method.
Posted 8 months ago
Not really impressed
Posted 8 months ago
Logging in takes too long. None of the player customizations are being restored. Automatic log out happens too frequently.
Posted 1 year ago
Unfortunately the classification of courses is poor. I purchased ELEMENTS and the accompanying book, only to find that much of the material is the same as the Beginner or Basic course. There was no overview which would allow me to select the course most appropriate to me.
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Andrew,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We strive to make sure the piano courses we offer cover varying skill levels and have a few resources to help give guidance to which course would be the best fit, including detailed descriptions of each course, sample lessons and a section in our FAQ titled "Which Piano Course is Right for Me?" I'm sorry that these didn't help or weren't easy to find.

The Jazz Piano for Beginners course is quite different from the Elements of Jazz Piano course. I'm more than happy to offer you a month of the All-Access Pass if you would like to try any of the other piano courses to see if one is a better fit.

-Dan
Co-founder, Open Studio
Posted 1 year ago
I was excited about the piano tutorials offered by Open Studio, but gave up rather quickly when navigating between pages took so long. I wrote for help with this, but, unfortunately, no matter which browser I used, the waiting time became distracting (I do not have this problem on any other site).
I like the Peter Martin very much, but am disappointed by the slowness of the system and the lack of downloadable material that can help someone who's had one and a half years of jazz piano classes. I think that if the system were faster, my demoralization could be alleviated. I haven't visited the site for months now, however.
Posted 1 year ago
Hello Margaret. Thanks for taking the time to review. I wanted to let you know that we have just undergone a MAJOR overhaul under the hood so you should notice a significant speed improvement in navigating the site. Give it a try.

Regards,
Dan
Co-Founder, Open Studio
Posted 1 year ago
I was expecting information that was more useful in terms of technique. While I enjoyed Dianne's stories and such, they fell in the category of inspiration rather than instruction.
Posted 1 year ago
Open Studio is rated 4.75 based on 979 reviews