General Accident Reviews

3.0 Rating 557 Reviews
50 %
of reviewers recommend General Accident
3.0
Based on 557 reviews
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat

Write Your review

Tell us how General Accident made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I had an accident that was not my fault and hit at 50-60 mph. This was May 2020 and medical agency still not in touch Sept 2021. I know we have COVID etc, but the Legal teams that are employed must be better elsewhere?? Hire car company and efficiency are spot on, legal side let's them down hugely.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Very good value for money good to deal with and all round excellent service.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Quick and easy swap over from previous insurers. Very polite and professional call handler would recommend.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have had my car insurance with general accident two years running. I just tried emailing them but couldn’t find a way to, to say thanks as they’re customer service has been wonderful They have sorted out my insurance so quickly each time I’ve renewed I’m having a few problems logging in to view my documents this year round on their website But the first year I had my car insurance with them their website was great on my iPad and I could view all my documents no trouble on my iPad If I’ve had any problems they’ve answered the telephone quickly and been very friendly
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Really awful company!!! PLEASE DON'T USE Customer service is dreadful. You can't speak to a live person.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The insurance supplied offers everything I require for a compedative price.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
They are scams. During lockdown and been at home, they said i was speeding even though my car have not been moved in weeks. I think they like to cancel your policy for the cancellation fee because they know you will change the insurance company when it ends. Dont go for them. Big scam ‼️‼️‼️
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
You are a disgrace of a company my car blew up and i had to pay you 56 pounds to cancel policy on top of all that the expenses i incurred.and to top it off you haven't even got a helpline.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Been a new customer less than a month, oh yes very helpful when selling you a policy, dreadful when you need to make a claim. We had a small chip on our windscreen, Told their preferred company was National windscreens and they would call us first thing next day, they DIDNT. We have had to call them every time, No one calls back, it’s been two weeks now, car still not fixed, no idea when it will be!! Steer well clear of GA, absolute rubbish customer service!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
They say anything to get your business. Take your money. Then tell you it not as thought. Crooks on the end of the phone saying anything to get your money AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Same story as many others came to change our car and the online service would accept the change of vehicle. Sent email query but no response, we have had to pay to cancel the policy and take out new insurance with a business we can talk to ! I would definitely avoid this insurer especially if you think you might change your car mid insurance period.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Wanted to change my insurance too a new vehicle,kept telling me that I couldn't be insured,gave a list of possible reasons none was applicable to me. Tried to contact them by email,got a reply after their stated 24 hour response time,asking all the questions I had already answered.I answered all the questions again in my reply email,as yet 48 hours have elapsed since and I have heard nothing. Now gone with a different company as I pick the car up tomorrow!! Completely none existent customer service!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
So far I've had a good experience with general accident, was covered from the moment I clicked pay with great communication although I changed my car fairly soon after setting the policy up which was supposed to be cheaper, they then sent hpc to fit me a box instead of having another plug in device because "this is what they prefer for young drivers" but at a cost to yourself even if your new car is compatible with a plug in which I will be on the phone to them over!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
For some reason they cancelled my policy after having less than a month left. The black box has been faulty for me all year and has lead to this, I have cancelled my own policy before their 7 day notice which means they haven’t cancelled it. Don’t go with them as they will try to scam you and try take what they can.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Absolutely awful. Got an email after 6 months of driving, saying that over that period, I was speeding on the same 30mph road 3 times. The black box is faulty, and doesn’t know what the bloody speed limit is. I’m a great and safe driver and I use my cruise control to make sure I don’t speed. It’s ridiculous now I have to pay £6000 a year through a different provider for the negligence. Don’t have a human answering the phone, all automated. Save yourself the time, money and hassle and don’t be a cheap skate. Can’t believe they’re still up and running after reading what other people have had to say👎
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Do not use. Cannot get hold of anyone to answer a question regarding change to policy for new car. All automated and cannot get a quick response even by e-mail, if at all! Will be seeking alternative insurance provider.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
AVOID AVOID AVOID I wish I could give 0 stars. Terrible experience with these. We had to make a claim when someone caused us to hit them when braking unnecessarily. There were two young males in the car. The damage was minimal and I have evidence of this. However the car was further damaged which resulted in their car being written off. I have photographic evidence from the science and of them driving off in the car that shows non of the damage that caused the car to be written off. However no one handling the claim noticed this and that the damage wasn't consistent with the damage our car would have been able to do. The other party claimed it was a family in the car and they all had injuries. I have pictures the show you can only see two passengers in the car and never saw anyone else in the car. I also disputed the driver who was claiming was the correct person as the age of the driver didn't match my description. Despite sending numerous letters to their solicitors and asking if we would testify in court (which we would liked to have done) they also paid out for personal injury of the driver. I had to do all the chasing of the claim (which took over 2 years) and they went months and months between doing any work on the case. My childrens car seats full amount wasn't covered as we had hit them. They paid £150 out for 2 seats and the seats were ERF at £380 each to replace. Honestly pay the slight extra premium and avoid these at all costs.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Very helpful customer service and resolved issue there and then.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Tried all day to get the answer to a question on claiming when I needed it.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Absolute scammers!! Every claim,even if you are in the right, they say has to be 50/50. Told them I disagree and want to go to court. Was told it’s not my choice. (Lies) The assessors are are liars. They a money scamming insurance company stay clear of these people!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
General Accident is rated 3.0 based on 557 reviews