Virgin Media Reviews

1.16 Rating 1,481 Reviews
3 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.16 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Breathtaking incompetence and shockingly poor service. The installation date was booked and I waiting, standing, at the unfurnished property for 5 hours only to be informed by the driver that he was not in Derby but in Manchester. I had phoned twice to check on when he was coming to be told he was on the way. He had the right street name in the wrong city and part of the country. Need I say more? An hour of holding on the phone TJ try to speak with a supervisor and 15 minutes of being identified in the Philippines and still no joy for what is to be a £1,000 per year order. Shocking…
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I usually don't give bad feedback nor bad reviews at all as I completely understand how effective feedbacks are in a business. This time virgin mobile customer services team has forced me to do this that's how frustrated I'm. Just a simple request as a change of my address they couldn't do right. I have been asking for this to happen since the 18th of September as I needed a proof that my mobile number is linked to my new address. I was promised by them that my new address will show on my September bill, but when I checked, the September bill came up with my old address. I spent no less than 3 hours in a chat with them, spoke to them on the phone and did everything in my power trying to sort it out, but they completely refused to do their job which they are getting paid to do by their customers. I do a critical job for the NHS and my time which they wasted should have been used to help patients instead of going back and forth for absolutely no good reason. I'm very disappointed and looking for another mobile company to change immediately.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear. VM took 16 weeks to get our bill on a NEW contract correct (they were serially overcharging). The time and effort on our part to put this right was enormous. However, context is key. We pay for internet to support our lives. And those lives are not without challenges. In the same time VM was doing precicely nothing about overcharging, I managed to survive a life threatening event, a subsequent medically induced coma, and recover my physical and mental abilities. Just so I can take the job of complaining to VM over from my overworked partner (cardiothoracic scrub nurse). Now, having been granted a second chance at life by the universe, do you think I want to waste it on putting VM's mistakes right? No, I'd rather not. Thanks VM, you suck at customer satisfaction, you are truly the worst company I have ever had the misfortune to deal with. We aren't looking for compensation, discounts or freebies, we just want to walk away because you actually make our lives worse. You are that bad. I hope you go the way Orange did.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Swear to god...DO NOT ENTER INTO ANYTHING WITH THESE ABSUTE MUTANTS. Happy to wrongly bill 78 year old vilnerable woman.not provide service agreed. And hiding fees. Srlective in their information. And thee WORST customer service on EARTH...YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!! stay clear!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Virgin has got to be one of the worst internet providers in UK or the world. They have failed to create my online account, they have mispelt my name and I wasn't able to access my account for the first 6 months. The only way to complain about that, and the internet that kept disconnecting throughout the day was through an online account which I didn't have access to. I have contacted them 10's of times and wasted many many hours trying to get access to my own account that I was paying for :). A year has passed I have cancelled at the end of my initial contract, they have sent me several letters saying that they will be deducting several ten's of pounds from my account if I don't send them the equipment back. At the same time I had their engineers text me saying they will do a pick-up from 9 am to 7 PM, for 3 days in a week and no one showed up. I had to re-arrange my day and miss some work because of it and when I called them to confront them about the mess that is their operations, I asked what kind of compensation I could get for my lost time, as I would assume if their engineer was the one waiting for 3 days I would've gotten quite a generous bill. I have been placed on hold for 10 minutes and then they hanged up. :):):). THE ABSOLUTE WORST PROVIDER I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED - CUSTOMER SERVICE IS JUST A WORD IN THAT ORGANISATION, ITS ACTUALLY ONLY THE CUSTOMER THAT IS SERVICING THEM, THEY ARE INCOMPETENT, TAKE NO OWNERSHIP OF THEIR MESSUPS AND ARE JUST TO BE AVOIDED - PLEASE LISTEN UP!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
NEVER ever ever ever ever ever ever get involved with Virgin media. It'd be a nightmare. They cut off phone line 20days earlier than my contract.What's worse is all my business calls have disruptied as it is still not restored!! Let alone its Broadband which is not working for over a week!!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Virgin broadband has been the single worst customer experience of my life. Ever since it was installed the connection has been intermittent - disconnecting about 5-10 times per day. This makes it impossible to work from home. I have spent countless hours on the phone to their technical team and every time they just the same thing - tell me to reset my router (which I've done over 10 times), move closer to my router (has no impact) etc. They then run automated tests and tell me there's no problem, as if somehow I'm imagining it. Then when I went to cancel my connection they told me it would cost £240. I asked them what they would need in order to waive the fee, and a lady called Melanie told me I would have to ring the technical team and get an engineer to visit and be unable to resolve the fault within 30 days. I then asked her why the technical team hadn't sent an engineer on one of my last 4 calls and she told me I didn't meet the criteria. You couldn't make it up. Kafka-esque doesn't even begin to describe it... They're the worst reviewed broadband provider for a reason and I wish I'd read up on them more before starting our package. Avoid at all costs - as if anything goes wrong their customer service system is just completely impeneterable.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Absolutely disgusting.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Worst experience with a customer service provider I have ever had. I NEVER write reviews, but I am so dismayed I need to tell anyone who is looking to move to Virgin, DONT. I could go on and on…but who has the time. Just refer to my words in capitals.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Virgin Media Account Number 784957401 Area 22. My entire neighbourhood went 6 consecutive days with no internet, no phone, no television. Not even a way to contact someone because their phones were set up to say (“we know there is a problem in your area”) than automatically disconnect the line. They say on their website they will compensate you for every day (after two days) well not shockingly they sent us THE FULL BILL. At that point we had already switch to sky TV to you later discover that we were charged £240 cancellation fee which we are currently fighting. Virgin media did not send out a single apology letter or compensate anyone’s bills instead they decided to fly there virgin media blimp over our neighbourhood (which had no service for six days) probably trying to pick up more suckers to sign a new contract with them after all the business they have lost. My husband and I out of good-faith offered them £100 to break the contract deducting the £40 that they owe us.. splitting it 50-50 for their incompetence and lack of empathy for loyal customers.. Our offer was swiftly turn down. Now my husband and I are making our life mission to fight this till the end and to make sure to tell everyone/anyone not to sign a contract with virgin media and those that have a contract to bring their business elsewhere. This company has been penalised in court MILLIONS for these outrageous “Cancellation Fees” but they will never learn.. Hey virgin media I really hope all those customers that you’re losing from me alone was worth £100!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
I've been a customer for about 2 hours and have been on the phone for an hour mainly on hold as the guy who signed me up for broadband also set me up on a 25e mobile plan which I didn't ask for and am now trying to cancel it which Virgin make as hard as absolutely possible. At this rate I'll be cancelling everything with them. After 2 hours of being a customer
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
NO, NO, NO - wanted to give zero stars - dont touch them with a barge pole - most expensive provider but nothing more tha bullies - months after closing our account with them and being told that we were all paid up they started chasing is for another £60 - they even brought in a debt collection service and attacked my wife's credit score. They also foiled any attempt by us to contact them by phone and were even exceptionally rude on occasions
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Awful customer service, will not refund excess charges. I left Virgin Media in March, they continued to take money from my account for 3 months and assured me this was normal and not to cancel the direct debit as they would refund all excess charges. It is now August and after many phone calls and false promises I still haven't received a penny of the nearly £120 they took after they stopped providing me with a service. The last time I called they said they couldn't do it direct as it has been so long and I'd receive a cheque by post, one month later, nothing!! So now I am having to go via the small claims court for the money plus interest, so do yourself a favour and NEVER NEVER EVER become a customer of these crooks, it just isn't worth it. It's a shame as the actual broadband is very good.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
This is the worst media to have your package with, they took the CNN off our package that we had for 2years plus, and said there is nothing they can do. We have to accept it because its an American channel and we can't cancel our subscription If u want to cancel you have to paid £200 plus. The customer service lady is not very nice at all. Please run away from virgin media its all about your money. Terrible service.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
The referral scheme is a scam. The broadband is patchy. Customer Services are exactly not that. Avoid. Dreadful company.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Why do Virgin Media make is so effing awkward to end your contract? Five people I've had speak to, passed around muliplte departments. I had to explain I wanted to end my contract six times to one person. Here's an example of the conversation: "You're through to Virgin Media. How can I help you." "I'd like to end my contract please." "Okay, I can help you with that. But before I do, I can look at getting you a better deal." "No thank you. I just want to end my contract." "Certainly. But I could get you X download speeds for £X." "I just want to end my contract please." "Okay. I'm just going to speak to manager to see what kind of a deal we can get you..." I politely interrupt with... "I don't want a new deal thanks, I just want to end my contract please." "I'll put you on hold while I process that for you." 9 minutes later... "Okay, so I've spoken to my manager and we can offer you a deal..." I politely interrupt again... 'Look, you're the fifth person I've had to talk to now. I've been on the phone for close to a hour. And I've lost count of the amount of times I've asked now. I don't want a deal. I just want to end my contract please." "Okay, but I wouldn't be doing my job if I didn't offer you a new deal. My manager is offering..." I interrupt again... "Look, I want to end my contract. I don't want a deal, I'm not interested in any deals." "Well, on top of our offer, we can also give you a free SIM card..." I interrupt, not so politely... "I'm now beginning to get really annoyed to be honest. I have already said that I want to end my contract multiple times now after being put through various departments. I've been in the phone for an hour now and I actually have things to do, like look after my two children. I have said I'm not interested in any deals. Again, end my contract." "Well I'm just trying to do my job sir." "I'm a paying customer and it's your job to do what I ask. End my contract." "I'll just put you on hold while I process that for you." 3 minutes later... "Okay, that's all taken care for you now. Is there anything else I can help you with?" "No." I put the phone down. Being put on hold over and over. A phone call that was dragged out over an hour for something that takes seconds to actually do. Virgin Media if you read this, this is why you get such terrible reviews. You don't listen to customers and try to force deals onto them you they don't want. You waste their time dragging out a process that only takes seconds to do. This is why people leave you, cos your customer service is terrible. And if you charge me a fortune for being passed around various departments, having to speak to muliplte people and ask over and over to end my contract, you'll be paying for my phone bill and time.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
My husband is in a covid ward,before he went in I loaded his mobile with £20.00. He has been unable to use his phone as every call goes to voicemail. They will not help me without his password which I am unable to give. I cannot change password online because they ping a security number which goes to his phone in hospital. I cannot go into the ward .They saythere is no money in the account that is blatantly not true.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
PLEASE NEVER ENTER A CONTRACT WITH VIRGIN MEDIA. I have moved and the Virgin Media team have lied to me over and over again. They're not just incompetent, they are trained to lie and tell you things are happening they have no intention of doing. They contradict one another and blame every other team for failures so nothing is done but they constantly promise solutions they never plan to implement. They're forcing me to stay with them despite providing no assistance and no installation of broadband whatsoever. It's a criminal act and I will seek legal recompense. When I did the move they said the property was ready for self installation. A lie. Technician comes, there's no plates or cables. Use the online service, they promise an installation before 6. No one turns up. I call customer service: the request was never submitted. This new person promises an installation before 9pm. No one turns up. Phone back this morning. No record of that conversation either. The installation team can't book an installation because the account is open. The calls team says an engineer is coming tomorrow. I call customer services. They say no engineer is coming. I ask can one be sent. They tell me the technician has said the property may not be serviceable. So I ask to be cancelled without charge. They say they can't because it only may be unserviceable. Who can judge this I ask? The area field team. Can I speak to them? No. Can the customer service team speak to them? No. Who could? A line manager but they're all busy wait to be called for 7 hours. I stay on call refusing to leave, a so-called busy line manager speaks to me within 10 minutes. Promises to speak to area field team. The issue isn't resolved and it's clear Virgin Media have no intention of doing anything about it. Completely unethical and illegal. I'm being forced to pay for a service that is not being provided. And they refuse to release me despite not doing anything...
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
VM has big issues. This year I counted 29 days of no or intermittent broadband service.Everyone at my work is fed up with my excuses. Avoid.Customer service is not available or useful.Speed is not what they promissed. It use to be good long long time ago.Horrible now.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Worst customer experience ever. They only apologies and asking million of security questions but nobody can help. Just moved houses and waited ages to have activated the new equipment in the new address. They involve hundred engineer to do a small piece of work for a tiny thing. And all of them are scheduled in different days
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.16 based on 1,481 reviews