General Accident Reviews

3.0 Rating 557 Reviews
50 %
of reviewers recommend General Accident
3.0
Based on 557 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat

Write Your review

Tell us how General Accident made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Great insurance company with amazing customer service!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Cancelled my insurance on a 2nd strike after 9 months. Broke down in the middle of a motorway there was no number to call!! DO NOT GO WITH THESE you’re better off paying extra and making sure you’re covered properly!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Cheap and easy to follow the steps Recently bought car insurance. Will update for further details
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Avoid this company at all cost . The app & black box they use will not give you any updates or accurate readings. I was actually told on the phone by a general accident employee that they are aware that the equipment general accident use & provided by Vodafone is faulty.I urge everyone who has been accused of speeding by them & their faulty black box to report them to trading standards . They have the lowest rating of any insurance company so far on trust pilot. There seems to be a pattern where they accuse young drivers of speeding. Young drivers who have previously had black boxes from other insurance companies that actually work & have an impeccable driving record. A week with this lot & their faulty useless equipment throws out speeding accusations. They are by far the worst insurance company I have had the misfortune to be ripped off by .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
my mrs changed her car carnt get hold of you so had to take out a policy with churchill mine payed last DD by the bank then i cancelled it you say you havent had your money bank says you have youre going cancel my insurance yet youve had all the money going with some else YOU ARE THE WORST COMPANY i have ever been with. ps you owe me 3month insurance money
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
God awful customer service, threats of cancellation, false speeding alerts through a completely unreliable telematics device, the list really does go on. Do yourself a favour and steer well clear of these absolute buffoons, they are only out to line their pockets and cause undue stress on young drivers such as myself. And the worst of it is, their employees believe there is nothing wrong with the way they treat customers and how they deal with issues.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
NEVER NEVER Go with GA. My Car was a write off in a accident, I had 0 support or contact with the company. When i filed a complaint, i was told by the advisor, he can take the complaint but will not take it further because they don't simply care and don't agree. Also, for canceling my policy after having no car was £140. when querying this on the phone and email i was ignored. My app for the black box also- score kept reducing even when I was driving great. I simply do not trust this company. They are cowboys scamming people. They seem to make money out of nothing with loopholes and dont care. massively disappointing. In a way, im glad i have no car so i dont have to deal with them again
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Super .just saved £577. Previous insurance renewal £936 GA insurance Premium £359.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Avoid ! No customer support after 28days of policy! Cancelled my sons insurance as stated they had not received NCD letter even though it was emailed to them, gave him less than 24hrs notice , unable to contact anyone, so had to get a new policy out with another insurer!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
If I could give them zero stars I would they cancelled my insurance with 2 days to go so I lost my 2 year claim
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Their website has been down for 2 weekends in a row.. not only that if you are an existing user you cannot get phone support. If you need to change your car, buy a car, modify your policy there is 0 way to do so. Absolutely shocking how can a company like this be down for 2 weekends in a row. 1 star, avoid like the plague. You need reliability out of a car insurer. General accident are NOT RELIABLE AVOID!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Shocking , they ignore your Emails, with drew my legal support , mismanaged my case and it cost me. Rude staff .....dreadful avoid at all cost
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very helpful a good service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
they are scammer.. people don't use them
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
AVOID AT ALL COSTS just a scam to prey on young people they will cancel your policy and make you pay hundreds extra every year for the rest of your life and there's nothing you can do!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Changed vehicles and due to their poor website was unable to alter policy with timings required. No phone access to speak to anybody. Paid £200+ in April for the insurance and have just got an £86 refund with a £56 cancellation fee. If I could give zero stars that would be a fair reflection, thankfully we never had an accident and had to try and contact them. Would avoid in the future.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
No customer support after 28 days the app doesn't work and no online support either not a good company to use
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
My only current issue with GA is that my blackbox seems to only consider lower scores. My bb score per journey rarely if at all drops past a certain benchmark but over the weeks it continuously drops despite my individual journey scores not decreasing. Even when I drive near perfectly my score doesn’t improve. And I always always lose a point when I drive on the motorway which is impossible to avoid because of where I live and where I go to uni. I’m a student and I can’t afford to have my insurance cancelled because of “bad driving” where it isn’t even the case. I went with them because they’re cheap and I anticipated no issues but the lack of accuracy on this blackbox is an issue waiting to happen. And obviously there’s no phone to call them on or an alternative blackbox they can install so I don’t even know what to do or if I can get help. It’s frustrating because I’m not looking to cancel I just want a fairer blackbox so I can finish out my contract and shop elsewhere come renewal time.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
very poor customer service, I am not happy that there is no customer support telephone number, having being waiting since Saturday 20th July for answer to an email sent an automated reply but this did not answer the enquiry I sent so rent sent email to team@generalaccident.co.uk and still waiting in the automated reply they stated emails are answered within 24 hours I am still waiting, I could do without the hassle as I am suffering from cancer if I don't here from them in a couple of days then I will make an official complaint
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Self service with out any personal help or possiblity of any help
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
General Accident is rated 3.0 based on 557 reviews