Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,667 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 123 4123

Email:

enquiries@wickes.co.uk

Location:

Wickes Building Supplies, Rhosilli Road
Northampton
NN4 7JE

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 12th October 2023
Grace
Wickes 1 star review on 12th October 2023
Grace
Wickes 1 star review on 5th July 2023
Celia Stanley
Wickes 1 star review on 5th July 2023
Celia Stanley
193
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Excellent customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We bought a shed from Wickes, Shires being the supplier. Overall the shed is extremely poor quality and we are very unhappy. We have had to go out and buy further materials to re-inforce the shed so it is usable. It was brought for my mother who is disabled and she requires the shed to be able to put her mobility scooter in. Without our modifications we have completed my mother would be left without a shed for her mobility scooter meaning it would affect her day to day living and isolate her. This has also affected her financially as she has had to buy further materials to ensure the shed is safe for purpose.  We noted: - Broken pieces of wood which we had to either replace or fix. Several pieces. - The base was not structurally safe and you could not stand on it let alone hold a mobility scooter so we had to buy more wood to enforce the flooring   -Several holes in the wood work all around the shed -Back right door not lining up and not sitting flush with eachother due them being different lengths  -Roof was poor material and different lengths which meant it didn't meet up in the middle.  -Felt roofing was ripped. This meant we had to buy new felt and patch it up. Meaning different colours of felt.  - peices of wood which were bowed and not straight. - split wood on quite a few areas. As soon as we would put it together it would split using your screws provided.  Overall we are extremely disappointed with the service and materials we have recieved from Wikes and Shires. My mother tried to phone shires and they kept putting the phone down on her. We have called Shires and Wickes several times and kept getting the answer nothing can be done. Do not buy from either of these companies!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
My personal views obviously don't conform to Wickes recent statements on customer requirements so will certainly not use their services in the future
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Don’t use this company cancelled a order 9weeks ago after it didn’t arrive on time .cancelled the order the following day been 9 weeks of constant hassle trying to get them to return a order they sent out after being cancelled .was promised twice it would be picked up no show . Was on the phone today for half hour to wickes told Defoe getting picked up today made a two hour return journey to caravan park where it was dropped off for me left on deck g for them just been informed by friend on site box still there this company and delivery company they use are a complete and utter joke will not refund money till box is back at depot be warned don’t order online from this unreliable outfit .They couldn’t run a bath .
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Would of given no stars if it was possible. Avoid this company at all costs. Customer service is an absolute joke.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Update on yesterdays post, Wickes have now advised that due to their ongoing IT issues they cannot progress an order for the damaged shower panels for 8 weeks and therefore to get the works completed I will have to source the material ourselves. Absolute joke of a company
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
We had a kitchen and bathroom installed by Wickes at the same time. While our fitters were lovely, the wickes customer service team have been atrocious. We have been left without doors for months, without the proper hinges for our cabinets for months, we have a cracked bath they haven't fully resolved in 8 months, and water damage to our kitchen from a leak from the bath that they haven't resolved. They are unscrupulous cowboys!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Terrible company, still trying to get our bathroom completed, Customer Relations and in particular the store design team never come to emails or telephone calls. Material delivered randomly and without notice, material shortfalls and told “ we don’t include traps, WC connectors, radiator valves, skirting boards, architraves etc until you make a fuss, then they agree to supply and then don’t order them. Material not required not credited. Shower boards delivered damaged and a week later still not re-orderd due to IT issues, then told they have been to check with the manufacturer and they haven’t. The specialist works quote is a joke and going to cost £2000 more. You then get a text to say all works completed when the shower enclosure , shower boards, pipework to shower, extract fan, lighting pull cord and sealants have not been completed. I would not recommend these in a million years, avoid like the plague
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
DO NOT BUY a KITCHEN OFF WICKS i have had so many problems and after 4 weeks of trying to mend this i have had no reply or care off them i have called over 65 times and no one is willing to help me i have been left with half a kitchen which has been a struggle for me as i am unable to cook or wash my clothes and being a nurse i have to wash my uniform every week and have been unable to do so. 1. first problem started when my builder turned up and had not been informed that they were meant to fit my flooring which i paid extra for 2. only half a delivery turned up and was told that the work tops hadn't been order and that there was now a wait on them because they had t been ordered 3. second delivery arrange only one iteam turned up out of for 2weeks into having no kitchen 4.phone wicks for the 20th time at this point and was laughed at on the phone when asked to speak to a manager 5. was told at 10.00 that a manger would call me back phone again at 14.00 as no one had rung me was told he was on break phoned again at 16.00 was told he had finished work and gone home and that he would phone me still haven't heard off him 3 weeks later even thought the 40 phones o have made and ask to speak to him no able to do so 6. arrange for a new delivery date after 2 attempts the third delivery didn't even leave the port 7.was told that they had rearing 4 delivery called and was told no delivery had been sorted and that the system said it had already been delivered even though i was told the day after fail 3 delivery that it hadn't left the port 8. tried to cancel as i had no kitchen fitted and this has been going on for 4 weeks no manager will speak to me and no one knows what to do i have been told that i cant cancelle and still have to pay for a kitchen that i have not had DO NOT BUY this has honestly been like having a full time job without being payed and still i am without a kitchen unable to cook or wash my scrubs for work THEY DONT CARE A LONG AS THEY GET YOUR MONEY
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
In March 2022 we started the process of getting bathrooms designed through wickes Carlisle. We were told the installation would take place august / September of that year and we were ok with that wait as we were struggling to find a local builder to do the work and felt wickes could handle all the ordering and design for us and make the process stress free. Unfortunately work didn’t start on our bathroom until February of 2023. The builders informed us it would take 2 weeks to complete. After 4.5 weeks the builder just left one day leaving the bathrooms unfinished. No door knobs on cabinets, no skirting in some areas, no door, toilet roll holders not fitted, no lock plate to the shower. Not only this, but in the following weeks a leak started in the shower room (which is constant and not to do with use) and the tiles started cracking in the bathroom. Not to mention, the trim to the step fell off the day after it was installed. Fast forward to July 2023 and after months of calls and emails to wickes we still have no date for these problems to be rectified or any idea if the bathrooms will ever be finished. The WORST experience I could possibly imagine. We will be taking wickes and the builders to the small complaints court and ensuring none of our family or friends or anyone reading this review makes the same mistake that we did.
Wickes 1 star review on 5th July 2023 Wickes 1 star review on 5th July 2023 Wickes 1 star review on 5th July 2023 Wickes 1 star review on 5th July 2023 Wickes 1 star review on 5th July 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
What went right… I ordered a bathroom cabinet online. It said “delivered in 10 days”. 4 weeks later- still no furniture. But they’re happy to take your money up front!!
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Well. Wish I had read these reviews before spending my hard earned money in Wickes for two bathroom installations. I went for the bathrooms and installation as I thought it would be an easy, no hassle project. The bathroom arrived in dribs and drabs; stuff didn't turn up; I had already waiting 8 months for the project to start, then the installer said they could not do it for another 4 months. Got someone else in to do the bathrooms. Bits missing, bits broken, when it came to installing the bath - didn't fit with the sink; Wickes had measured wrong. My installer had to redesign the bathroom... I also have just shy of £800 worth of stuff sold to me that I didn't need. Try and complain - hear absolutely nothing. I got on finance due to spending around £14,000 with bathrooms and installer - despite several times of asking they wont change the credit agreement so at the moment I am still owing for installation I didn't have. Absolute shambles and avoid. In all honestly, its not so much the problems that have happened, but you expect a response to complaints - the customer service is shocking. Next stop Watchdog..
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Worst experience!! I had issues with installation of my bathroom, no one supported me. Countless unanswered emails although they have a workman ship guarantee to support customers if issues arise. Heard nothing whatsoever. Many items arrived damaged or not at all. On Friday I cancelled work and then plans as had to wait on oven being delivered between 4-7 only to have a hob turn up. Will have to wait another 9 weeks for an oven as they only deliver in my area on certain days. I made a complaint and was eventually offered 50 quid discount, even though I lost 250 quid wages and have been without an oven for 9 weeks. Manager refused to come to phone "we dont do that here" One of the nut bolts from the shower has chipped which shouldn't happen so easily, 4 emails and 8 weeks later no one has just sent a bolt out and arranged for this to be sorted. They are an awful company and I regret the day I decided to have two installations done by them.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
a 12 month nightmare with wickes derby and the customer services team. The installer Vic was a total cowboy - he told me the reason my kitchen cupboards were two inches highter one side than the other was because my kitchen wasnt square! Pinoccio has nothing on him! wickes eventually agreed to refit my kitchen. 11 months of stress and upset dealing with these clowns is finally over - please avoid.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Almost a year to resolve what was a simple job of changing the cupboard doors. Countless emails, long delays, poor quality workmanship, damage caused by their fitters to the kitchen, the list goes on. Then, when settling for compensation was asked to sign a gagging order just to get compensation that was due under consumer law. I no longer shop with Wickes for anything, and would advise anyone looking to have a kitchen installed to be aware that this is not an isolated incident.
Wickes 1 star review on 26th June 2023 Wickes 1 star review on 26th June 2023
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I recently ordered stain for my wooden railing in golden oak, but received forest green, i contacted them through their contact page twice so that rhey can deliver the right product and return the wrong one but they cant be bothered answering back
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Apparently I'm a bigot
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Why can’t company’s like wickes just concentrate on selling goods. My views have nothing to do with your boss, but apparently I am not welcome. So long wickes.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Rubbish quality
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Apparently I'm a bigot . Wickes would prefer if I shopped elsewhere. So I will. .
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Wickes is rated 1.5 based on 1,667 reviews