Login
Start Free Trial Are you a business? Click Here

The Hatch Chile Store Reviews

4.7 Rating 12,267 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend The Hatch Chile Store
4.7
Based on 12,267 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
Greater than 88%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 93%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.8 out of 5
Read The Hatch Chile Store Reviews

About The Hatch Chile Store:

At The Hatch Chile Store, we have a tradition of excellence. Each year we provide fresh and flame-roasted Hatch Green Chile to thousands of customers the world over. Whether you're a displaced New Mexican, a Hatch Chile Aficionado, or a business who wants to provide your customers with the world's best Certified Hatch Chile, we have you covered!

Visit Website

Phone:

575-635-4680

Email:

support@hatch-green-chile.com

Write Your review

The Hatch Chile Store 5 star review on 23rd August 2025
Peter C
The Hatch Chile Store 5 star review on 23rd August 2025
Peter C
The Hatch Chile Store 5 star review on 24th July 2025
David F
The Hatch Chile Store 5 star review on 24th July 2025
David F
The Hatch Chile Store 5 star review on 24th July 2025
David F
The Hatch Chile Store 5 star review on 24th July 2025
David F
The Hatch Chile Store 5 star review on 11th April 2025
Devin G
1751
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Horrible. I pre ordered in April or May. Checked in on my order a few times in June and July to be told “short handed at the farm, please be patient “. Checked in in August to be told order will ship in 1 to 2 weeks. Checked back in 4 weeks to be told order shipped 5 weeks ago. Then an update that it really had not and will ship in a week. No apologies, no discounts, no nothing. Horrible experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Jeff, Taylor Mitchell, VP of Operations here. I'm so sorry for the experience you had here. It looks like the tracking number didn't post to your order until after the 21st of August, which is why Jarod did not think it had shipped out yet. It was an honest mistake. When you emailed in again, your previous emails to us do not appear as they are on a different thread. I don't believe Jarod was trying to imply that this situation was in anyway your fault, he was honestly just a bit confused about what was happening here, tone can be hard to discern via email. We only ship on Tuesdays, which is the reason why Diana set your order up to ship on Tuesday. What else would you like us to do in this situation? It was an honest mistake on our end and I apologize for that. Thank you, Taylor
Posted 4 years ago
My experience with Hatch Chilies is bad all the meat of chilli stuck to skin,I just ended up with 2 cups of strands, so my 5lbs $35 Chilies were just the vein strips..I'm also a small Business... 81 year old retired logger on limited income. Douglas Kime
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there Douglas, I am so sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience with your fresh chile. When it comes to roasting and peeling your own chile, the skin will peel right off if the chile is roasted long enough. We suggest roasting the chile until the skin seems to be bubbling up, as this is an indication that the peel is separated from the chile! We hope the chile still tasted great and you enjoyed! Thanks, The Hatch Chile Store
Posted 4 years ago
The chile we order about 50% was the size of serranos. I wrote back and asked if it was just a bad season for growing chile (cause I know how nature can be) or if it was bad quality control? I just got the run around. We alway order from you guys but maybe next year I’ll have to try someone else. Thank you for your time P Valencia
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi there Peter, I am so sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience with your fresh chile order this year. It looks like we did respond to your emails with our reasoning as to why there was some size variance in the chile. The Lumbre variety occasionally ranges from 4 to 7 inches, but are occasionally a bit smaller depending on the season, in which we offered to mend the situation if you offered pictures of the chile you received. We are so sorry that you were not satisfied with your chile. We would be more than happy to mend the situation, if you would like to contact us again! Thanks, The Hatch Chile Store
Posted 4 years ago
Ordered mild for my 92 year old father who can’t eat hot foods. Grew up in New Mexico eating these. First batch he cooked we’re mild. Second and third batch were hot. Obviously they made a mistake mixing them. Sent email to Hatch Chile and all I received was a sorry and maybe he’s not cooking them right. Lol! Been cooking peppers most his life! Bad experience. Also ordered the mild chili which he hasn’t tried yet. Hoping for better result
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Mike, Was it fresh or the frozen chile that was too hot for your dad? Each year the crop has a slightly different flavor and heat level due to the growing conditions. I am sorry this was hotter than anticipated. Overall the 2020 crop was milder, but sometimes the heat from pepper to pepper can vary. I saw that one of our customer service representatives responded inquiring about how the chile was prepared. The preparation of chile can drastically change the flavor and heat, so we inquired about that. We would love to help you further and make sure your dad gets some chile better suited to his pallet. Please contact us directly at support@hatch-green-chile.com so that we can help. Best, The Hatch Chile Store Team
Posted 4 years ago
We pre-ordered 25 lbs. of Joe Parkers this year and organized our schedule in August to make certain we could be ready to receive them on a Thursday and roast them that same weekend. When friends received notification on 8/18/20 that their chiles were being shipped and we did not receive notification, I called Hatch Chile on Wednesday morning (8/19) to confirm whether our chiles would be shipped that week. I was told that our friends were receiving the milder 1904 chiles, and that Joe Parkers would not be harvested until the following week or later. To our surprise, we received an email that same evening that our order had been shipped and would be arriving on Friday (not the normal ship Tuesday—arrive Thursday that was described online, and as we have previously experienced. When our 25 lbs. of chiles arrived, they were not Joe Parkers. We have ordered Joe Parkers before, both at the beginning and late in the harvest window, and the chiles we received in this order had nothing in common with the size, texture and taste of a Joe Parker. They were 1904s identical to those that friends received that week. I emailed Hatch Chile with a photo of the chiles and stated they had noting in common with the size, taste nor texture of Joe Parkers. I received an email response from Emmett who doubled down and stated that our chiles were indeed Joe Parkers, and that “These Joe Parker's were shipped from a earlier crop… [and] this crop yielded a few larger chile.” ALL the chiles were 10-14”; none were the 5-8” that is typical of Joe Parkers. They did not have the size, texture nor taste of a Joe Parker, and they were not harvested when the Joe Parkers were to be harvested; they had the size, texture and taste of 1904’s, and were harvested the week that 1904s were being harvested. Conclusion: The chiles were 1904s. We know times are challenging for everyone now, and especially for small family farms. Nonetheless, this is disappointing. I am sad to report that since we cannot trust you to deliver as promised, we will not be ordering from you again.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Charles, I am sorry that you did not receive peppers that were not what you expected. The Joe Parkers on your order look large and beautiful. The sizes listed on our estimate for each pepper variety. The pepper size depends on the time of year it is harvested and the growing conditions. We do our best to estimate the pepper's size so that our customers know what to anticipate. Typically, our customers are pleasantly surprised to receive large peppers. I am sorry that our customer service agents were a little confused about the date your order was shipped. We are constantly working with our farmers to see what chile is available each day, which may vary a little from day to day. Because of Covid-19 and the labor shortages caused by Covid-19, we gladly worked with our farmers when chile was made available. As a small family business, we are dedicated to ensuring everyone has a little taste of the land of enchantment delivered right to their door. This looked a little different during the pandemic, but we are still happy to serve our customers. If we can help further, please let us know at support@hatch-green-chile.com. Best, The Hatch Chile Store Team
Posted 4 years ago
The chili’s we starting to spoil when I received them. I thought they would be better than I purchase in the local grocery store. They were very small curled which is harder to roast and they were hard to peel. The only positive was they tasted good.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Bob, It doesn't look like you contacted our customer service team. If our customers do not contact us, we can not help with the problems that may arise when shipping fresh produce. As posted on our website: "In order to qualify for our guarantee, you must IMMEDIATELY take pictures of the box on arrival as well as the quality of the chile. Pictures must be received within 24 hours of the delivery of a box of fresh or frozen chile. We require these pictures in order to substantiate claims with FedEx for mishandling and-or late-delivery." We are sorry that the peppers did not arrive to you in perfect condition. We would be more than happy to offer you a discount code for the spoilage on this order. Please contact us directly at support@hatch-green-chile.com so that we can help. Best, The Hatch Chile Store
Posted 4 years ago
Sorry, I cannot give you a review. The order took over a week to get here and the food items were extremely hot to the touch just removing from the shipping package. I contacted you and you said you would make it good by the end of August. We are near mid-September and still no word from you. Is it wasted money or your promise fell through a crack?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I am highly disappointed with the hatch chile store because I ordered my chile on August 28th and still have yet to receive it. My mother ordered her second round of chile on September 3rd and receive it in a timely manner in accordance with the promise of guaranteed shipping on the website. I have thus far received two excuses from the hatch chile company as to why my order hasn't shipped yet, but I'm watching other orders made after mine go out and be received just fine. As a New Mexican that grew up on this green chile, I am very much questioning the integrity of the company and those who are communicating with me in a seemingly dishonest manner.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Quit using FEDEX. Ordered 25 lbs Big Jim on August 2nd. FedEx is all you offered. Was supposed to arrive 9/4, then for no reason was changed to 9/5. NOW they cannot tell me when it will arrive! They many as well trash it. Don’t need more garbage to toss out. Had total of 3 orders shipped by FedEx this year, had delays/damage from 2. USPS is more reliable. Anyone think this is acceptable? Anyone?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
Hi Keith, I'm sorry that you had a bad experience here and, after pulling up your order, I can see why. We have pretty clear guidelines on our shipping page as to what services we guarantee. You opted for the economy, which states that it may spoil in transit. Many customers have OK results with the economy, so we provide it as an option to our customers with that warning. There is also a pop-up that you have to click through warning customers against opting for anything less than 2-Day Air if they are going to order fresh chile for shipment. Ground trucks are often 120-130 degrees as they transit from city to city during the daytime and this causes the chile to shrivel and spoil much, much quicker than it does when transported in a plane. The delivery date can also change with this shipping method. I am sorry that FedEx is not reliable in your area. We do our best to offer the most affordable and reliable shipping options, thus far this has been FedEx for us. We do not mark up shipping at all, and we are always looking for the best shipping options. Thanks, The Hatch Chile Store
Posted 4 years ago
Wish I could taste the green chili!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 4 years ago
I ordered $60 worth of green Chile, and never received it. Who can I call regarding this matter?
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
I bought Chili Rellenos which took forever to arrive. They came without any cooking instructions. (Also, they were all stuck together.) When I inquired I was given a brief instruction to pan or deep fry from frozen. I do not deep fry foods so tried pan fry method which was a total fail. Greasy, fell apart, and cheese was still frozen in middle. I inquired again and was basically brushed off. Not happy at all and wasted my money!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Julia, I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy the chile rellenos. We do have cooking instructions posted on the product page. They are as follows. From Frozen, pan fry these delicious Rellenos on the stove for 7-10 minutes, or deep fry them at 375 for approx 4 minutes in the light cooking oil of your choice. I have heard of customers who use their air fryer after defrosting the rellenos, but I'm afraid we do not have any exact instructions. We are changing how our rellenos are packaged starting around the end of this month. Each relleno will be individually frozen before being bagged, this will prevent them from sticking. Thanks, The Hatch Chile Store
Posted 4 years ago
Threw both orders in the trash. They came soggy , de thawed and spread all over the box. Tried to send pictures and email and they kept coming back to me. Such a disappointment.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
The tamales were terrible! Short of meat, flavor, and quality. I cannot believe the price charged for a strip of meat covered with mass! Chili rellenos were nearly as bad. Hardly ANY chili! What a royal rip-off!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi there Dorothy, We are so sorry our rellenos and tamales weren't to your liking. Our customers' opinions and feedback mean a lot to us, so we appreciate your honesty. We want to make sure we have the best quality and tastiest products out there, and our customers are always 100% satisfied! So that we can improve the quality, taste and overall experience of the rellenos and tamales, we are always open to any suggestions you may have or wish to see differently with these products. We will take these into account and modify the recipe accordingly. We would be more than happy to offer you 15% off of your order on our behalf. Again, we apologize and will do our best to improve this product. Thanks, Hatch Chile Store Team
Posted 5 years ago
I am very disappointed and will not purchase fresh foods from this store in the future. Part of my order was (2) packages of tamales and (1) package chili rellenos. The delivery was delayed by one day and when the product arrived, there was (1) package tamales (should have been two), and (1) package rellenos. Didn't really matter, because all the food was warm and falling apart when it arrived. I had to throw the entire order in the trash. I will say that customer support did a good job, and upon my request refunded the purchase amount.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Linda, We apologize for the inconvenience. As we try our best to provide exceptional service, some factors like shipping and handling are outside of our control, and issues like this can happen. I'm so sorry that our distribution center shorted the box. We would like for them to pack each box perfectly, but they are humans and make mistakes :) Typically we would prioritize a reshipment of the missing product but you requested a refund, which was processed. Thank you, The Hatch Chile Store
Posted 5 years ago
The store is great! The mask I ordered was an ok mask. The print on the Got Chili? mask looks good, I hope it lasts. I bendable nose piece would keep it from sliding down. (I sewed one on for my husband, to fix this issue.) Not worth the price.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Sandra, We are a bit confused by your review. We were very clear on the product listing that this was a washable 100% cloth mask. We did not say anywhere on the product listing that the masks had an adjustable nose piece. Thank you, The Hatch Chile Store
Posted 5 years ago
No, I am sorry, my experience was less than great. I still have not received my order 3 weeks after I ordered on line. I wrote an email to support and they told me the two masks I ordered had to be made to order and that I should be receiving them soon. That response was over a week ago. Still no word as to when they will get here.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hello Lydia, We do apologize for the delay in receiving your order. With the current state of affairs, COVID-19 and civil disturbances, packages are taking a bit longer to reach their destination. We keep records of all of our interactions between our custom service representatives and customers. We do see you contacted our support staff on June 5th and our customer representative did provide with the correct tracking number for your order. When I checked your tracking information, it still says your order is in transit. USPS is a separate company from our store and it is their business to handle the packages we provide them. Looking at the tracking information for your order, there has not been any updates since June 9th. Shipping issues like this are out of our control. If you continue to see this, please contact us so we can work with you to resolve this issue and ship you a new order. Sincerely, The Hatch Chile Store
Posted 5 years ago
Your tamales were not worth $54.They were crumbly and not what i expected.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Lori, I'm so sorry the tamales were not what you expected! Is there something we could have done to better describe the tamales on the product page? What do you mean by crumbly? The masa should be very moist. However it can dry and become crumbly if heated for too long. Thanks, The Hatch Chile Store
Posted 5 years ago
When placing the order I placed 100lbs of diced chili’s in my cart for almost $200. I didn’t realize I pre-ordered chili’s from the next crop season. I paid almost $100 for 2 day shipping and I never received my order, so I called and they informed me that I placed a pre-order. After explaining that was a mistake I need them ASAP, your representative processed the order. When receiving the order I realized I only received 20lbs of whole chili’s so I went online to see my transaction and noticed the price change was 5 times more then what I originally paid for! Just not happy about this at all, I feel like I just lost out on 80lbs of chili’s ...
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
Have not received chili’s!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 years ago
The Hatch Chile Store is rated 4.7 based on 12,267 reviews