Virgin Media Reviews

1.2 Rating 1,637 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
1.2
Based on 1,637 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.2 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
I cancelled my contract during the recent notification of a price hike. Then a sales rep phoned and spoke to my husband (not to me -- the sales rep only realised he wasn't speaking to the account holder at the end of the conversation) and my husband did not agree to a new a (£3 a month cheaper) 'better deal'. Then I find my cancellation has been cancelled by the sales rep without my agreement or authority when I rang to tell them about my new server. So, I speak to 'retention' again and insist they continue with the agreed cancellation date. That was a week ago. Then yesterday, following my making another phone call to customer service to ask if I could take my existing phone number with me to my new provider, another unasked-for, illicit contract appears in my email. I ring again today and speak to 3 different people and am told that my notes show that I agreed to another contract. I say those notes are incorrect -- I have not agreed to any new contract, I give the dates of my 2 phone calls and their content which was -- a) why has my cancellation been cancelled by a sales rep without my permission -- the cancellation was resumed after an apology and b) can I take my existing phone number with me. Customer services then tried to extend my cancellation date but I insisted that they stick to the original agreed date since I had never asked for it to be changed and that it was Virgin staff changing without my agreement or knowledge and therefore changing the date without my permission was illegal. They then told me that I needed to ask my new provider to contact them. I told them that they already had contacted Virgin several weeks ago. Oh, yes, that's right, said customer services. I then told the customer service operative that I wanted to register how alarmed I was (and still am) by what seems to be illicit activity on my behalf and on my account. If I hadn't gone to check my Virgin email account I would not have known about a new contract being issued (especially since I didn't ask for a new contract or agree to one) -- I don't use the account except to receive Virgin media bill statements. I am at a loss to know what is happening except there seems to be a problem with their sales team issuing new contracts independent of me agreeing to them or even having any contact with them. It's been a salutary and deeply troubling experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Ordered one iPhone 13 pro which supposed to be delivered on 13 January, yodel delivered it to somewhere else and after one Month of communication and investigation Virgiin Media make me to pay nearly 50 pounds a month for the next 2 years what I have never received!!!!!! Useless customer service!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
If there was an option to select a zero I would do so. Service is absolutely atrocious! I cannot believe the mess I have had to deal with since my attempt at an upgrade. The phone that was ordered was never delivered by their choice delivery service Yodel that later informed the item could not be located. After many lengthy calls to customer service to provide a solution and some assistance, I kept being put through to sales departments and given poor or inadequate service. No one at Virgin Media seemed able to provide any sort of solution. Every time I would phone I would be told that the order would be delivered that same day in the afternoon and it never happened. I requested a cancellation twice within the 14 day period, send complaints online and via post to their complaints department and today I found that my account was debited for a device I did not receive and insurance protection for the same. Prior to this, I made it clear I no longer wished to remain a customer and requested again a cancellation of the order, my mobile number and account. My mobile number is no longer operational as of the 25/01/22 thankfully and yet it is rather perplexing how Virgin Media still manages to debit my account! In the middle of this confusing mess, I received a text that Virgin Media had applied 20GB data unlimited texts to my account without discussing it with me! How is this even permitted? I have sent a complaint to Ofcom and have been advised on the steps to take should VM fail to respond to my complaints. I was informed by an advisor today that the team would update me on clearing the active status on the account (apparently an agreement is active even though the order is lost and despite my cancellation requests) within 3 to 5 working days. After 4 weeks of ridiculous amounts of time wasted on 45-60 minute calls, poor, horrendous service and lack of communication, I have had it. Words cannot explain how this has drained me of energy to the point where I decided to buy the phone and simply get a data plan contract with another service provider! Never again! I cannot wait to have this matter finalised positively and in my favour because I am the one who has been disappointed and let down as a (former) customer! Should this mess continue I will escalate the matter as advised by Ofcom. I strongly suggest that the service quality of this provider and the training given to most of their staff be seriously reviewed. I have no faith in ever committing to a contract again. There is a communication gap in this company and customers should be able to be updated on queries raised but no one seems to care unless you are a new customer! I wish anyone who decides to sign with VM a lot of luck! You will need it! Good thing I believe in keeping proof of my conversations and correspondence with VM which they were always made aware of. Goodness I really wish this to end asap! I strongly suggest they open up stores or else the service will remain below standard.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Horrible company. Too many bad experiences to list. But just one takes the cake. I wanted to leave them for many reasons which I won't go into here. So I ring up and check what the cancellation fee will be. They tell me that there won't be one so I sign up with another provider and ring back 5 days later to cancel and am told that in fact there will be a rather sizable cancellation fee. Nice work pulling the old bait and switch VM, but I should have expected it from a bunch of scammers like you. Still trying to work out if I can take this to small claims.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I am so mad with Virgin media for talking my elderly father into signing up for their full media package. I thought the days of cold calling were in the past. It's obvious that the majority of pensioners are so polite that they just don't know how to say no. As soon as he told me I insisted he cancel because he had no reason to change his current package. He did so the next day and had an email confirming "cancellation of your order". Nowhere did it say that the full package actually consists of TV and broadband with Virgin but mobile phone with O2, so he would have to ring to cancel with them also. If one man from Virgin signs you up with the "complete package" then that's who you presume your contract is with Even the helpful store advisor in the O2 shop agreed that the ambiguity of their cancellation letter wasn't clear. So thank you Virgin, for being responsible for the upset my dad had when, a month after cancellation, he receives a bill from O2 also containing threats of having a bad credit rating. And yes I do hold Virgin and not O2 responsible, because it was your sales advisor and department who A) didn't make it clear it was a joint pacakge with themselves and another company and B) shouldn't be getting pensioners to sign up for things which they haven't requested in the first place.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE 26th December 2021- I went on live chat and got a custom deal for an iPhone 13 Pro which I then ordered. I was told that I would get an email which I would need to sign before 6:30pm that day in order to be able to get the phone delivered on 29th December. I didn't get the email and checked in after a couple of day but was informed that my order was parked (whatever that means) and that someone physically needed to accept the phone order which only a back office could do. They of course didn't have a number I could ring to try and sort it but I accepted this as I was told it would be looked at within 24 hours. I kept checking in each day to check the progress but was told the same thing - that the back office would get around to it. Although an inconvenience, I was relaxed about it as was the festive period so there would naturally be some delays. The 29th passed which was the first date I was promised the phone would be delivered on, finally on 31st December I got the email confirmation I'd been waiting for since the 26th (I still don't understand how it took 5 days just to send out a generic contract for me to sign so I can go ahead with the deal). The next date of delivery given to me was 4th January and Yodel were the company assigned to deliver my package. The 4th arrived and went, still no confirmation that the package was even with Yodel yet and I kept checking in with Virgin Media via the customer service phone line and they told me that someone in the warehouse needed to approve the phone being sent out before it can actually be sent out and again, they had no number to rush this along. I accepted it once again as there was not much I could do and as many days passed with me checking in every other day, I was also conscious that my contract start date was 10th January 2022 - which came and passed with no sign of the phone arriving and no information that it was with Yodel. Finally, on 11th January I got an email from Yodel saying they had my package. It was out for delivery on 12th January and throughout that day I made sure to keep checking the tracking via the app as it lets you know how many stops your driver is away. However, the driver got to our stop and then after 5 minutes the app updated and said that the driver had tried to ring our doorbell but received no answer and he'd left a note. My partner was at home the entire time and can guarantee that nobody rang the door and they also checked for a note but none had been left by the driver. I called Yodel at the end of the day and they confirmed that they had the correct house address but no flat information so I told the person at Yodel that even if they didn't have the flat information (which Virgin must not have supplied them), they would have still left their missed package card through the same main door either way. To make sure that didn't happen again, I gave them the full flat address and they assured me the delivery would go ahead the next day. 13th January- The second attempt at delivery, I was monitoring the app even more now and I was ready to go to the door as soon as I saw it was a few stops away. Again, it took about 10 minutes to update and then it said 'package rejected and returning to sender' - this left me very confused as the Yodel driver had not turned up and had definitely not been rejected. I called Yodel straight away this time to find out what had happened and try to get the driver back as he couldn't be far away. It turned out the Yodel customer service employee I had spoken to the day before had written down a completely wrong address of a different house further down the street. I am unsure how that had happened, as I had checked with the Yodel employee the day before and they repeated the address correctly. The person I was on the phone to then told me that it was lucky I called because otherwise the phone would have gone back to Virgin Media as it had been noted down as rejected (by the wrong house, not me). I then changed the delivery address to my work address because I figured it would be safer and it was more likely to turn up. 14th January - I was checking the app but it hadn't updated, it said the package would be out today but didn't state how many stops away the driver was like it usually does. I went onto live chat with Yodel to check everything was fine as it was the third attempt at trying to get a package. The person that live chatted said everything was fine and that the app should update at some point soon. I asked him to confirm where the package was going, they confirmed to me in writing my work address. Then about 10 minutes later, I went back on the app to check and it stated the package had been returned to the sender. At this point I was furious because I had been told lies multiple times by Yodel and even 5 minutes before it changed to ‘sent back to sender’. I got straight on the phone to Yodel to find out if there is absolutely nothing they could do which I figured would be the case. I called Virgin Media, spent about 15 minutes explaining the full situation to someone, they wanted to get me a phone out, went through the whole process of setting up the same deal for the iPhone 13 Pro that had been agreed to before, just for them to tell me that there appeared to be a problem with creating this order as I’d already had an iPhone 13 Pro. I honestly couldn't believe it, I had spent 15 minutes explaining what had happened and he had clearly not listened at all. I didn't have time to carry this on as it was during my lunch break so I had to leave it until after I finished work. I called up again to the customer service team, had to explain the full situation again with every single person asking me why I rejected the phone if I want an iPhone 13 Pro for me to repeat multiple times that their useless delivery company delivered it to the wrong flat so of course someone who didn't order a phone rejected it. They told me that they can't just send me out another order for an iPhone 13 Pro while the first one was not back with them, I explained to them that it made no sense for me, the customer, to suffer because of Yodel’s and Virgin’s delays, that I had not caused this and shouldn't have to wait for both of them to sort out the problem before I could get what I’d ordered. After not getting anywhere, I gave up and demanded for them to end my contract with the company, which the person I spoke to tried to do but told me that I couldn't leave while the phone was not back with them (which is unbelieveably stupid as I didn't have it, their delivery company had it so it shouldn't hold me back). I filed a complaint with them and was told a manager would call me within 72 hours. After this I kept checking in every other day for more updates, checking if the phone was back, asking when a manager would call me, always getting the same response that a manager should call me back within 72 working hours as a complaint had been logged. A lot of time had passed and I tried again speaking to Virgin Media, asked if a manager was available, pleaded my case about how stupid it was that I, the loyal costumer, had to suffer because Yodel and Virgin couldn't work together to figure out the problem. Somehow, a manager was available all of a sudden, I spoke to them and explained all of the above. They said they'd see what they could do to help me as at this point I was after compensation as I had to put in about 30+ hours of my own time with calls over the last month speaking to various people and still didn't have the phone that I'd ordered on 26th December 2021. Also, my offer on 26th December was £36 per month for 3 years, the manager however came back to me and said the best offer they could give me at that point to compensate for the inconvenience was £42per month for 3 years. I was livid at this point, I had been through huge issues and they had the nerve to offer me a more expensive deal all the while calling it the best deal they could offer. I obviously would not be willing to accept less than what was originally agreed at £36per month. They then came back to me saying the absolute best they could do was to match my agreed offer on 26th December. I didn't want to accept it as I had been through weeks of issues and chasing to get my phone that offering me nothing to compensate for my inconvenience was plain rude. I have been a loyal customer of Virgin’s for about 4 years!! They told me they'd have to get back to me the next day with the best offer they could come up with and if that didn't work they would need to pass it onto their superiors. I accepted what they’d said and waited for a call the next day, which never came...... I was informed (after many many calls to the customer service team) that a back office complaints team would give me a call but to this day I still haven't heard anything from them. It is currently the 5th of February, I ordered the phone originally on 26th December. My complaint was acknowledged with the generic complaints email on 14th January. I wouldn't recommend going with Virgin as they seem to treat their own customers like garbage.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
It's coming up to 2 years of being a Virgin Business customer, it was a painful set up process with the Hitron router and configuring for modem only mode, technical support was useless and we ended up getting in a contractor to sort it out at our cost. (shouldn't have been necessary). I did read the reviews, I was aware of the poor customer service/technical support but foolishly I went forwards because they do offer the best speed/price for small businesses. For 18 months the service and speeds were great, and had no complaints, until..... The internet has been out since Wednesday, called to log the outage, was put through to the wrong team, finally a ticket was raised on the system with the assurance of a call back, no call backs (roll on 48+hrs), multiple attempts to contact for update and cut off or transferred around departments. We've now called to cancel and have another provider coming in, but for the pleasure of cancelling Virgin are charging us 3 months cancellation and hiding behind their T&C's that the outage has to be a minimum of 30 days! If your business relies on the internet and you need a provider that resolves issues then avoid like the plague, there are much better providers out there. Ollie
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
This company it is a joke, you cannot contact to customer service at all. Things they are doing it is robbery. Internet is so slow, you pay for 1GB and received 30mb. Shocking, it should to be prosecuted!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
TO ALL PEOPLE WHO MAY WANT TO BECOME A VIRGIN CUSTOMER!!! Please be very very careful with that organisation of FRAUDSTERS. If you want to cancel the contract you will not be able to do so!!! I’m a customer of Virgin over 10 years and now decided to cancel the contract. UNFORTUNATELY THERE IS NO CHANCE TO DO SO BECAUSE THOSE CHEATS EITHER NOT ANSWER THE PHONE OR HANGING THE PHONE DOWN ON THE MIDDLE OF REQUEST. So in very simple words that organisation simply breaching all possible consumer rights and forcing you to stay with them as you have no chance to cancel your contract. Me and my wife spent hours and days on the phone but they simply not dealing with our cancellation request. PEOPLE BE VERY CAREFUL WITH THOSE FRAUDSTERS!! We now cancelled our direct debit as this is only the way to get rid of them and also will make a complaint to Financial Ombudsman. Do not take any contract with them because if you will than it will be forever AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Yesterday after waiting for 45 minutes on the phone to arrange a quote for moving to a new house I managed to get started with a rep but we got cut off at the virgin end. I phoned again and after another 45 minute wait I got through to another rep who, to all credit was able to track the progress of my previous call and we managed to broker a deal. Overall this took nearly half a day. Next day I got an email giving details of the deal which bore no resemblance to what was agreed (much more expensive). I am currently at my computer waiting for my phone call to get a response to why this happened (one hour gone and still waiting). part 2 - 42 minutes later. Eventually I got through to a rep who, like all the others, was extremely helpful and he determined that the contract sent was not that which was agreed and I should ignore it. He stated that the correct agreement would be activated when the engineer installed the new system after my move. However, he was unable to give me details of the new correct contract which I asked for as I am worried that the incorrect contract will be applied after the installation (you may guess I have no confidence in Virgin's systems - I only want them to formally give me details of the correct contract). As he could not do this on his system he transfered my call to the moving house dept. It is now 1 hour 26 minutes since starting and I am still waiting for the call to get through. 2 hours Still waiting. They may have fast broadband but customer service is so slow I would advise starting early in the day because you may need all day to get this done, if it gets done right. If not, as in my case, then keep the follow. Wow I have got through! Nice lady who transfered me to someone else. Back to go - have to explain the problem yet again. Eventually they claim they will send me the correct contract, and will phone me to check if it has arrived. If this post stops here then assume I got it.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Diabolical customer service, THATS IF YOU CAN GET THROUGH. Avoid!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Absolute disaster. No Internet for over two MONTHS! All call centres are in India and their level of "care" is actually appalling. I have to leave, wasting so much time, effort and money. Please don't waste your time. Better off paying more for better customer service. Please don't make the same mistake I did!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
ive been on the phone since 8 am and I've been cut off twice. ive been passed through customer service 3 times explaining I want to leave. it shouldn't take this much to understand I want to leave. Im now on hold waiting for tp speak to an advisor another exhausted wait. This company is TERRIBLE!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Horrible , unprofessional and unethical staff! Shame on you Virgin media! Front desk Staff are only trying to sell products to consumers rather listening to their needs. I called to give 30 days notice about ending my contract and customer service decided to persuade me with other options and did not put a note on the system the reason why I called. Miscommunication at all levels!🤦🏻‍♀️ This caused me a lot of stress, higher monthly payment and waste of time. Get better staff!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Customer service in this company is like you want to get through Home Office. The staff are not professional in sense of knowing what they are advising customers. If you want to upgrade anything it is available online but god forbid if you want to downgrade! They make sure you do suffer if you ever manage to do it. For this reason, I decided to disconnect my services for some simple change. Something like this could have been done online and not losing their customer but I think they DO NOT CARE really!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Virgin media customer service is a joke. I was waiting on the phone for 35 mins and the call was just suddenly disconnected. I also tried the online chat, I've been waiting for over an hour to get connected to a person, then after a few questions, that person told me she's going to connect me to the relevant team. Now I'm again waiting whilst the chatbot keeps popping in the same message over and over again. Total rubbish. Cannot wait to leave Virgin media!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Whilst I accept that if you can’t manage your affairs on your login your in for a lot of time wasting holding on the phone Don’t ever go for any VOLT offers unless your 100% sue your account names are identical On Virgin my only my first name initial is on my account name however on O2 it’s the whole name and this isn’t acceptable for me to qualify for double data Spent a whole day on hold to both companies and got nowhere Come the Revolution!!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Absolutely disgusting customer services. After waiting a very long time to get through (for the third time), I had difficult hearing and understanding the sales representative. After being charged £245 for only 6 weeks internet only service, I was assured to get me excess refunded and have this confirmed this via email. As a single Father, I'm annoyed this happened to me over the Christmas period. It's shocking how bad a multi million pound company can treat customers. I will escalate this further and most definitely wouldn't recommend them whatsoever.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
If I could give no stars I would. Never ever ever ever had customer service any thing as close to what virgin give I can’t even begin to explain the volume and complexity of the issues we have had when trying to arrange a simple issue via customer service. They infuriation of being on hold for 40 mins to speak to someone who transfers you as they can’t help to be on hold again and then transferred AGAIN for the line to drop out when the the next person answers - which happens on a regular basis. To then call back up finally get through to the final person be told something and then something completely different happens. To detail the latest disaster I am having I have been told it takes 30 days to cancel the internet so I call up to cancel it IN 30 DAYS for it to stop working 5 hours later, to then call back up the next day explain to be told they randomly cancelled it straight away and they will restart it in 4 hours but I’ll need to call back up to cancel it and will also be able to arrange a discount for the hassle. When I called back up they told me I didn’t have an account and got transferred around for ages before speaking to the right person who said they would cancel it IN 30 DAYS and offered me a discount of £20 for the hassle. Now the liberty is they made up they were doing me a favour for a £20 discount, even though they UPPED MY BILL BEFOTE THE DISCOUNT!!! As a result I was now being charged £65 a month with a £20 discount rather than just £40 so effectively paying £5 for my last month to endure customer service hell. After explaining my point we managing to agree £22 for my last month and confirmed that the disconnect would be in 30 days. I requested I be emailed the details on this as confirmation but was told it would take an hour to come through. I wake up again this morning with no internet as they have disconnected it and a bill for my 10 hours of internet for £62 for the month + an installation fee of £34.43, even though no installation happened!! This has gave me a some how estimated next bill of £108.28, which doesn’t even add up!!! As mentioned this is the most recent of many similar sagas with the provider and this time I think I’m on the verge of an emotional breakdown 😂😂😂. WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS COMPANY!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Waited 2 weeks for them to install virgin media in my flat and 1 day before they were supposed to do it, they sent engineers round who told me there was no way we could have it because there weren't any wires.... What???? Why did they tell me they could install it all and book a date without knowing if it was even possible? Now I'm WiFi-less for another 2 weeks while I find a different company. What a load of rubbish.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.17 based on 1,637 reviews