TalkTalk Reviews

1.23 Rating 975 Reviews
5 %
of reviewers recommend TalkTalk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Over 7 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 40%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 84%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.14 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how TalkTalk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Been with them for 7th months and am now into fourth day without internet due to equipment failure. There was also a major hardware failure after I'd been with them for just a week. Aside from these major breakdowns, the reliability is generally poor with regular smaller outages. Customer service is among the worst I've ever experienced, and seems designed to make you go mad. Avoid like the actual plague.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 day ago
Holy moly, what a company. When everything works it's great, but God forbid you have a problem because you're almost guaranteed to be pulling your hair out by the time it's fixed, assuming it ever does get fixed. Been without internet at home for two weeks now. One engineer sent out to check our wiring who was baffled about why he was even sent as there was a record of an issue at the exchange and TalkTalk already knew about it - tried to charge us £50 for the pleasure (no thank you). TalkTalk then admitted that there was a fault and that we'd be updated when it was fixed. Well, multiple days later and still conectionless we called back and were told that the issue had already been fixed (thanks for telling me) and that it must be our router that's broken 3ven though the engineer gave it the all clear. New router arrives and surprise surprise, still doesn't work. Called back, guy admitted that there was indeed a fault at the exchange and that it would be fixed asap. Received a text the next day stating that an Openreach engineer had done work on the cabinet and that we should be back up and running - still no internet and nobody had been to the cabinet that day (it's right outside). Openreach van does actually turn up the following day and does something or other but we still have no internet. One more phone call and apparently we have to have our profile reset at the exchange for our internet to work but only one person is allowed to do it and they don't work weekends so "f*** you" basically. What an absolute shambles. I would've honestly recommended them prior to this issue but customer service is an absolute joke. Will be changing as soon as possible and I'd recommend that they be avoided.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Truly a company from hell, I had a nightmare with this company, last year i had daily disconnections, sometimes unable to connect at all, they made me wait 3 weeks for an engineer who never bothered to turnup, I called them, they promised me compensation, instead they actually penalised me £60, unbelievable but as I found out the incompetence, the total disregard for their customers is on a different level, surpassed only by their callousness, I am one of what they call "vulnerable customers" they claim to prioritise, what a joke, they crapped on me, for months I had the connection problem, they would not even call Openreach to investigate, they only did after I contacted an outside organisation, it seems talktalk, a broadband were too incompetent to diagnose a faulty talktalk router and they didn't care, I had an email from an employee in the Ceo office by the name of Helen Mu**** who led me to believe that she was going to help, she gave a phone number to contact knowing full well she had no intention of talking, she had a recorded message that "vulnerable " customers are her priority, knowing full well I am one, she never even bothered to reply to my many phone calls and messages, that is the kind of despicable people they have working for them and the CEO Tristia Harrison doesn't seem to give a sh**, the company for 2 years running is the most complained about broadband company in the uk but she still gets her half million salary, customers, vulnerable or otherwise don't seem to matter. You can see what bad reviews they get but they don't care. Watchdog should do a whole program about this disgusting company.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Awful customer service. I phoned up and got passed around different people until finally i managed to talk to someone. I was then spoke rudely to and spoken over as I tried to explain what was wrong. Terrible company don't reccommed at all
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
I attempted to switch to Talk Talk from Sky as their services were £20 a month cheaper. It seemed too good to be true...and it was. Signing up seemed fine, I asked for 2 tv boxes, BT & Sky Sports, agreed installation date for the TV and a switch date for the broadband/phone line, exactly what I had with Sky but minus a bunch of channels I don't actually watch. A few days later I got a txt from yodel saying my equipment was due to be delivered on the Thursday that week. I waited in all day Thursday no one came, I got a txt saying they'd attempted to deliver and had left a card. I called and was told I had to use a web chat...After an half an hour of talking to the web agent they arranged for another delivery the next day. This time I was hot on them, regularly checked my tracking number following the sat nav they provided. I could see I was next and the driver was in the housing estate opposite ours, approx 400 or 500 yards away. Suddenly I get another notification saying they'd attempted to deliver! Shocking. Again I went through to an agent, after an hour I was told the only thing I could do was to drive to Farnborough (approx 25 miles from my house) to collect the router. I then spoke to talk talk to see if there was any other way they could get the router to me as a 50 mile round trip was insane. I was told they couldn't they'd log the service I'd received from Yodel. So reluctantly as I was saving £20 a drop to Farnborough and got the router. 10 days later my tv services were due to go live, to give them some credit they sent me loads of txts reminding me and letting me know what time the engineer was to come. Finally he arrives, with no TV equipment. He was surprised I hadn't been sent it already. After about 2 mins he worked out even if I had the equipment he couldn't install it as I live in a block of flats with only 1 access point to the Ariel...Something no one had every mentioned to me before. I wouldn't have signed up if I knew I couldn't have a 2nd box. So I immediately called up and cancelled. I was told it'd be 2 and half weeks before they could switch the broadband back to sky. Then this weekend after all of that they've sent me a bill including installation charges and paying in advance for services I've cancelled already. I've just spent 40 mins arguing with their agents on the phone they won't cancel the payment in advance I have to call them back next month for a refund....They have 'agreed' to cancel the installation charge...They want to bill me though for the broadband despite the appalling service they have provided. Shocking, I guess you get what you pay for. Anyone thinking of switching from Sky/Virgin/BT. I'd recommend staying put, Talk Talk might be cheaper but there is a reason for it....
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
after initial broadband issues,i was put through to 3 different people,my broadband isnt what it is meant to be(not getting the proper speed) eventually was put onto a lovely young girl called Alisha on fibre optics home,she could not have been more helpful,and noticed that my broadband was fb35 instead of fb65,so after everyone missing the problem,it takes a girl in fibre optics to notice that my broadband had been capped(that is to say capped at 35mb instean of 65mb,i dont know what talk talk are paying their so called experts,but this young girl went beyond her station to help a poor pensioner like me,i had previously been on the laptop for over 2hrs speaking to their so called experts,i was sent through to her by mistake,and she found the problem Alisha from Manchester i do hope you see this message,you are a Star!!! and what ever talk talk are paying you it,whatever it is its not enough,thank you from a very happy pensioner.please talktalk inform this girl that i have put this review on. thank you sammy mcphail.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Very bad 👎
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
I had to end my TalkTalk contract early due to moving home. The experience of doing so was appalling. I have spent approximately 7 to 8 hours on the phone and online chat to TalkTalk in order to accomplish this. I was passed from department to department to complete different parts of the process. They have made errors then charged me fees for this, which I have then had to challenge. Multiple times I have been reassured that everything had been settled only to receive another bill with additional charges added. Ironically all the while I have been receiving calls form the retentions department asking me to stay! This is the worst customer service experience I have had in years. TalkTalk should be ashamed of themselves and potential customers should steer clear.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
What an absolute joke of a company. Have been using their service for 13 months and I have had at least 19 issues with them where my connectivity was lacking. With working from home, having internet is quite important. Have spoken to their awful customer service multiple times and they give me the exact same dumb questions over and over again. 1 week ago I was given a new router (because that was obviously going to resolve everything) and not surprisingly I have already had issues twice. FIX THIS... Im stuck on a contract with you, and I will take action to void the contract if you dont solve this issue immediately.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Worse Internet and TV provider ever. Been charged for an engineer that came out when I was informed I wouldn't be so now have to wait 48 hours while they investigate. On top of that they want me to buy a booster (£85) so my devices will connect to the WiFi. Roll on March 2023 as I won't be renewing my contract.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Was with talk talk for 8 year they updated my connection but it did t work for nearly 2 months I had a sick child bed bound with no WiFi or any service called up every day no help at all had me distressed and In tears still nothing went with a new service n talk talk still taking money as I should have cancelled they said absolute joke of a service and people are useless was so disgusted in the way I was treated
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
it is so slow and laggy i play fortnite creative on 50 ping we get below avarege download and upload speed cuts out alot and alot of lag spikes not recomended
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have had no internet for 14 days and now waiting for a router for 10 days - and then they tried to charge me £30 For the router that was deemed by their engineer not to work! They have commissioned Yodel to deliver the router - and yodel keep Saying “it’s with driver” for 10 days! Now I have offered to pick the router up from yodel In belshill a mere 10 Miles away - and I can’t do this but the driver can keep leaving it in the depot. Now talk talk purchase these courier service and cannot use anyone else apparently - they have now ordered a 2nd router - put through the same courier - it Defies logic - I would Have been quicker getting another provider -
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have had no internet for 14 days and now waiting for a router for 10 days - and then they tried to charge me £30 For the router that was deemed by their engineer not to work! They have commissioned Yodel to deliver the router - and yodel keep Saying “it’s with driver” for 10 days! Now I have offered to pick the router up from yodel In belshill a mere 10 Miles away - and I can’t do this but the driver can keep leaving it in the depot. Now talk talk purchase these courier service and cannot use anyone else apparently - they have now ordered a 2nd router - put through the same courier - it Defies logic - I would Have been quicker getting another provider -
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Don't even consider TAlktalk, bad service, rude customer service, they will increase price within weeks taking on contract so called no mid price increase guarantee.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
When the broadband and routers are working, service is great. The router they supply is excellent and I get good connections in my average household. I have 3 contracts and have had issues with all of them. The issue comes if you have problems. Live chat is a waste of time, don't bother with it you will waste hours of your life. I spoke to a man called Thando who could not remember or understand much of what I wrote. I spent an hour with him on live chat to be finally directed to a Talktalk support website which I had used before I even spoke to him - I told him I had done all of the things already but he just made up some story about how it would be different this time. It wasn't. The only way to get things sorted in my experience is to use their community boards where they have staff and members of the public who are actually aware of issues and are able to book engineers, suggest solutions or send replacement routers out. So why have a live chat service at all? On the boards there are multiple reports of live chat being dire so scrap it TalkTalk - or staff it with people who have some ability to troubleshoot, and where their comprehension of English (particularly technical English) is better. My issues have been -difficulty getting an engineer booked for a fault on my phone line -less than half of the guaranteed speed for 6 weeks -router DNS issues (a firmware update for this has been promised for many months) -delayed go live date and waiting for auto-compensation I like the router that is supplied and the community boards are excellent. But getting issues resolved takes too long and live chat function is one of the worst i have ever experienced
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Appalling company worst company I have had to deal with. Mike
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I have been a member of Blue yonder, Sky, Virgin, BT, No problem. But now I have joined Talk Talk! biggest mistake. I have spoken to many of its support staff as to why cant I sign in to my account? not one has tried to help me as I am now tied in for 18 months. DONT JOIN THIS COMPANY.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Sold TalkTalk, Open Reach installed my Broadband, Phone and TV on the 9th July. The following week we had a downpour, out went the Broadband, over 9 hours passed ''we are working on the fault'' the following morning still not fixed, then it's time for the worst experience ever ''phoning customer services, only services should be removed and call it ''no help for customers'' first rep after no idea how long cut me off, I rang them back, time to work through the script again, I had enough ''just get it fixed'' and I hung up this time. I go out this week and buy a TV, time to connect, no this don't work, TalkTalk box not adding channels, rang customer services, first rep cut me off, rang back 3/4 qtrs. of a hour listening to some lady reading the script again, question after question, do this, try this, look I said it is not working arrange for a technician to visit me, I just have to ask you, no, no, no just stop, stop reading your script, tell what time is the visit, I repeated this over and over, what time, at last it registered, tomorrow between 3pm -to- 6pm, great bye. This morning I receive a text, technician absent, looking to arrange another technician to call, I left a message on voice mail at the number given in the message, don't bother calling, I have had enough. Called Virgin and I'm having them install next week. DON'T EVER AGREE TO HAVE TALKTALK, they are useless.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Attempted two phones calls in the cooling off period to cancel. Now going through a complaint process because both times they hung up and didn't leave any notes. Wanted to cancel because their service is slow and patchy (it crashes if there are multiple devices on) but now want to cancel and avoid because of their customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
TalkTalk is rated 1.23 based on 975 reviews