Holiday Autos Reviews

1.1 Rating 480 Reviews
1 %
of reviewers recommend Holiday Autos
1.1
Based on 480 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
On-time Delivery
Greater than 6%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 78%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.1 out of 5
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Read Holiday Autos Reviews

Phone:

0871 472 5229

Location:

Victoria Gate Chobham Road Woking
Surrey
GU21 6JD

Write Your review

Tell us how Holiday Autos made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
My experience with Holiday Autos regarding a car rental arrangement in Madeira was disappointing. Despite their initial promise of convenience, my booking process led to an expensive mistake that proved non-refundable. Upon arrival in Madeira, I encountered an unexpected additional charge that Holiday Autos had assured me would not apply. While they were quick to respond to inquiries, they failed to effectively resolve the issues or address the problems at hand. I cannot recommend them for stress-free car hire, as they seem unwilling to take responsibility for their errors. One of their agents even described them as merely a search engine, further indicating a lack of accountability. Ultimately, the extra charge I incurred exceeded the combined cost of the initial car rental and insurance from Holiday Autos.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
TRUE Thieves.. Paid the car rental cost 500 EU online using a debt card When arrived to supplier they asked for Credit card to take the deposit of around 300 EU, I never used Credit Cards and I will not. They refused to take the deposit amount as Cash payment and refused to take the Reserve amount from debt card, AND they refused to give the CAR. Now they are refusing to refund the paid amount!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Scammers! Tourist trap! Stay away from this agent!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
I rented a car from them over the internet, but I didn't get the car and they didn't refund the money. I found it difficult to find a phone number to contact them, and the international calls I made to them cost more than the car rental fee they didn't refund. Avoid dealing with them and wasting your money. Deal with official companies that respect you.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Having used Holiday Autos countless times over 20 years or so, it disappoints me greatly to write a negative review and to henceforth take my business elsewhere. This is due to a small clause in HA T&C’s which states that, in order to decline the 'fully insured' package at the rental desk, a credit card in the renters name must be presented. But wait … This, I hear you say, is all fair and square. Of course a credit card in the renters name is required, it always has been and I have used the same card (or iterations thereof) without issue all over the world. The difference here is that HA have sneakily included the requirement for the credit card to contain the FIRST and SECOND names of the renter. No longer will a card with just your initials and surname be accepted for the purposes of paying a security deposit in lieu of buying the rental companies costly and ‘optional’ insurance. This renders the option of declining their insurance impossible. The very same credit card (yes, the one without the full name) would happily have been accepted to buy the costly and ‘optional’ insurance, which suggests that this has been done in the knowledge that most people's cards by default have only initials and therefore they will be left with no option than to stump up for extra insurance, regardless of whether it is required, wanted or not. In this situation I was refused the car, leaving myself, my disabled 85 y.o. father, disabled son, wife and luggage stranded several miles from the airport. It should be noted that other car rental providers DO NOT have this requirement, so I was able to re-rent with another company (where, as it happens, the exact same rental was also available to book via HA but with this nonsensical clause). HA have stuck firm with the T&C's mantra and have declined a refund for the rental. The net effect being that I thank you Holiday Autos for 20 years and thousands of pounds of rentals... But now it's time for me and anyone I can encourage to move on elsewhere … and all for the sake of a paltry £37. And yes, I withheld from writing this review until Holiday Autos had been given the full opportunity to review the case.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thieves who robbed me of my money and I didn't get my rental car!!!! They change the terms and conditions as they see fit, the contract you have with them is not valid, but you will only find out when you solve the problem!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Horrible, just horrible! I made a rental transaction for having a car for 20days. At the pickup desk, I did not even got the car due to credit card issues. The very same moment, I said ok, I have no other way but to ask for order cancellation, I writtenly confirmed a 95euros penalty for the cancellation to take place and 2 days after they emailed me that my card had the problem and they will keep the whole order's amount...Can you imagine that, it just happened to me!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
SCAM. Absolutly horrible experience. First time renting a car and never want to again. They required a £2505 credit card deposit which is almost unheard of in the industry. My mum has rented hundreds of cars at this point and has never had to have a deposit over 1k. They also told me on arrival i couldn’t do over 100 miles a day. My credit card unfortuently did not have the limit they required and gave me little other option so was left without a card and have recieved NO REFUND. Including for the extra insurnace i payed (£45) - they wont refund either. On top of it all the lady on reception was quite cold and rude to me. I created an account on here literally just to warn people about this company. Do not rent here ever!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I went to collect my car at Glasgow airport and was told that because I had 9 points on my licence they couldn't let me take the car. I was told that I would be refunded if I contacted the company when I return. Ive just called them and they have refused to refund my payment as I should've cancelled before me pick up time. I used Eurocar and they were fine with the 9 points.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Wish I could gove this Company Zero. Cancelled booking and waiting refund - not forth coming . 40+ emails and numerous chat. So many excuses. Will now consider small claims as funds still not received.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We booked a car on Gran Canaria in September and paid the whole amount by card (about 200 EUR). When we came to the car rental desk we were asked to pay additional obligatory insurance approx 400 EUR (apart from the deposit 500 EUR) that was not mentioned when booking or on the car voucher. We tried to get refund but no chance after 40 day long investigation to our case.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The rental company invoked on of the conditions of booking on page 3 of the paper print out, namely if you don’t turn up at the time you give them they can cancel the policy without any refund even though our flight details were on the booking! Not surprising they had a solution ….pay €265 extra and have an upgrade the keys for this car were on the desk ready as they know they have you trapped. I will never use Holiday Autos again, total rip off company.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Prefer to give zero stars. Terrible experience when I tried to change booking date within one hour of making the initial reservation. No phone number available, only chat option. Got booking date almost changed and then got disconnected. Got on second chat with another representative who charged me $50 rebooking fee and an additional charge much higher than the first quote. It took over three hours to sort out change and get into a rental car. Drove off in a car that had a tire pressure warning light on. Once I completed the trip, I found a number and called holiday autos and they would not refund excess charges or the rebooking fee. Will never rent from them again! Deceptive advertising and terrible customer service!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
We (4 of us) booked a car with Delpaso via Holiday Autos. Upon arrival I was asked for my credit card which I provided. (This was the same credit card I used to purchase the car hire.) I was then told that I need to provide a credit card that does not have my first name with an abbreviation, in other words my full first name and surname must be present. However my credit card as like most people's credit card, only has their surname in full and initials for their first name. Delpaso said they could not rent the car to me without a credit card with the full names not abbreviated. After arguing with them and one of Delpaso's colleagues giggling in the background, I contacted Holiday Autos to see if they could resolve this. After speaking with an arrogant lady, I was told they could not help either. As it was already late in the evening I offered my Debit Card to Delpaso to take payment to which they refused. They also refused the credit cards of the 3 other people whom were travelling with me. This was clearly a scam as never have I or my friends ever heard of such a pathetic excuse for refusing car hire. In the end, we had no choice but to rent a car from another reputable car hire company and pay 4 times the amount. To top it off, while we were there, 2 other people were refused their car rental unless they paid an additional insurance charge which they had already paid with Holiday Autos, which now meant their car rental doubled in price. Clearly both these two companies are in cahoots in conning people out of their money, so I suggest you avoid them like the plague!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Holiday Autos booked us with Sicily By Car who completely botched my reservation. Our car wasn’t ready. They claimed a flat tire. Then they refused me because my recently renewed license was less than 3 years old and I couldn’t prove I had been a driver for 45 years (I’m 67)! When I tried to switch the reservation to my friend, I was as told it had expired while we were there and now there was nothing they could not change it was possibly to change the name on it. My friend would have made a new “same day” reservation, but we would be charged another €500 !!! So I called Holiday Autos who said THERE WAS NOTHING TO BE DONE! All they did was apologize for my Catch-22, but stated “their hands were tied.” If you use them and there’s a problem with the rental car company, don’t expect them to advocate for you! They’ll just apologize and the agent will say there‘’s “no one they can escalate to!”
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Do not use at any cost they are a bunch of scammers paid my £1200 for a car hire the never confirmed to the hire company It Cost me £1800 to get an alternative 7 seater vehicle so total cost so far is £3000
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Picked up a Fiat 500 from Barcelona airport on the 18th August at around 4.30pm. Our booking had been through Holiday Autos who used a third party in Spain called Drivalia. The next day the car wouldn't start and we had to enlist the help of people at the hotel to jump start it for us. And so the saga started! Fobbed off initially by Drivalia who told us that they couldn't help as we hadn't taken out their additional excess insurance (we had our own). A further phone call the next day when the problem continued proved this to be incorrect and I was told we would need to call out 'Road Assistance' who would resolve the issue for us. An hour or so later a local breakdown guy arrived who uttered the words 'battery kaput'. He connected the battery up to a charger and it started. We were instructed to drive for around 15/20km as that would put sufficient charge into the battery. It didn't!! The problem persisted and we had to park on an incline each time we went out which was stressful to put it mildly. On returning the car to Barcelona airport, we parked up and spoke to one of the Drivalia representatives on duty that day. I accompanied him out to the vehical and when he tried to start the car, it simply made the same clicking sound we had had during the course of our holiday. I was told that there would have to be a 280 euro charge as I had called out the Road Assistance people but that I would be able to claim it back through Holiday Autos. On our return to the UK, I emailed Holiday Autos giving them full details of what had happed during our trip. Guess what!! They have refused to refund any part of the 280 euros stating 'that as the rental agreement was signed and agreed on, it is legally accepted, and we are unable to dispute it with the supplier any further'. I have been told to pursue it with my insurance provider if I am unhappy with their decision. I am extremely unhappy with the decision taken by Holiday Autos. I do not understand why we should have to pay over £250 for something that was totally not our fault. We were supplied with a faulty vehicle and despite calling Drivalia on more than one occasion, no replacement vehicle was offered to us. We had to push start the vehicle each time we wanted to go anywhere which was somewhat stressful particularly as we are both pushing 70!! I will never use Holiday Autos again - how can you run a company such as this and offer no customer service? We deserve better than this.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
SCAM stay away. I booked a car to arrive at the desk to be told my car booked has been given away. I was late 1 hour due to the airline.... I am now being told I was a no show and cannot get the car for the 9 days booked or a refund. SCAM! STAY AWAY. I now have to seek legal advice. I have never experienced such a terrible service. I am now without a car and 400 pounds down.. THIS IS A SCAM - STAY AWAY
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Go somewhere else I showed up 1 hour late due to a flight delay and was informed that they didn't have any cars left. Not a single one I could rent even for a higher price. I had to go somewhere else for a rental car and when I asked for a refund, I was told I was a "no-show" even thought I arrived at the counter and engaged with the customer representative for hours to try to get a car with this company. When I contacted them they declined to provide any sort of refund. I'd recommend going somewhere else if you anticipate any delay in your flight's arrival. They're not willing to help if something happens, from my experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Dreadful service, claimed the price paid online was the full amount yet on arrival Goldcar charged an extra £150 to release the car. Despite me notifying Holiday Autos immediately who said they would assist once I returned the vehicle, now they completely wash their hands of it. Steer well clear, dodgy sales tactics
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Holiday Autos is rated 1.1 based on 480 reviews