Ikea Reviews

1.54 Rating 1,442 Reviews
12 %
of reviewers recommend Ikea
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over 7 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 28%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 58%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.27 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better

Write Your review

Tell us how Ikea made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Ikea 1 star review on 28th July 2018
Rhonda
Ikea 1 star review on 28th July 2018
Rhonda
Ikea 1 star review on 12th December 2017
Grace
Ikea 1 star review on 2nd December 2017
Barbara Mancia
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I purchased a Rengora Dishwasher for a property in London in October 2018. The reason I selected Rengora over the £100 cheaper Lagan Dishwasher, was to get the five year guarantee (Lagan has only a 2-year guarantee). Over New Year the dishwasher broke down. With considerable difficulty I contacted IKEA who eventually gave me the name of the relevant repair company, which I eventually successfully contacted on the first working day after New Year, January 4th. An appointment was made for an engineer to call on January 10, but this was later postponed until January 17 (the reason given was illness/ isolating). Because of the delay I paid a local appliance repair company over £140 to attend, in the hope that the issue could be resolved more quickly. This proved fruitless because it turns out that parts may be needed, and by the time these are ordered, delivered & fitted, it would be cheaper and quicker to buy a new dishwasher! So we continue to await the IKEA guarantee company visit, whom I have contacted more than once, in the hope that they could bring forward the visit and / or at least come armed with appropriate spare parts to carry out the repair in the course of their first visit. So some 17 days and counting since the dishwasher first developed the fault we will have the first visit under the guarantee, which may /may not resolve the problem - not to mention the £140+ wasted on the local engineer. So my advice is be wary of paying extra at IKEA for guarantees that do not deliver, & shame on IKEA in these waste averse times for making it more convenient & more cost-effective to buy cheap & discard.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
IKEA CUSTOMER SERVICE CONTACT v. IKEA HICKSVILLE, NY i am simply shocked that ikea continues to operate with such poor customer service. well, this is supposedly what they call it, "customer service" but they need to go to school to learn what it actually comprises. honestly, i do not know where to begin with the mess that they and only they know how to create. so i go to ikea to build my closet. i learn how to build it and at the time of ordering, am informed that all the pieces are not currently available. i am ok with that. it is totally understandable. so i order what is available and am on my merry way to putting my closet together. soon thereafter, i call their 888.888.4532 number to check if the missing items are in stock so that i do not require to make a long trip to ikea in vain. when i call, i am told that there are 1,000 of those pieces in stock. i drive in to ikea to find out that the item is out of stock until the following week- the 9th of january. on the 10th of january, i call to confirm that the order has arrived and am told that they presently had 963 of those pieces in stock. being that i had previously received incorrect information, i wanted to ensure that i was not going to, once again, make a wasteful + distant trip, so i asked if there was the possibility of me placing the order, making the payment and picking it up. i was assisted to finalize the order, however following that payment, i realized that i was charged $5 additional dollars for the items. i asked the gentleman why the fee. he was not sure why that fee was being tacked on but then found out that on that very day ikea had imposed this new pick up fee. of course, he was very apologetic and confirmed that this communication had not been made to him. in other words, ikea has a practice of not making it a point to communicate with their employees so that they may be well versed in the updates of their company. these employees represent a company that does not keep them informed. at this point, i am told that i would need to be transferred to what they call the "resolutions" department, WHAT A JOKE! these people could only complicate any possible good outcome ever in life. there is no resolutions department as far as i am concerned. they do not have the means or desire to resolve anything! they ended up cancelling my order -which i did not ask for. after that first call, everything just got worse and worse. truly just an unbelievable long story of complication and simply NO CONCERN WHATSOEVER for any customer. i have never seen anything this bad! i ended up having to call ikea resolutions department 9 times within 6-1/2 hours. how does that even happen? you call resolutions and they give you more problems that they cant resolve. for whatever reason, every time that they claimed to need to transfer me to some other gimmick department they have, the call dropped! how ironic, as if you are living in a 3rd world country that has poor reception or decline in technology. what in the world!!! how frustrating it is to be played with and disrespected in this manner. -1st call- check on inventory + place order, am overcharged -2nd call- resolutions department does not know reason for overcharge but decides to cancel order -3rd call- resolutions will only place order with the additional $5 charge -4th call- resolutions decides to place order without additional $5 charge -5th call- "where is my order?" -6th call- still do not know where my order is -7th call- ask for supervisor, am transferred to another person (not supervisor) -8th call- resolutions tells me that i can go into store and pick up my own items -really? -9th call- resolutions says that there is "no status" on my order because i have not paid finally speak with a so-called supervisor and he places order for me to pick up in store without additional fee. by this time, the store is now closed. i am told that i have 24 hours to pick up order. i go in the following day, for what is supposed to be a simple pick up but to no surprise to me at this point, am told that my order was canceled. HOW?!!!! WHY?!!!! then i am told that i did not pick it up on time so it was returned to the floor. again, WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT? i received a message stating that my order is ready for pick up, last night, after you closed and now it's gone? now she, the customer service person, disappears as she asks me to wait. for what? i do not know! why? because no one tells me. ikea is a mystery place! so i wait and wait and then i figured that maybe she went on break. therefore, in efforts to not waste anymore of my valuable time, i head to the floor to attempt to look for the items myself. oh! but that cant be easy either because apparently these items are in the basement with access only to the employees. i return to the pick up area and am asked where i was because she had supposedly brought up the items for me but since i was not there, she returned them to the basement. HAVE YOU EVER?! so now i actually want to see a live manager. he comes out and wants to play the blaming game of "he didnt take the order". there is absolutely no accountability. he behaved as if i had placed an order in target to pick it up in ikea as if ikea customer service were a completely different entity from ikea. he keeps telling me that the order is canceled, like i do not know that after an hour of being at the pick-up station. does this luis manager need to waste any more time standing there and not giving me my order that i was charged for 3x? it is all very simple, just give me my order! essentially, ikea wasted 2 days of my life! every interaction painfully proving that ikea has the absolute worse customer service that i have ever experienced in my entire life. the way to shop at ikea is to not ever need to interact with this thing they call customer service. dont even get me started with the comically named "resolutions department", they might as well not exist. that would probably resolve 50% of their issues (out of 100% of the issues that they create all on their own). i used to visit the store a few times per year. this experience will deter me from ikea. they do not know how to solve absolutely anything at all! it's horrible. i never even imagined that service could possibly be so disastrous, in going from bad to worse to just winning the prize in losing consumers. if i had to rate them, it would be below zero.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Ordered chairs that never came Didn’t get a refund Terrible customer service, rude and slow
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I’ve been scheduled for collection of returned furniture 3 times today. To ensure they would come, we phone again to check. However, it was replied that we were given wrong information and the collection order has NEVER been placed. I was shocked that such a famous company has repeated exhibited very unprofessional customer service and never care about the customer experience of their customers. How do I suppose to re-visit the store for purchase again? Actually the customer service should deserve no star.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Abusing staff, contrary to the Nuremberg convention
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
The representative tried to help but how do you pay $250 plus $149 shipping after taxes and fees $409 but only received cotton covered wood. No instructions and no chaise cover. I call its on back order we can get it to you after the new years. I call I lost count of how many times. We are going to get it to you and give you half of your shipping. Now I call back and they say nope no one has them in we are going to refund you $50.00 for chaise cover but what do I do with this cotton covered wood with no cover?
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I’ve been scheduled for delivery 5 times now. The first 3 we’re a no show and the 4th they showed each empty handed. Cabinets weren’t on the truck. Now I’m scheduled over a week out with a delivery window 9a-9p. So now they expect me to wait for 12 hours for someone who isn’t likely to show up. 🤦🏻‍♂️
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
They make you walk all thru the store just to find out they are out of the stuff. In 2 weeks prices went up by $30. Find cheap stuff elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
WORSE PLACE ON EARTH!!! THEY DO WIN THE AWARD FOR MOST INEFFICIENT STORE!!! THE STAFF STANDS AROUND CHIT CHATTING, NOT OFFERING ANY HELP! BUT ONCE YOU GET THEIR ATTENTION, THEY PROVIDE INCORRECT INFORMATION!!! WHILE LOOKING FOR ALEX DRAWERS, ONE STAFF MEMBER TOOK US TO THE WRONG ITEM BUT TOLD US IT WAS THE CORRECT ONE….MADE IT ALL THE WAY TO CHECK OUT PRIOR TO REALIZING!!! HORRIBLE SERVICE!!! HORRIBLE STORE!!! AND THEN HAD TO WAIT 30 MINS FOR ORDER TO BE PULLED!!!!!! 🤬🤬🤬🤬🤬🤬
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Another Negative Post on Ikea Singapore. Spent almost $7k on a small kitchen. From duty manager at Ikea Tampines, Benjamin, Harry & Xavier at Ikea Jurong. Raised complaint to Benjamin, no update, no response and call in to asked on 26th December 2021 between 3pm to 5pm but seems like talking to the AIR. He took notes but didn't revert to me. It has 4 days already. Don't even single call me to update anything? At Ikea Jurong, the worst customer experience I ever had. Harry & Xavier, Kitchen planner. Both of them never communicate. Has instructed Xavier on requirement but Xavier never shared with Harry at all on in December 2021. Harry careless, as a kitchen planner should remain all possible steps to your customer before the contractor dismantles the cabinet like disconnecting gas piping. He's failed to do so!! After dismantling the old cabinet, he didn't for seeing the new cabinet size whether can to fit in even though the contractor has taken the photo and reverted. Has talked to him (Xavier) to remain Harry to book installation for me but ended both of them never doing it. This step after I talked to the main contractor called Chee Siong and found out Xavier & Harry never followed up. I have to coordinate by myself. Till now the installer installs halfway and waiting for the measurement of the marble top. The Ikea installer (appointed agent) told me today, Harry & Xavier nor Benjamin was following up for me. It has been delayed more than 1 week. Overall, I would like to urge who's ever wants to change, build a new kitchen cabinet. Don't spend money on Ikea Singapore. They really don't know what is customer service, urgency, and ownership to serve their customers. You will regret it. They don't care about Brand Image, you can complain to them but they choose to ignore you. You try to call them (64272915) numerous times, no one picks up at all. These persons who are dealing with my matter, unprofessionalism and lack of skills to handle. Here, I wish my kitchen can be solved soon. It was a nightmare for me and my wife.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
I was very disappointed to find that the disabled services are so poor in-store. Bearing in mind that you have to go through the whole store, there are no motorized wheelchairs with trolleys attached, only ordinary wheelchairs which either have to be pushed or self-propelled - neither are possible with a trolley as well. Please IKEA, sort this out!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I ordered a glass display cabinet, went to pick it up and they never sent it down. I waited hours. Then I went again to pick up my item that I paid for, and they never found it. I asked for my money back and they said that I picked it up already. I am out $168 and NO furniture. Worst experience, maddening as heck.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Bad, bad, bad store, bad company. I ordered an order over $5,000 for capinet, they separated 2 orders, because some of them back order, but we paid all. Fist order when they delivery to us, had a door of capinet damage, we reported to them, they didn’t give us the case number, the first time we order from IKEA, when we order all capinet the lady do it for us ( we have to make appointment) she said, when they delivered have any damage just report to them and they will resend to us another one, but until now, over 2 month they didn’t resend to us, the customer service work that case for us, she said she can order another one no pay, when we come to store and pick up, they don’t allow to pickup until we have to pay. That’s the 1 case. And another back order they massage to me they will delivery the end of October 2021, but until November they didn’t delivery and they cancel my order even they didn’t tell to me they cancel already, until now Dec 13,2021 they didn’t return money to us. Very bad company. I’m so angry with IKEA company. Never come back.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The delivery person called to confirm the delivery will be bit late and still 10 pm not delivered. The lady now switched off her phone. After confirming the delivery I got ride of the old furniture now I am stuck.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Horrible customer service for return your items, East Palo Alto ikea,California
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
IKEA stole $300 from me. I ordered my son a desk (he’s homeschooled) we needed quickly. He was totally excited to get his new deal from ikea. I ordered it on the phone because the website was glitching. It was very smooth… THEN delivery day came. They guys told me evening was in the boxes…I said I think the desk top is missing. Try said well maybe it’s coming on another truck….I put a note on the sheet I signed saying I needed the top. Well I called and I was told the TOP of the desk is not in stock. So they delivered a desk with NO TOP?! Now they are telling me I have to drive the drawers back up to a store that’s over an hour away to get my refund because they are no longer doing “pick ups” due to Covid?! But they do deliveries?! I’m so frustrated….don’t do business with this crazy company unless u live close!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
This is all fake as i have been to IKEA many times and have had a very good experience each time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Wish we had read the reviews before purchasing the kitchen cabinets from IKEA! Our new home is being built we ordered cabinets in August 2021, 70% of the order came & installed by IKEA in September & the rest of the cabinets we needed are no where to be found! Customer Service suggested we called the warehouse every other day to see if they are in stock which we did! Also checking on line for our local IKEA but now is December still not in stock! We were able to find few pieces from different local IKEAs & making separate trips to grab some but still needed 20% to complete. We couldn’t have a final inspection on the house because the kitchen is not completed! The rest of the cabinets are still not in stock & no one seemed to have an answer or care so we are stuck! Do not buy from IKEA! Some individuals from the customer service were absolutely rude & didn’t care to help you whatsoever! What a night mare! Get yourself together IKEA!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I purchased a cabinet from ikea Tampa store (An hour’s drive) It was a Regissor cabinet and I had to take the item number to a service desk to have an employee pull the boxes. The Employee pulled the wrong boxes I wish I had been allowed to pull them from the shelf myself. Instead I have had to call customer service number 10 times to try to get this corrected. I have been given 3 different cases numbers One marked resolved when nobody did anything. Then when I followed up I got missing hardware but no cabinet sides or shelves. The 2nd case number the customer service rep figured out the weight and dimensions of the box I was missing and sent a request to the Tampa store to have the missing box shipped to me. I received nothing. When I called to follow up they had no such case # on record.POOF. Case #3 the representative sent another request to the Tampa store giving the weight and dimensions of the box to be sent and said someone would contact me from the Tampa store and I also requested a call from a customer service manager. I received no follow up whatsoever. I called customer service today and was lied to and told that the box was on the way and even given a dhl tracking number that was generated “yesterday” When I plugged the number into the dhl site it was for the parts that were delivered back in November. I called again. The customer service rep couldn’t make sense of the notes that were written re my 11:30 a.m. call. Hmm was the person who told me my box was on the way on drugs ? Illiterate? Or just bsing everything. This company has the WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE IN THE HISTORY OF HUMAN COMMERCE!!! I was told by another customer service rep this evening that my case was moved forward After pressing for the exact meaning of “moved forward”, I was able to ascertain that an electronic communication was sent to the Tampa store requesting that the correct box be sent to me. After explaining to the rep that this had already been done several times to no avail he called the store manager and relayed to me that the resolution department at the Tampa store would call me tomorrow to get it resolved. Tomorrow being Saturday I’m not holding my breath.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I will NEVER buy online from IKEA again!!!! I have lost complete faith in the home delivery service. I made an order on 17/10/21, delivery was meant to be on 14/11/21. A week before delivery was due I had an email to say the delivery date would be changed due to no stock of the daybed and mattresses I ordered, delivery date was changed to the 2/12/21. Fine, I understand this happens. However, when I checked stock, the items were in stock in many IKEAS across the U.K. On the 1/12/22 I rang IKEA as I hadn’t received my text re the 4 hour time slot and I was told the items would definitely be delivered between 9am-1pm on the 2/12/21. Great I thought. At 4.30pm on the 1/12/21 I had an email with a new order sheet saying delivery would be on the 5/12/21. Completely confused I rang IKEA once again. Where it was confirmed that due to no stock in the Reading hub (where it was being delivered from) it would now be coming from Milton Keynes as they have stock arriving on Saturday. I was told to call IKEA after 7pm on the 4/12/21 to check it can be delivered as there is still a chance stock may change. I paid for my items back in October, over £300 worth. Surely when stock arrives in the stores those who have purchased online should have their orders put aside. I have been completely messed around, had to change my plans for a 3rd time and there’s no telling if I will actually receive my items on the 5/12/21. Shocking customer service and I certainly won’t be ordering again!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Ikea is rated 1.54 based on 1,442 reviews