CeX Reviews

2.00 Rating 440 Reviews
23 %
of reviewers recommend CeX
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 81%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 65%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how CeX made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
everything you scum bags
Posted 4 weeks ago
Sold some items at CEX Wood Green drop off. Staff we're friendly enough and all but the final (and major valuable item, a pc) were sorted.

This is where it ended in terms of quality customer service and the CEX has some serious structural issues on how they run things. So apparently "the front ports" on the PC didn't work (I assume they mean the USB ports- I could never tell because I never actually spoke to the team in the store) which is unusual because the item I dropped off worked fine and is new this year. Red flag one (have they damaged it?). Red flag two is you cannot contact CEX stores directly, it's pure autism but what it means is I spent TWO WEEKS going back and forth with a middle man, missing calls, etc.

This made it very hard for me to help the team in London on what I'm assuming is an easy fix or a mistake (I hope so or they owe me alot of money).

The final straw is, despite their policy online, they point blank refuse to return this item via post (there is no way given the circumstances I'm able to get back into a tier 4 London even if I pay for it)

So essentially I have zero way of verifying these claims and zero way of getting my £500+ item back any time soon.

Let's suppose this minor issue WAS true ; they refuse to take the parts that DO work.. essentially what I would do is go in store, take it apart in front of them and sell the parts, which are all functional and essentially brand new. Or just take it to another CEX store. Please note I'm not a layman or.l someone who can be taken for a ride; I build PCs for a living and it's incredibly frustrating that they are doing this pathetic "computer says no" moment which is probably no fault of their own, but another "policy".

Now assuming this isn't the fault of the team in wood green (still a little suspicious) then the only issues lie with how CEX is run. The senior management needs to look into this and how communication between the customer and the teams are made and how products are handled and returned because this once great company is going to go down the pan if their not careful, the high street is dying and you cannot afford to have sh**t systems in 2020..

The worst case scenario here is they have

1) damaged an expensive item of mine
2) refuse to communicate directly with me
3) refuse to post it to me
4) I can't get into London any time soon, maybe months,
5) if I do I risk my health
6) also refuse to simply take it apart and sell it assuming it was true (a 5 min job)


Given this experience I would say avoid CEX and just go to local computer store.
Posted 4 weeks ago
Staff are very friendly and polite we would recommend to others
Posted 1 month ago
I've been using Cex since the first store opened in Birmingham in the nineties. They used to give a fair price for trade-ins. Now they just want to help the scalpers by charging £815 for a Ps5 and give you a terrible price for a week old game. Shame I'll be stopping using them after twenty five years. Also the staff are very unprofessional now in most stores. They hate if you have more than one item to trade in as it involves doing some work. Terrible all around.
Posted 1 month ago
I think they just wanted customers out of the shop to be honest. Wanted to sell my phone and they were not helpful or bothered to offer a decent price. Thanks for the help... Not!!
Posted 1 month ago
I purchased a cd game for my son. On Inspecting the disc I enquired about the marks on the cd whilst the sales assistant was there. I then requested for the disc to be cleaned as in the past I have had a bad experience with products I had purchased from CEX and wanted to make sure that all is as best as it can be especially with Xmas next week. The manager was Incredibly rude in his response by refusing to clean the disc to put my mind at ease, refused to engaged in dialogue even though myself or my brother had not on any occasion raised our voice or altered our tone. Then continued to belittle me infront of other customers and walked away saying he does not have to help, or talk to us as he is now on his lunch. I said that I would wait and he said go on then, you'll be waiting for a full hour. Infact, he was not on his lunch, he went to do something else behind the service counter. This level of unprovoked disrespect was unacceptable. When i mentioned that I would be formalising a complaint against him he showed little to no care so clearly who ever the area manager is has no authority here or the company supports disrespecting customers. We left frustrated and furious and As sivalised people, we weren't able to express our anger. This company has no clear formal complaints channels regarding this king of abuse so I had to go through resolver. I will be taking this as far as I can including negative google reviews and contacting the local press as I have witnesses.
Posted 1 month ago
Price is ok.
Condition of goods vary.
Staff are most particular when trading in, however condition of goods are usually poor. Unsure why.

For example:- £40 paid for The SkyWalker Saga, and the majority of discs are badly scratched.

You pay less than 30% for good traded in which is a joke anyhow.

Boscombe branch in Dorset is one to avoid. The staff are incredibly rude.
Posted 1 month ago
PS5 for over £350 the RRP price. Shame.
Posted 1 month ago
I did their “drop” and sell on line. Worked perfectly. They confirmed price by email within an hour of dropping and money was in my bank account the next working day. On top of all this, they paid my a lot more than the other online companies who buy iPhones. So would definitely recommend CeX.
Posted 1 month ago
Uninformed and badly trained staff tried to drop price after stating it.

Very unprofessional
Posted 1 month ago
AN ABSOLUTELY OUTRAGES POLICY. IF YOU WANT A REFUND ON A FAULTY ITEM. "WE HAVE TO TAKE YOUR DETAILS TO REFUND" THEN WON'T DELETE THE DATA. ""SORRY, WE CANT DO THAT!"" I DID NOT GIVE YOU PERMISSION TO STORE MY DATA! I WILL BE CONTACTING MY LAWYER!
Posted 1 month ago
AN ABSOLUTELY OUTRAGES POLICY. IF YOU WANT A REFUND ON A FAULTY ITEM. "WE HAVE TO TAKE YOUR DETAILS TO REFUND" THEN WON'T DELETE THE DATA. ""SORRY, WE CANT DO THAT!"" I DID NOT GIVE YOU PERMISSION TO STORE MY DATA! I WILL BE CONTACTING MY LAWYER!
Posted 1 month ago
Dont sell your items here. They will rip you off. They wanted to buy my almost like new PS4 Pro 1TB for £90. I managed to sell it on Facebook marketplace for £250. If I had sold it to CEX, they would have sold it for £250+ and flipped a profit. Poor customer service and a complete scam. I hope they go out of business sooner than later.

Also what a trashy name... fitting for the company directors who scalp the their customers.

- My experience was instore.
Posted 1 month ago
CEX joining the low life scalpers on Ebay and ruining a lot of kids Xmas this year. I normally take my kid once a month a spend hundreds on games, they have lost me as a customer after this PS5 extortion.
Posted 1 month ago
Don't buy anything from cex online it's a terrible service no customer care I tried to purchase a ps4 Pro from my local store so they decided to sent me one from the other side of the country I still haven't received it a week later and its saying it could take up to 16 day I just hope it gets here in one peace
Posted 1 month ago
Bought 2 phones online and had to return both , the first phone was locked to EE but clearly marked as unlocked , the staff at the local store were helpful but the managers first reaction was it's a stolen phone and had been locked. Took a week to get the money back. I stupidly decide that this may have been a one off and ordered a second phone online again as the store has limited stock. Turned up as a "b"graded phone but looks like it's been kicked down the street ,more than 20 scratches on the main screen. Returned and won't be crossing the stores threshold again!!!
Posted 1 month ago
I bought an item online nearly two weeks ago and CeX sent me the wrong one. Also, the item they sent was broken and had wires hanging out from everywhere. Now its nearly two weeks since I returned and I am fighting to get my money back or any decent reply from CeX. Also, don't bother contacting the company director to complain, as he will not reply. STAY AWAY FROM CEX.
Posted 1 month ago
Dont inflate the PS5 Prices for your customers

--Person from the USA
Posted 1 month ago
Disgusting company... Charging hugely inflated prices for the PS5 console. People are struggling to get this console for their kids this Christmas and lot's of people are also in financial difficulty! To take advantage and charge hundreds of pounds over the RRP is absolutely outrageous.

Boycott this company and let them feel the pain of lost revenue!!!
Posted 1 month ago
Price Gougers! Playstation 5 consoles being sold at over £350 above the RRP!
Posted 1 month ago
CeX is rated 2.00 based on 440 reviews