The AA Reviews

3.44 Rating 1,353 Reviews
61 %
of reviewers recommend The AA
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
1.77 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Read The AA Reviews
Visit Website

Phone:

0800 085 2721

Email:

customer.services@theaa.com

Write Your review

Tell us how The AA made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Worst experience ever. Extremely long time waiting, they had no driver or hotel to provide, was left alone on motorway in-the middle of the night, was misled about the price-was assured that my policy covers the costs and now I have to pay over £800 for this nightmare!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Rubbish service! 4hours we are waiting in the middle of nowhere with a 1 years old child ! (Weather freezing) and they told us that they are too busy to come to help, than said they send taxi for us which is (2hous pass still not coming)!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The dog is very pleased with her pet insurance from the a.a. ,I did explain that they don’t ride motor bikes and sidecars ,nor do they salute your AA badge ,that was all many years ago ,she was obviously very disappointed
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 3 months ago
The AA employee released the brake on a hill & thevolvo V70 crashed into a solid wall resulting in £180 worth of damage. Despite many emails to a mr Pinnock who handles any claim agalnst the AA & a very retarded response to my mails & tel. calls they say that he denies the fact that he damaged my car. This has gone on for five months without resolution. I contacted AA headoffice but they were useless & ref. me back to Pinnock. I am now making a claim through the small claims court
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
My car broke down, I was totally panicked, one phone call to AA, professionally and calmly dealt with and my car was back in the road in an hour.
Helpful Report
(Home Insurance) - Posted 3 months ago
So had the car MOT done through the AA what a rip off - A total rip off and waste of my time - never again - because of lockdown my injectors are dirty - they want to charge me £500 to have them cleaned - I spoke to a specialist in engine cleaning who charges £150 to do the job and he said even that was probably unnecessary - just get some injector cleaner and run it down the motorway was his advice - the garages that do the work are not allowed to say what they would actually like to charge for the work because they are under contract - the whole thing is a scam and set up to vacuum up cash for some anonymous cooperation.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
9hours sat in car waiting for a way to get home AA sent my job to a contractor Who declined my job 4 times as they didn’t want to go 200 miles to my destination I called the contractor myself to say car is not going to Newcastle that’s just where my address is and needed someone to come out to say car needs repair so I could get a hire car arranged while mine was being repaired A guy came out in a car took mileage see car was not drivable and sent job back to AA this was on the 5th hour Waited for enterprise to sort a car or taxi to my detention but later found out AA had not sent job over to them till the 8th hour Enterprise sorted a taxi and for me to pick a car up the next morning AA failed me due to poor control staff maybe being over worked or under staffed Or poorly trained Also contractors decling jobs they think they don’t want Tonight 2 weeks later I have broken down in a works hire car 38 min to get someone to pick phone up not enough staff I was told Contractor came out with no tools or computer to see what’s wrong with my car this is at 2am I have been told I will now have to wait till 7-9 am for a AA tech to start work at 7am to come out to reset my van as contractor does not have the equipment And AA staff don’t work at night Again poor service AA have failed me on the following short staff in control room Contractors that don’t have equipment to fix van AA staff not available at night time If this is the new AA I am no longer going to pay the premium cover and now be looking at taking myself my family and my works business to another provider that can serve as promise
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I’ve brought a brand new Toyota cross and what to change my insurance from my old car to this. They don’t have it on there listing!? Can’t get a full refund as will be charged cancellation fee and no insurance while they sort it out. It was suggested I pay for a short term insurance till they sort it out. Go compare have it on there listing.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Dash lights on but car would not start, contacted AA and they were out within 30 minutes then in about 10 minutes the mechanic named Paul had the car fired up, very helpful and polite and explained what he was doing clearly and concisely , excellent service.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Booked my MOT with AA smart care , everything that wanted doing was over priced , rang customer services to get them to put a £50 tyre on instead of a £127 one , also complained about being told the wiper blades would be £58 when a set from halfords ( who I consider expensive) were £22 , was told the tyre was already on and that the AA has to make their money on top of the garage, only used this service because the said an mot would only be £25 through them ....they certainly made up for the cheap mot on all the over charging, thoroughly disgusted, won't ever use smart care again or the AA for breakdown and insurance 😡😡😡 replied on Facebook to say was because they use premium parts but the customer services girl actually admitted they put their cut on top , shabby excuse to justify over charging 🤬
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Failed to attend a breakdown aftern2 hours from the original call , leaving my wife stranded alone. The AA finally called to say they wouldn’t be attending resulting in her having to walk alone in the dark to catch a taxi because the carpark barrier closed shortly after your disappointing phone call .
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
an AA rep turned up in 30 minutes of our call out gentlman called Mike, resolved the immitate issue and gave sound advice on thee issue out at hand. Was friendly and helpfull. Excellent service
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Told me to drive my car to local garage while there followed knowing it lost its coolent fucked the head gaskit.told to complain and what a surprise complaint came back there not at fault joke of a company admit to telling me to drive car but there not at fault for head gaskit damage erm stay clear off there other garage repairs cover there will not cover or pay out only good for a lift when brake down
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Do not call in an emergency!! Useless. Needed emergency breakdown help. Had a flat tyre on motorway and was on hard shoulder. Called emergency number and expected it would cost a bit, didn't expect to have to sign up for membership right there and then! They wouldn't have helped otherwise. Robbing money off people when they're in that situation is awful. Had to listen to them go on about all sorts, drained my phone battery, was expected to give over bank details etc, confirm I didn't have covid, confirm what membership deal I wanted and all sorts of things! All while I was on the hard shoulder-unsafe and unable to hear half of what he was saying!! Luckily I put the phone down and called someone to put my spare on and drove home. Saved over £100.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Would not let me buy the smart breakdown outright had to be per month cos that how I pay my policy there for costing an extra £11
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Booked a service and MOT through AA Smart Care. They failed to replace oil filter correctly, subsequent leak and breakdown. Took car to trusted garage who was shocked by poor workmanship of the AA Smart Care servicing centre. So far have been refused any refund or compensation for subsequent repairs... so my advice is do not use this 'service', book at a garage you know instead.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Stole my vehicle for 2 days, forced me to abandon the vehicle then calls it unattended!! Rip off, cowboys, exploiting customers and ripping them off, 4th emergency service!! JOKE.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Absolutely shocking service ..my van broke down in Lytham so needed towing to Manchester .. phoned at 2.30 pm waited 2 hours to be told they couldn't fix it ..waited another 3 hours for a tow truck which duly dumped me at Rivington services waited another 2 hours for the tow truck .. and that would of been longer if I hadn't phoned them and kicked off ...I was told by the operater to get a taxi home and leave my van keys behind my tyre so it could be towed the next day ...really with all my tools in the van ..a total shambles by the AA luckily my renewal is up next month wich is close to £200 lol ..what a joke company
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
AA WILL LEAVE YOU STRANDED for 8 HOURS…. I HAD TO ABANDONED MY CAR Yesterday (15/09/21 at approx. 18:30), my car broke down on a dual carriageway and I phoned AA breakdown to hopefully repair it and if this couldn’t happen, then I would be happy for my car to be towed home as it was too late to take it to a local garage at the time. They explained that there was major delays locally and said breakdown assistance would not arrive until 19:50. When nonone arrived at 19:50, I phoned back AA which they then said there were further delays and would come at 20:50. So I waited again. The breakdown service came about 20:43 but didn’t bother looking or asking me what the problem was. They towed my car to a local BP garage and then told me someone will be coming in 30 mins to try to repair the vehicle. Then a technician (LJ Recovery & Repair) arrived nearly 2 hours later and shined a torch in the hood of my car, asked me a series of questions which I answered and he responded saying this is a recovery job and that there is nothing they can do. I then called AA to complain - they said there is not much they could do at this point. They told me I SHOULD HAVE READ THE TERMS & CONDITIONS then I would have understood the process. I called again to complain as I was stranded and did not have the means to sort out my car recovery on my own. I call again at approx 11:26 then log a new call for recovery to come and collect my vehicle. I was initially told LJ Recovery would come at 2:25. I did not receive any regular updates from AA or LJ recovery. NO ONE came to collect me or the vehicle so I ended up abandoning my car at 2:30am. A lady on her own, it was such a cold night and I had been so tired due to waiting so long. I eventually called someone to collect me. I am prepared to share my story with every news outlet/Watchdog available. I do not think this should ever happen to paying customers. AA are liars, scammers and manipulators.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Vexing. They are more interested in checking that your tax is up to date than helping with a breakdown. Even the DVLA allows you a grace period before acting like complete jerks. Also pretty clueless.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
The AA is rated 3.44 based on 1,353 reviews