Wickes Reviews

1.5 Rating 1,680 Reviews
11 %
of reviewers recommend Wickes
Read Wickes Reviews

About Wickes:

Wickes continues to be one of the major brands in the DIY and Home Improvement sector. We have a range of over 10,000 products (98% own brand), and are able to offer our customers everyday low prices by sourcing the best quality products at the lowest possible cost. Most of our products are available for next-day delivery, including big & bulky stuff. At Wickes you can discover a whole host of inspirational ideas for your Home and Garden, with some of our key products being doors, flooring, tiles, kitchens and gardens. Launched in 2006, the Wickes transactional website features product details covering the complete Wickes range. Our website is constantly being enhanced to help improve customer satisfaction, so why not be a part of that journey by helping customers find us.

Visit Website

Phone:

0330 123 4123

Email:

enquiries@wickes.co.uk

Location:

Wickes Building Supplies, Rhosilli Road
Northampton
NN4 7JE

Write Your review

Tell us how Wickes made you happy
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Wickes 1 star review on 19th April 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 23rd March 2024
Anonymous
Wickes 1 star review on 12th October 2023
Grace
Wickes 1 star review on 12th October 2023
Grace
Wickes 1 star review on 5th July 2023
Celia Stanley
194
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Ordered roofing felt, clout nails and adhesive told delivery between 7am-7pm. today 25th March. Would be given window for time.Delivered by Tuffnells , no contact ,just arrived at door with clout nails and adhesive, not much use without the felt. Phoned Wickes to be told it had not been put on van, expect it Monday , means another day staying home in case they do send it.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
You better pray that nothing goes wrong after your kitchen has been installed, the aftercare is so awful, my kitchen sink literally fell through the worktop because the fitter forgot to put any support brackets whatsoever underneath! It was held up with a old cut off piece of wood, which after filling the sink up it fell through! To prevent the sink collapsing on the pipe work underneath and pulling the tap down i wedged a-bit of wood on the side so it wouldn't cause further damage, but wickes deems this as a attempted repair so they refused to even come out to inspect it!! Typical big company, soon as they have your money they are not interested. After spending in excess of £10,000 and preventing further damage from there poor workmanship I would expect some sort of guarantee but I guess not! Best thing to do if your sink falls through is let it damage your pipe work and tap and they might consider sending out someone to have a look! First and last time I will be using wickes, back to B&Q for me, there customer service is great compared to these.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
WOEFUL WICKES – Part 2 Dishonest, deceptive and devious – they move the goalposts! Whilst planning my kitchen with the Wickes Design Consultant I incorporated a cooker hood into the plan and opted for a branded Zanussi appliance. I was then faced with the option of searching online for the most competitive price or ordering via Wickes. The Design Consultant coaxed me into opting for the latter emphasising the advantage of a 2-year, no quibble, guarantee. She assured that should the appliance fail within the 2-years Wickes would replace it with a new one, no questions asked. The price quoted by Wickes was very competitive and I therefore decided to include the appliance in my order. Once installed, I read all the manufacturer’s documentation that came with the Zanussi appliance including the offer of an extended warranty period for a moderate fee. Confident that the two-year guarantee provided by Wickes would meet my needs I decided not to pursue Zanussi’s offer. The cooker hood lights stopped working after about 15 months, well within the 2-year guarantee period provided by Wickes. As this wasn’t a significant issue I delayed reporting it to Wickes Customer Services until a major problem with my Wickes installed bathroom occurred on 23/12/20*. The lady I spoke to over the telephone said “Sorry, Zanussi appliances are only covered by the Wickes guarantee for 12 months” and she recommended that I take up the matter with Zanussi. And I thought only politicians moved goalposts! *Watch this space.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Totally not recommend had a visit from a bathroom designer for 2 bathroom in nov been in to store to ask in February to be told designer not done it yet. Will ring me, still waiting march 16 to hear from them. Total waste of my time when i could of had another company been and fitted by now. Put a complaint in with the headoffice told the manager of taunton branch would look into it and call me and yes nothing from them either. Look for someone who is prepared to follow the appointment through as they don't.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Would give even zero for their online shop. As a first time online order it can't be processed online because billing address is not matching with delivery address. I'm ordering for my client. What should I do with the fence panels delivered to my flat? Carry them on by hand across London or order another delivery from my home to the client. Does not makes any sense totally.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
WOEFUL WICKES. Untruthful, untrustworthy, unreliable. Unsatisfactory installation issues were reported by telephone to Wickes Customer Services on 23/12/20. Allowing for Covid restrictions the issues were raised again on 30/06/21 with my local Exeter store and an email was sent to the installations manager. No acknowledgement or reply was ever received. However, I did later receive a telephone call on 04/08/21 from the original fitter who promised to contact me again within a week once he had completed his current assignment. He failed to keep his promise and it was very difficult to contact him on his mobile. Once contacted he undertook to call out but again failed to keep his promise. When eventually contact was made again he said that he was unable to call out as he had to self-isolate. As before he promised to contact me again once he was all clear. Predictably promise was not kept and when I tried to contact him on his mobile he had blocked my number. My above difficulties were reported to the Exeter store and my contact advised me to resort to the official complaints procedure on the Wickes website. Having followed the above advice I submitted a formal complaint on 21/09/21 and although an auto reply was received by return promising a full response within 72 hours I have not heard from Wickes to date, 14/03/22. This is despite my numerous telephone call reminders and emails. As a last resort I decided to track down the above mendacious fitter and having done so I confronted him over his persistent lies and unsatisfactory workmanship. HE RESPONDED BY THREATENING ME WITH VIOLENCE! Just like a scenario from BBC’s Watchdog programme. And that, dear folks, is my experience with Wickes. Draw your own conclusions.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Awful experience buying from Wickes! I brought 5 pine internal doors which arrived with torn packaging - damaged wood, split in places, poly-filled in areas, chipped, and marked with ink. Wickes advertise expensive high-quality goods and then expect customers to accept poor quality items, or rectify the damage yourself. I spent over an hour waiting on their customer care helpline and eventually gave up. I sent an email and arranged for one of the badly chipped doors to be replaced, a week later a new one arrived with poly-filled gapped holes on it. I despair, the stress has made me feel quite unwell. I'm going to seek compensation for the upset, time off work, and distress the company has caused me. I would never shop here ever again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Ordered a bathroom, got the impression from the website that the design, surveying, materials - everything could be done by Wickes. And maybe it can. But the different teams in Wickes refuse to speak to each other. They have booked deliveries and the companies have phoned me to say the times are not convenient. As Wickes are not giving me direct details to each supplier, I can't fix these problems, but equally their customer service team isn't up to fixing them either so God Only Knows if the whole thing will happen or not.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
If I could it would be 0 stars! Where do I start with my bathroom installations?! The whole process start to finish was unprofessional and lacking any kind of competence. From design misses, payment issues, missed deliveries, missing items, damaged items, stock issues without any notification to rude staff, awful issue resolution and total lack of any communication! Once my projects were complete, to a pretty shoddy standard, I had to get the installer back to fix some smaller issues that didn’t require rip out (I just settled to leave these at this point) Well he decided to leave fairly soon after and I had a new installer over eventually to fix. A year on, still with the 2 year warranty I have a shower door seal that doesn’t seal, a spotlight that’s just given up, a radiator that’s rusted from a leak and a shower tray/wast pipe that’s fallen apart and left water marks on ceiling below. Logged the issues in October and now I’m here in March with nothing fixed and without a shower! In fact they haven’t even got their act together to get anybody to set foot in my house. I’ve got about 5 customer advisors replying to me in different ways without talking to each other and that’s if I get any kind of response at all! I emailed the CEO and now have a high level person involved who after a week of no communication emailed with his idea of a resolution. To put it simply I was told to go and pick up a shower deal and fit myself (might add he’d reserved me the wrong one!), the spotlight issue was just completely ignored, the radiator I was told to contact the manufacturer and the shower leak was told to get my own plumber in, send the invoice and they MIGHT review it to compensate me back! It’s laughable and I’ve now resorted to the CEO again to see if he agrees this is an acceptable response and made a point to mention what’s the warranty actually for? Do not touch Wickes for anything! I will categorically never set foot in a store again, let alone spend a penny.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Ordered 10 fence panels for delivery on Monday. Order confirmed . But on the Monday, I had to ring the branch, to be told that panels would not be delivered. Wickes attitude is you can cancel if you want. They couldn’t give a f**k. My choice is to start again after wasting this last week, or to hope they will deliver on some unknown future date. Quick enough to take your money though, and very slow to return it.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Ordered a week in advance and on the day the main components that I wanted - the plasterboard weren’t on the van. In the end I had to go to the shop and pick it up,myself. I asked by email if I could then have my store discount as this stuff was £50a sheet but I never got a reply. So all in all a stressful waste of time and money that I won’t risk repeating, instead use the local builders merchant.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I have just got back from a trip to Wickes (Halesowen), before I went I checked their closing time, it is 7pm on Saturdays. Bizarrely it says "8pm" on their illuminated sign. Yet a rude woman informed my wife "we're closed", no explanation was offered. What a waste of time and money.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I need a fence replaced as a fence bought from Wickes a few months ago was damaged in the storm. They delivered 4 months ago. They won’t deliver now. They expect me to click and collect a 6ft fence panel!! I’ve explained that I spent £600 on fences with them a few months ago and now they expect me to collect a fence panel in my small car. I’ve never known such poor customer service. So basically I’m left with a garden fence without one panel because they won’t deliver and I can’t collect. I will never buy from them again. Don’t buy from them unless you own a lorry!!! Customer service also never pick up the phone.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Ordered polycarbonate roofing, attachments bars and all the fittings. Wickes didn’t deliver the quantity I ordered, several expensive parts were missing. I queried this with the delivery driver - he said they didn’t have all the quantity of parts I ordered for him to collect at my local store. He said I might receive them from somewhere else in another delivery but didn’t know when - I’m still waiting. To top it off i emailEd Wickes with my issue only my to get an auto-reply saying they were having IT issues so couldn’t respond. I therefore queried it via their on-line chat and was told to take any damaged goods back to my local store for a refund and the chat ended! I just want everything I ordered as I can’t complete my build without them. Very poor customer service.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
1 star is too many. Ordered 5 sliding wardrobe doors online, upon delivery found 4 out of 5 were damaged. No answer when calling Wickes, kept on hold for over 50 mins. Emailed to complain and was then kept hanging on until i was past my 28 days return guarentee then informed that my case was closed. ABSOLUTE CON ARTISTS
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Poor Bathroom Installation & terrible customer service to resolve a long list of problems and poor tiling. Starting from the installation date moving twice. Coffee split on carpet and taken days to clean up and still showing. Deliveries turning up, no due care for my home and on top of this having to carry up the stairs 60kg+ Shower doors and 20 packs of tiles, all by myself. A Hippo bag left for 3 weeks, which is on a shared communal area of grass still not moved. Terrible tiling, which was flagged almost a week ago with CS wickes, the tiles are cut badly and different shapes going up wall (informed tiles cannot be cut straight and the wall is not straight in the bathroom, even after plastering and the house was built in 2098) was told Wickes will get back to me last week to resolve this issue and the many other issues listed. I wanted someone to inspect this poor workmanship, which I haven’t heard anything back on. Paid a lot of money for this job which was booked months ago all through wickes and their “verified” tradesmen (June 2020) and it’s been a terrible first experience. I am really disappointed and upset by the service and no care taken with my home installation.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Awful experience, ordered items gave delivery date, texts received stating out for delivery and then delivered, no sign of items. Being a Friday no Tuffnells (their delivery company) available for answers until Monday. No joy on Monday , both Wickes and Tuffnell's tracking state delivered ! No delivery received . CUSTOMER SERVICE, just appaling, just reading back to me what I can see on both tracking systems. Where are the items i paid for !!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Disgusting customer service. I ordered and paid for a 1000mm wall unit online and arranged delivery, what turned up was a 1000mm base unit. I spent 30 mins waiting on the phone only to then be told by an advisor you need to get your wife to call as it was her credit card used to purchase even though i had made the order in my own name, goodbye she said, i then had to postpone the job i was doing and called again the next day before the wife set off to work. Another 27mins wait and i finally got to talk to an advisor who never asked for my wife at all and simply dealt with myself. I now have to wait until next week for a replacement which i hope will be correct. NEVER AGAIN..
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We had a design and installation appointment for 8am 11 February for new kitchen and downstairs cloakroom my husband took the morning off work. The design consultant didn’t turn up and they didn’t have the courtesy to ring us and let us know.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I bought some decking boards some time ago. Firstly they are narrower than traditional decking boards. Secondly they are like match wood. Almost every screw I put in splits the wood if within 25cms of the end. Not a good experience. Now I have to make the best of it.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Wickes is rated 1.5 based on 1,680 reviews