Virgin Media Reviews

1.18 Rating 1,304 Reviews
4 %
of reviewers recommend Virgin Media
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 15%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 81%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Over A Week
Customer Service
1.16 out of 5
Avg Email Response Time
-1 hours
Returns & Refunds
Refunds Process
Difficult
Visit Website

Write Your review

Tell us how Virgin Media made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Virgin Media is extremely damaging, and getting worse every day. offered me 100gb as reward to loyal customer and then charged me extra for that. I cancelled the service and switched to another supplier, but Virgin Media still sent me bill for the period they claimed the cancellation was not completed. Customer service is dreadful. If anyone wants nightmare, go for Virgin Media.
Posted 2 months ago
TLDR; Avoid this company at all costs! If you're unfortunate to be with Virgin already and have technical problems, call 08000527553 to skip the customer service waiting queue nightmare to go to the second line technical team directly (they answer in less than a minute). My personal experience I've been plagued with issues with their internet since October 2020, and have literally spent 20+ hours, in the month of February alone, over the phone with them to try and explain my problems. We're now in March, I still don't have internet working properly and I can't wait for my contract to expire to move to another provider. Horrendous customer service The customer service is a complete mess: getting someone over the phone is a lot more difficult than it should, probably to deter clients from calling. When I want to speak with someone, I often end up with an automated voice sending me a link on my mobile to "troubleshoot my broadband connection issue". Technical nightmare When you finally manage to have someone over the line, they force you to go through meaningless troubleshooting ("turn off and on your router") even though the issue is unrelated, because they do not have the proper technical knowledge (I have a signal SNR issue where the connection is up and down, disconnecting multiple times per day). They've sent a different engineer 5 times at my property: 2 times my isolator was replaced (and nothing else) and 2 times the engineers said the issue was with the network team, not them (one even refused to get out of his car claiming he didn't bring any face mask and only discussed by phone). At some point, I managed to get the second line technical team phone number (08000527553) and avoided discussing with the technical team (150 or 03454541111), which saved time as they only kept asking me to reboot my router to make it work. When the issue is finally raised to the proper team, don't think this will solve anything: this team has closed my fault ticket 7 times (!!) between the 26 January and the 4 March wrongly claiming my problem was fixed, and everytime I had to go through the hassle of re-explaining my issue (when I managed to have someone over the phone) and opening a new fault ticket. Lack of any type of compensation/alternative solution Also, be warned that Virgin has a policy to only give you some credit back if you have a total loss of service for more than 72 hours. If you manage to be connected only one hour per day during this period, they will not compensate you in any form: the customer service department tells you their hands are tied and that you need to ask the technical team to raise a compensation request, but the technical team tells you they have no control over the compensation claims anyway because it's an automatic process. I have been using my 3G data non-stop since the 27th of February (we're the 9th of March and it's still not working) to work from home, but my claims are denied (because apparently there may have been internet an hour or so here and here). If, like me, you don't have internet at all, don't even bother asking Virgin for some alternative solution (mobile broadband, mobile phone 4G credit, etc...) as they cannot (or won't) help you in any way. Complains are ignored I've raised several complains but the compliance department doesn't even bother calling you back (even though I'm told they will call back within 5 days over the phone). "Escalating" the issue doesn't even make a difference, expect that someone tells you the compliance department will call you back within 48 hours (but they don't).
Posted 2 months ago
BAD BAD BAD customer service ever!!!!!!!! I am calling them to ask to change my name, surname, email, password because they have got it wrong when registered and they telling me I am not going through security questions!!! How can I go through security questions if you are asking me my details that you spelled wrong on the system?! Where is your logic????? I am telling them I have reference number, account number etc and she is telling to send a letter to confirm the package. What is wrong with you guys, what kind of people working there, where is your LOGIC???? How can you ask me to spell my correct details if on your system you've got the wrong ones. Honestly, I am so disappointed the way you sorting out these type of issues. Very very very baaaad!!!!!
Posted 2 months ago
When I signed the contract for 18 months, they concealed the fact and gave no information that their internet network did not cover half of England. After my move to a new house, they were unable to offer me services in the new location, so they charged me a £ 240 ending contract. The funniest thing is they still require the router to be sent back to them !!! I also immediately canceled the mobile phone contract I had with them (luckily, the period that forced me to use their services ended earlier). I don't want to have anything to do with them anymore. Contact with them is terrible. They do not reply to emails, you wait for hours for chat, just like when you call the hotline. The worst company in the industry in the UK.
Posted 2 months ago
Trying to cancel the renewal of the contract was a nightmare . Worst customer service EVER ! After 2 hours spent on the phone talking with 6 operators, YES 6 as 3 of them hangged up on me not willing to give them information regarding why do you move ,where,when for how long, where is the new address....WTF !!! i just want to cancel my contract as i don't need the services anymore !!!! simple as that !!!!
Posted 2 months ago
Horrible customer service ever
Posted 2 months ago
Absolute garbage customer service. I moved house and already had broadband setup in the new house. There's no way to cancel your account online so you have to call their callcenter. I tried to do that, and waited on hold for an hour only to be cut off. I tried sending a message using their complaints service but got no response there for weeks either. Now they're still charging me for a service that I don't want but can't cancel! Ridiculous.
Posted 2 months ago
I signed a contract with Virgin media in September and since them I noticed that the speed is mostly very low that in the online meetings, I am the only one whose internet cuts regularly. I am afraid that due to this poor service, I may lose my job. I called several time to their customer service and they did nothing. Indeed their customer service is terrible. When I said I would like to cancel the contract, I was told that I should pay the cancellation fee. How come I should pay for a poor service!
Posted 2 months ago
Virgin media have let themselves down.... Again. Their monthly fees were constantly creeping up so opted for a slower broadband speed to keep costs down. Unknown to us virgin took it upon themselves to change our phone package also which meant we were being charged for calls during the week. This left us paying more than we were originally! This was morale wrong of virgin and when we complained, virgin said there was nothing they could do. Very dissapointed and will never sign up to virgin ever again.
Posted 2 months ago
Their customer service is non existent, i tried for nearly a year to cancel my broadband when the contract finished, calls always dropped, emails never answered, an un-useful bot that directs you to a dead end! I finally cancelled my direct debit, they then sent an automated non payment bill of £38, i phoned the bill paying number and surprisingly got straight through to a person.. amazing... I explained the situation and she directed me to cancellation dept, I was offered a better deal of £25 and i said ok the call handler said there will be a £7.50 discount included on the next bill, nice, thanks. Hours later I received an email for £88! .. day before £38.. I tried phoning but guess what... no response just and automated line telling you to pay, any waiting for a person to talk to ends in ‘we are very busy’ then call drops out! My internet has now been turned off by Virgin with no warning and no communication.. and they won’t answer my calls as is the norm. I am still hanging on a phone trying to get through, fkn appalling!!
Posted 2 months ago
WHATEVER HAPPENS, DO NOT USE VIRGIN. You will go through hell and high water and still be the loser. I implore you to try others like EE where customer service is top notch. VIRGIN CAN MESS UP YOUR CREDIT WITHOUT RIGHTS! AND SCARE YOU INTO PAYING FOR NOTHING. It is almost impossible to get through to them so don’t even bother. Good luck
Posted 2 months ago
I moved home and told Virgin, they said they could not supply internet to my new address and so the contract would have to be cancelled. Even though in effect they cancelled my contract and it is their fault they could not supply my new address I am being charged nearly £200 for finishing the contract early. So if you are a virgin customer do not complete on your house sale until your contract runs out !!!!!!
Posted 2 months ago
They don’t provide WiFi, their WiFi is so bad and inconsistent they might as well give u a card board box as a router. NEVER GET VIRGIN. U will thank me
Posted 2 months ago
An extremely damaging company especially when it comes to mis-selling and poor customer service. Today they closed a complaint I opened in January citing because I didn’t get in touch after the first response, they assume I was happy with their resolution. Only I did get in touch several times by email over the last month directly to the resolution team, I also called several times and was promised several calls back – none of which were returned, and I recorded all my outgoing calls! Finally, I sent a letter to their complaints department in Sunderland, citing my complaint, the original reference number, and copies of all correspondence. Royal Mail obtained a signature but still according to Virgin Media I didn’t get back in touch! Even yesterday trying once again to resolve this on the phone I spoke to Rachel in the resolution team who decided to pass me back through to Virgin Mobile an overseas call centre where the staff sound like robots and have absolutely no idea about customer service! So, thanks Virgin Media and thanks to Martin Roberts from your outbound retention team based in sunny Birmingham for mis-selling. Please don’t respond asking me to text you, I think I have made adequate attempts to resolve this and you have failed. As for closing my complaint I have escalated it now to CISAS and the Financial Ombudsman, next stop the ICO for the fact your employee stole my bank details from my Virgin Media account and set up a direct debit with my bank for Virgin Mobile, I misuse of my personal data. You are an awful company and as soon as the next price increase occurs I am gone never to return and I’ll be taking at least seven different customers with me, friends and family who are absolutely appalled at how you have handled my complaint.
Posted 2 months ago
Been with them since the start . Was a vast improvement when they first took over from C & W years ago but all downhill last 2 years. Very difficult to get through to report fault. When there is a fault they give you false information to put you off with incorrect times to remedy fault. and stupid comments like your equipment is not turned on when it IS working. If you ring they will say there is a fault in your area but if you check online service will say no faults and your equipment is working. This last year 2020 regular outages of Wi-Fi and broadband. reliability has plummeted. Only saving grace is very fast broadband when working
Posted 2 months ago
Awful company. I have an online account, but no method of ending my contract on-line. Only option is to call one of their sales people, on a number with a waiting the of one hour. They consistently overcharge their existing customers, and when questioned about this just try to sell even more overpriced services.
Posted 2 months ago
I have been charged over £50 for one phone call. Virgin Media claim I was on the call for over 5 hours which is ridiculous. Trying to get this matter resolved with their customer service department is proving to be a nightmare. They do not do what they agree on calls and phone waiting times can easily exceed an hour. It seems to me that their complaint handling team are in place to block and bury complaints. Virgin Media have great products but when something goes wrong they are very poor to the point of dishonesty.
Posted 2 months ago
They make it so horrible dealing with them its honestly out of a nightmare. Everything is with a robot and is so so hard to speak to someone real. Dont forget they charge £3+ a minute to call their customer service number THAT SHOULD BE ILLEGAL
Posted 2 months ago
I am sick to death of trying to get any of my issues solved.You manage to ring when you want to offer more services to put your bill up even more but trying to talk to anybody with any sense is impossible to have not got any customer service whatsoever get your act together
Posted 2 months ago
It is the worst company in the world. They are trying to get money at of you for no reason. Just bad. You are better off staying without broadband that choose them.
Posted 2 months ago
Virgin Media is rated 1.18 based on 1,304 reviews