CeX Reviews

2.00 Rating 441 Reviews
23 %
of reviewers recommend CeX
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 81%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 65%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Live Chat, Telephone
Queries Resolved In
6 - 12 Hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Returns Process
Could Be Better
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how CeX made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Price Gougers! Playstation 5 consoles being sold at over £350 above the RRP!
Posted 1 month ago
Extremely unhelpful people. My product was damaged twice during the warranty period and the second time round they said they wouldn’t repair it. They sell damaged stuff and their repair time is a minimum of 1 month after giving an assurance of 7 days.
Posted 1 month ago
Be A wear from Cex as most of the telephone they sale are stolen, i had experence when i bought Iphone 8 plus and paid £395.00 cash but after 6 monthe the phone givin no service , contact the EE and form the imi number found this telephone has black listed ie STOLEN, when i went to tell them they did not say sorry and he refund me £310.00 so I lost £85.00 this is I name it AROBBERY.
Posted 1 month ago
Posted me an ipad with a passcode on it then sent me ones to try which completely disabled the ipad now not replying
Posted 1 month ago
From start to finish have found them to be appalling. Had over 100 phones to trade in (Old company phones) 90 of these were in good working order with little damage other than the odd scratch mark. Dropped them off at the store and was met by the most ignorant man Ive ever met who made a massive deal about me leave that volume of phones (Did he not want money for reselling them?) Told me could take 6 weeks or more. No problem given everything going on at the moment. Less that a week later I received 3 calls back to back from a private number, which for obvious reasons I don't answer, way to many scams going on. I get a very threatning voicemail left stating if I do not answer my phone immediately they will not process my order and ill loose the phones. After listening to it again 5 times I eventually deceiver the number I have to call and when I get on the phone he tells me that ALL the phones are rubbish and they are not a recycling center. When I questioned this and how its possible as many were used for only a few months and in good condition, he proceeds to tell me there is battery damage and broken screens. This is untrue as I got rid of all phones that wouldn't turn on or had cracked screens before we packaged them up to go to CEX. He then told me that all he is willing to give me is 12 euro for 4 Iphone 5c's. Absolute joke and he is an absolute cowboy. Will be lodging a formal complaint with CEX as the customer service was appalling. Run a mile!
Posted 2 months ago
No customer service whatsoever at your Braintree store.
I did a trade in drop and go, I also had 2 controllers and could only click on the option for 1 controller. The man wouldn’t let me speak was on the phone, took my items and wouldn’t let me in.
You can’t even ring a certain store that you want to communicate with. Apart from CEX there is no other place you can trade that I know of. More customer service from a funeral directors. I would give them zero if I could.
Posted 2 months ago
cex as a company are scam artist's, they over charge on consoles and don't give hardly anything for trade in. they also have a charge of £1.95 per item that they sell.
the company is also selling the new ps5 for roughly £150 more than its price new elsewhere which is £449.99, I have had horrible experiences with them including trying to trade something I brought from them back in for them to then turn around and say they cant take it.
Posted 2 months ago
Wish I'd read these reviews before my poor experience with CEX. Strange how many of these reviews are negative and on the CEX site, they are positive with higher ratings!

Went onto the CEX website, put in the details of the phones I wished to sell, received a fair price and took the phones to the nearest shop. All phones in good condition, some in original boxes, and with chargers.

A week later received an email to say they could not accept the phones due to all of them having "physical damage". When I queried this and pointed out all phones were in good condition, they changed it to "did not pass the test". Have collected the phones from the store now but staff could not, and still cannot explain what this means.
Best not to use CEX.
Posted 2 months ago
Purchased an Xbox One X console from CEX, however upon delivery the disc drive would not play standard DVDs. I returned this via their online returns address as advised to by Ramson however upon inspection they have chosen to completely ignore the fault and send me the console back saying they "Could not verify the fault". If they had put any DVD in the disc drive, the fault would have been incredibly apparent so it is clear this was not done.
They are in breech of consumer rights when returning electronic goods and in breech of their own return policy.
Posted 2 months ago
Profiteering from a 13-year old whose XBox developed a fault whilst under warranty is the most disgusting behaviour a company could show. They should feel absolutely ashamed of their immoral activities. One day karma will serve justice on CeX and their deceitful policies.
Posted 2 months ago
My partner got an Xbox one off them and the disk tray didn’t work, sold a fake Xbox controller, tried taking it back and they called him a lier and wouldn’t admit that they sold it like that, complete con artists
Posted 2 months ago
you better buy from any random nigerian guy from ebay
Posted 2 months ago
DON'T USE THEIR TRADE IN SERVICE!!
Even if your item is pretty much new and untouched they will give you a B-Grade. I think this approach is very dishonest. After using this service i no longer want to do business with CEX!
Posted 2 months ago
I went to the Welwyn Garden City store and was appalled with the attitude of the store manager customer service. I was looking at a game in the window however one of the colleges couldn't hear me due to the muffling of my mask so I temporarily just pulled down for a second to explain the one I wanted only to be shouted out by the manager in the distance "you need to wear a mask and you now have contaiminated the window". Really unprofessional rude behaviour altogether with the overly inflated prices charging as new even though secondhand just tells me one thing this place is a joke just like the manager. Good luck in second lockdown with service like that!
Posted 2 months ago
Sellers are young people who do not know anything about the product that is in the store and cannot explain or advise anything if you have a question about the product.

If you want to buy a game console, controller, or other expensive electronic device, then when you buy you are not shown anything and sold without any checks. Before the sale, they say that everything can be solved under the store's guarantee, but a return can be made only within 2 days, which violates the law, it seems to me.

When returning any goods, except for video or game discs, they take time to check in all ways they try to refuse a replacement or refund for a low-quality product.

If you sell your things to this store, then they are priced at the lowest rate. The amount that is offered to you in the store is below the lowest rate on their website.

They are just scammers and crooks.
Posted 2 months ago
Daughter bought a Grade A phone off these for £680 stoppd working after 3 weeks as it had been a stolen phone they sold her took it back and ended up having to pay another 100 for another phone no offer of compensation or anything
customer services waste of time i got some idiot called Nikhil who doesnt even read the emails properly before replying say sorry cant do anything
KEEP CLEAR
Posted 2 months ago
I went to Cex to get my Xbox One repaired, they sent off the unit, advised it was working, I collected it and it wasn't working (£55 paid). I returned it to the store who confirmed it wasn't working and they sent it to the repair team again, it was 'repaired' and returned. I got the store to test this before I left and it wasn't working. This is now in the complaints process, however the incompetence level is staggering, it is made worse by the fact I asked Customer services to 'double' check the repair (second time) before returning it. Which they assured me they had done. (Clearly not). The customer service team are adamant the unit is working and the store (same company by the way) have checked to evidence it is not working. I asked the matter to be referred as a customer complaint (but this was not done), I have re-initiated this as a complaint and the store and the repair centre are trying to work out if the unit is broken or not. (As a non-engineer) I have plugged it in and there is no on light to show it is on (my money is on it being broken). Cex responded to this saying it was being sorted (it wasn't) and I have had to liase between the shop and the repair team. An update Cex fans, the repair team claim it is fixed and returned it for the third time...you guessed it. Not working, shambles. I should point out that the third party repair company is Remedy Tech Centre Ltd. Final update, I purchased a new power lead at the Xbox worked. The Tech team returned it not work for a third time advising no repair possible. I have complained and now they have listed some (repairs) they claim so to justify taking my money. My compliant has been rejected. I only hope the Managing Director of CEX recognises the Customer service failings. This company are truly appalling. I think I will start to copy and paste this review to a new place every day. In simple terms, taken in three times returned three times broken and charged for the privilege.
Posted 3 months ago
VISITED OUR LOCAL CEX, BRIDLINGTON STORE, TODAY, AND SERVED BY CHERI-JO, POLITE, AND FRIENDLY, AS PURCHASED, PS4 GAME FIFA 21, EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE, AND NO QUIBBLES DELIVERY RETURNS, AND REFUNDS, OVERALL GAME PLAY, FOR FIFA 21, AMAZING GRAPHICS, COMPARED TO FIFA 20.
Posted 3 months ago
Brought 600 computer part.. promised I had warranty.. faulty returned it with receipt. Refused to exchange, repair or refund !! Shop packed during pandemic against government rules.. staff no wearing masks.. still not resolved loss of 600 pound and broken p.c ! A disgrace!,
Posted 3 months ago
Recently bought a wii from cex including the control hand pets and a balance board , we never used it right away and after two weeks decided to set it up , one of the control modules would not Work ' wjdm we took it back to the shop they plated it was damage caused by leaking batteries and would not replace it , I stated that today was tho first time we had tried to use it and it had not had batteries in it since we bought at the shop ' they refused to listen to that and said contact head office ,
This we did with photo evidence of the leakage and their reply was our shop would not sell it in this condition , they did !
I will now not buy from this company again or recommendations recommend them to any one I know . Appalling service .
Posted 3 months ago
CeX is rated 2.00 based on 441 reviews