Ikea Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,587 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Ikea
1.5
Based on 1,587 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier
Average Delivery Time
Over A Month
On-time Delivery
Greater than 20%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 64%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.2 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better

Write Your review

Tell us how Ikea made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Ikea 1 star review on 13th December 2023
Costa Fedorov
Ikea 1 star review on 13th December 2023
Costa Fedorov
Ikea 5 star review on 26th September 2023
Crossrail Cottage
Ikea 5 star review on 26th September 2023
Crossrail Cottage
Ikea 1 star review on 19th September 2023
Wayne
Ikea 1 star review on 12th March 2023
Anonymous
Ikea 1 star review on 31st December 2022
Justyna Joanna Mantusz
80
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
IKEA what a disappointment! So me and and my little sister went through to our eldest sisters to help our eldest sister and her partner move house and help build furniture etc. They ordered their sofa, bed and wardrobe sets etc from IKEA, spent a lot of money for them and paid extra for express delivery to be delivered next day which was meant to come Friday, to their disappointment it hadn’t shown up. So my eldest sister got on chats and calls to IKEA being told numerous different tales off of different advisors, one of the advisors which said it would be delivered Saturday between 10-2, also being told it is waiting to be dispatched. We was also told a few times Saturday morning that they would be delivered still, till we finally got through to someone again yesterday at 3/4 o’clock arguing toss with them, for him to keep sighing down the phone at us, and at this point we was farley calm with him, for him to say it will not be coming and their is nothing they can do. So we proceeded to ask for a manager or someone a little higher up to be told numerous times he couldn’t do that, which we all know they can. We finally got put through to a team leader, as we had nothing to sleep on and one of reasons I went through was to help them build, we ended up having to get Ubers and pay out for air beds which we shouldn’t of had to do. Then the team leader we spoke with admitted to us that the advisors on Friday and the ones Saturday morning should have known already that it wouldn’t be coming this weekend at all, so they lied to us multiple times. If they would have told them Friday they could have held off the rubbish removals and movers so they had something to sleep on. All in all be cautious what you’re doing when ordering big items etc from IKEA because they don’t seem to give a damn and their customer advisors are absolutely useless and need more training. And as of today, they are not delivering tomorrow either what a disgrace.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 hours ago
I have just had a extremely distressing e experience in the Bristol store. I am a disabled woman who was shopping alone and was appalled at how I was treated. After having a lovely experience while shopping, I went to till number 4 at around 11.45 am. I first got told off by the man on the checkout because I only had one trolley, rather than two. It would have been physically possible for me to have more than one trolley. He then asked me to remove the large items which he then proceeded to knock on the floor without saying sorry (Im not sure if they are damaged or not at this point). Then he rushed all my other items through which I started to pack and he shouted at me to pay first, which I did. Rather than helping me pack or indeed just wait until I had finished packing, he started putting the next customers items through the till. I then started to get flustered and apologised to the people behind me who also struggled to pay as my items were still in the packing area. He then started to serve the next customer and when I asked him if he could wait or at least help me pack he just rudely said ‘we are really busy’ - which was not the case as the store was quiet and there was no one else waiting. I then asked him why he was being so rude, he ignored me and said under his breath to the man behind ‘I don't think its me who's being rude’. Not only was I extremely embarrassed, but as someone who has invisible disabilities (terminal cancer and aspergers) the whole episode was very distressing and I left the store in tears on the verge of a panic attack. I spoke to one of your managers, Balash, who was very kind and concerned, and advised me to write to customer services, which I did.. I have never experienced such hostility and even spitefulness from someone in the service industry. I've asked them to view the event on CCTV so they can see what happened for themselves. Whether they will or not is another matter. I have never experienced such hostility and even spitefulness from someone in the service industry and have asked that this is addressed so that no one else need be on the receiving end of this. The member of staff was rude and unkind which is completely unacceptable.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 days ago
You are the worst company we have ever dealt with. We purchased a kitchen from you in 2023 after 3 weeks we had a problem with one of the doors. We have emailed you 6 times, i have personally called at the store 3 times and still we have not had a response from you, i am now going to inform my bank to stop making payments to you
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Ikea delivery sucks... I was told between 8am -12pm. It was delivered @830pm. Their delivery company will make every effort for you to cancel the delivery by giving excuses. If you cancel, you will not get a refund.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Waited in for 6 hours called twice told it was on its way called again got cut off twice then told it had been sent back to warehouse on the afternoon disgusting
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Do not order from them online. I placed an order and only got half of it along with a $30 delivery fee. When I chatted with customer service they kept hanging up on me. Finally got a phone number and was told they are crediting me for the other half and that they were sorry! Not a good way to do business!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Finally decided to make a trip to Ikea to get some bookshelves and other items. We went to the IKEA Atlanta. Had not been there since covid and at that time we had a terrible experience. Thought we would give it another try a few years later. We will never buy another item at Ikea again! First of all they have outsourced to f****** China. When we got the bookshelves home the shelves were cut wrong, there were no pre-drilled holes for the screws, there were dents and scratches on the shelves that were covered up by white tape. Apparently this had gotten through the Chinese quality control, or lack thereof. We Now understand why these bookshelves were on sale. Also there was no customer service around to help with these heavy boxes and one of the boxes fell on my husband's face broke his glasses and cut his nose. What makes matters worse is that the checkout line we had to stand in line for half an hour because it was self-serve and someone in front of us had four carts full of furniture that she was entering in number by number instead of scanning it. When we finally got up to scan our items we find out we have been chosen to be audited and everything was rechecked to make sure that we weren't stealing. After this experience you couldn't give it away as far as I'm concerned! Years ago Ikea was a decent store with good customer service and products that actually were made well. I called their customer service on the phone and was assured that someone would call me back about this matter. It's been a week. Do you think they care? No! While we were in the store shopping there were several visiting Ikea managers walking around from Sweden and asking their American counterparts why certain things were on sale and why certain items were not selling. Really? Maybe you should read some of these reviews and that will tell you why your company is going to s***.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Terrible company. Send out faulty products. Useless , gormless customer service . Will not be using Ikea again
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I recently had the most disheartening and frustrating experience at IKEA Warrington, one that starkly highlights a grave lapse in the quality of customer service that one would expect from a brand of such repute. I approached the customer service desk with a simple request for a refund, an issue that should have been resolved swiftly and with minimal fuss. Instead, what I encountered was a staff that not only lacked the basic tenets of customer service but also exhibited an arrogance and dismissiveness that escalated a simple matter into an unnecessary confrontation. It is utterly appalling that in a customer-facing role, the staff at IKEA Warrington would choose to be not just unhelpful but outright abusive towards customers. Their behavior was not only unprofessional but also indicative of a disturbing lack of empathy and understanding. To be met with such arrogance and to have a straightforward issue turn into an argument speaks volumes of the dire need for a significant overhaul in their customer service training and attitude. I am deeply disappointed and shocked at the level of disdain shown towards customers. This experience has not only soured my view of IKEA Warrington but has also made me question the values and customer service ethos that IKEA purports to uphold. It is imperative that this matter be addressed with the utmost seriousness and that significant measures are taken to ensure that no other customer has to endure such an appalling experience. The staff in question should be held accountable, and a thorough review of customer service practices at IKEA Warrington is urgently needed to prevent such incidents in the future.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
I was forced to do a self checkout in your Live Oak, Texas store today. I was “randomly” selected for a spot check and the cashier who had been hovering over me the entire time was incredibly rude as she was ringing up all of my items again and forced me on to her manager, who was less rude, but not friendly or helpful. I told her that I’m a federal employee and a disabled veteran. I wouldn’t steal from a cheap furniture store. My daughter and I had fun in the store and even ate lunch in your restaurant, only to be treated as criminals as we were leaving. I want IKEA to make good on this. I will continue to post my story until it’s addressed.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
This is related to online shopping only. IKEA cancelled a part of my ordered without telling me. They sent me a cryptic email about a refund. I had not returned anything so I called them. They said they were out of stock on the drawer fronts, but asked me if I wanted to reorder them because they're in stock! They might as well have shipped a bed to me with three legs! What do you do with console drawers with no fronts! Outrageous. This is my last online order from IKEA.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
HOPLESS they dont want to sell nothing they have tertible customer service Team usless.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Do not order a kitchen through IKEA. Absolute disaster from start to finish. Wrong items ordered, damaged items, sent only part of my kitchen as the rest is out of stock. Customer service is a joke. Just horrendous from start to finish. I still have a damaged, half built kitchen 2 months later. My advice - go to a professional kitchen fitters who actually give a toss.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Staff were so unhelpful. The product we ordered wasn’t in the isle stated so we asked a member of staff who took us to a different part of the store and pointed out the product and proceeded to walk away. No offer of help to lift the item which would have been very helpful as I had to struggle to lift it myself. The whole atmosphere of the place was horrible. I will in future take my business elsewhere even if it costs more money. Will certainly not be back!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Cancelled part of my order and still made me pay a large fee for a few light items (£25) for a few fake flower stems what a joke! Customer service is awful
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
IKEA SERVICE AND DELIVERY IS DISGRACEFUL We bought a sofa paid and had to wait 2 hours for collection then 1 hour for delivery which the computer in charge was down, eventually got going we paid about £40 for delivery for next day nobody called, nothing was delivered till 8pm, mean while after 4 called to customer service (IT IS A JOKE) NO SERVICE because they have No support from IKEA. Nobody knows what is going on. It is now 9pm and my husband is back in IKEA to see what’s happened to our order…. Surprise surprise it is still sitting where we left it last night for delivery. THIS COMPANY HAS TURNED INTO A JOKE, nothing works within it. I would like to hear from IKEA if they care. Mrs. A. Behroozi 07768838282
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Absolutely disgusting service. Initial delivery due on Thursday 4th Jan 2024. The driver (Elyes) did not even bother to come up to my flat and take a picture of my front door but reported a missed delivery attempt and took a picture from his van of the building. Bear in mind this was in between two other success deliveries so I was at home. They rescheduled for Friday 5th Jan with the same driver. This time he again reported a missed delivery and took a picture of a different location of some parked cars! It was then rescheduled for Saturday 6th January between 8am-12pm. DPD then sent an email saying that due to a delay they are rescheduling to Sunday. I very much doubt they will turn up. Such poor service, very disappointing. Use a different courier. Called IKEA and they couldn’t offer much help Other than speaking to DPD and assuring delivery will take place, which it didn’t in multiple occasions. I was also promised a manager call back within 48 hours and that didn’t happen. How long are customers expected to put up with these delays?!! How much time off work is acceptable for a simple delivery?
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Worst ever service! Bought furniture from Ikea in Reading and when I got it home I discovered the label was wrong in the box and had the wrong colour of furniture inside! I took the 45-minute journey to exchange. After dealing with a very unhelpful member of staff at the Reading branch it was exchanged. When I arrived back home the replacement item was faulty as it had the holes drilled in the wrong place! After haggling with customer services they agreed to deliver an exchange and remove the faulty item! The day before the delivery date I called as I did not receive a deliver slot! Only to be told the delivery had been cancelled. After an hour on the phone, I got no joy and got so stressed by the situation! No one seemed to know what was going on and then to make matters worse they offered me a separate collection and delivery date for another week's time! After being stressed all day I had a phone call from the delivery team with a slot for the next day, the original slot! Apparently the item had never been cancelled and the person at customer services got it wrong! So a whole day of stress and anxiety for nothing! Will the item turn up tomorrow - God only knows. Thanks, IKEA for all the stress and anxiety - I will never, ever, use your services again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Customer service is appalling, that is if you can get any at all. Full of excuses and promises that aren’t followed through. No concern or care that they are stuffing around customers time and money. Would never use again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Purchased £50 storage at 9pm expecting the reliable quality of service you'd usually receive at IKEA. Started assembling at home and noticed an additional supporting beam at the back of the unit not shown in any product photos online, obstructing the back of the unit and preventing it from fitting into the intended space flush against the wall. Carefully disassemble, repacked and sealed the unit in original packaging. Headed back to store at 11am following morning hoping to exchange for the smaller version of the same unit. Disappointingly IKEA refused to take it back or exchange it. According to David in the Returns dept. the act of screwing in, and unscrewing a screw from the pre-drilled hole in the unit left a mark – the kind that any screw in any piece of furniture would leave. This minor trace of assembly became the basis for IKEA’s refusal to accept a full return/exchange for a smaller product. I was offered a paltry £22 them to take it back. A mark caused by a necessary assembly step, which when assembled is completely obscured, seems unjust, especially given the item was returned in an otherwise perfect condition with many panels not having been removed from the box. David (who felt the need to remind himself and us that he's the Croydon stores Returns Lead manager) then changed tune saying due to a health and safety risk it couldn't be taken back due, as its not in an unopened re-saleable condition. He continued to suggest I use their Buy Back scheme so they can buy it back for £22 (and sell it on as open-box.. somewhat forgetting about the apparent H&S issue?!) Given his confused strategy we decided to walk away after he abruptly dropped our 20kg box on the floor in frustration. Whilst there's a lot of marketing about their easy and simple returns process, the reality is it's entirely impractical and untrue; I can't recommend the product or store. Much rather spend £75 elsewhere on a product backed by people with educated principle and common sense.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Ikea is rated 1.5 based on 1,587 reviews